another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

australian summer January 16, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 7:46 am
Tags: , , ,

Well, it must be summer in Australia because the flies are cutting sick here tonight.

Main reason being that Daz is cooking curry.

A chicken and a beef.

Strange choice maybe for a 100 degree day.

But there you go.

And whenever you cook a curry or a bolegnese or anything meaty, the flies flock to the windows. We haven't got the airconditioner on at the moment. Even though the air is still and hot, and there are two hotplates on and an electric fry pan as well as the deep fryer all operating.

Because I hate airconditioning.

Even though I work in the airconditioning industry.

I am not a great promoter of the business. I don't enjoy being trapped in a room with freezing cold air pumping around me. Whenever I go to a pub or restaurant the first thing I do is check the airconditioning grilles. How dirty they are.

Anyway the curry thing, its my brothers philosophy. He used to tell me that on a really hot day the most refreshing drink you can have is a hot cup of tea. He says that the idea is that you sweat, and then you cool.

Well I'm sweating. And I'm not cooling. I'm clammy. Its that type of day when you have a shower then can't get dry. And you try and put your t shirt on and it rolls in a ball and sticks to you. Mind you I haven't had a shower since yesterday morning.

But I am looking at a shitload of flies.

Because my desk is near our back wall which is basically a wall of windows. We have a huge wall of louvres, which I must say look very nice, but are a real pain in the arse to open and close. But I trap flies in there, then go outside and spray them. And right about now I have about 50 trapped in there. They are like kamikaze flies, trying to get to the curry.

I'd like to get to the curry myself.

But Daz is in control tonight so we have to wait.

I probably would have cooked a salad.

I think tomorrow is baked leg of lamb.

I think he has his seasons fucked up.

 

I have just finished the curry. Before, when I said I was clammy. I wasn't clammy. Now I'm clammy. Maybe this is why everyone in Thailand is so thin.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend