another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

learn the three R’s March 26, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 11:27 pm
Tags: , , ,

Recycle

Reuse

Reduce

Do you know what really drives me nuts these days?

Packaging.

I hate packaging. Packaging and Plastic. I try really hard these days to be more eco friendly. I buy things with as little packaging as possible, with recyclable packaging if I'm able, I don't buy meat on those black trays covered with cling wrap, I use eco bags for grocery shopping and glare at people who still use plastic bags and I don't put my fruit and veg in plastic bags. Which used to really annoy the checkout chicks because everything would try to roll off the scales at the checkout. I use plastic containers to store food in the fridge so I don't have to use cling wrap and I don't buy plastic bottles of water. And if I see one more person release balloons at a funeral, I'll possibly go insane.

But yesterday I had to buy new software for the office because of course our old programme doesn't run on the new computer that has Vista, only runs on XP. And after I hand over a ridiculous amount of money they hand me this huge box. A huge box that is wrapped in plastic. I know there's only a small disc in there so why the huge box. This is what I find when I open it.

 

 

Sure enough, there was my disc and the booklet up in the top sections and thes rest is just padding. We have to get over this idea that bigger means more value for your money. Everyone knows they're just gettting a disc for their money so why not just sell it in a paper sleeve.

Very annoyed about that.

I read in a magazine yesterday that there are now 18,000 pieces of plastic in every square kilometre of the ocean. It kills more than 100,000 marine mammals and one million seabirds every year. Eighty percent of this comes from the land – blown of landfill sites, washed down storm water drains, littered. It comes from US.

And you know what really drives me nuts extreme. These people that then get all excited about Earth Hour. They spend every day of the year not recycling enough, leaving lights burning for hours, driving cars when they could walk, running freezers and dishwashers and aircondioners and clothes dryers round the clock, throwing away food and buying takeaway coffees or water bottles every day for lunch. Then they sit in the dark for one hour a year and think they're saving the bloody world.

And they'll probably sit there in candle light produced by petro-chemically derived waxes.

It's really time for everyone to try a bit harder. This months Australians Womens Health magazine has some good information about things you can do. But really everyone knows what they should be doing, they're just too lazy, too slack or living in denial.

RECYCLE

REUSE

REDUCE

Read and post comments | Send to a friend