another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

flower power August 21, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 11:00 pm
Tags: , , ,

I don't know whats happening in the rest of the world, but there's a disturbing trend happening here in Australia.

FLORAL

And lots of it. If you want to buy clothes at the moment you will need to have a true love of all things floral. And a touch of nostalgia for the seventies.

Imagine this. A loose fitting, full body, black cotton catsuit type thing. Gathered at the ankles, sleeveless, with a drawstring waist. And covered in thousands of yellow and pink flowers. It could be yours.

I even saw some broderie anglaise. And dare I say……. cheesecloth dresses. And long dresses. Floor length. I guess they're ankle length but on me they would drag on the floor. I've only ever tried on two ankle length dresses and both times ended up laughing at the sight of myself in the mirror. I felt like I was playing dress up in my mothers wardrobe thirty years ago.

I did buy one floral shirt. Big floral, in blues. I said to the girl, do you have it in any other colours? and she said, yes, we have it in purple and orange. And I said, I think I already did that in the seventies thanks.

But I bought it because I need something to wear to a family function coming up. I said to Lizzie – and I can wear it with white shorts, or white pants or even blue jeans. None of which I actually own of course.

I think I'll be giving spring clothes shopping a miss thanks. I hope you lot that are a season ahead of us have something better planned for my summer wardrobe.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

11 Responses to “flower power”

  1. I even saw some broderie anglaise. And dare I say……. cheesecloth dresses. And long dresses
    I was very into both – in the 70s. I have more style these days. I was fearing the return of the 80s with shoulder pads. I can live with the 70s. At least we gat to look like females!

  2. Shopping has become a pointless exercise for me in Cali, because all of the dresses are floral and frilly, my least favorite style. If you're carrying any kind of weight around the hips or stomach, the flowers act like a giant "Look at my fat!" sign.

  3. cat Says:

    Lol, yes all floaty and dreamy. I'm waiting for the 80's look to come back in so I can just let my hair go natural

  4. cat Says:

    Lol, Flock of Seagulls, now thats a blast from the past. The 80's was my time as well. Although I hated all that British music. Duran Duran, Spandau Ballet, Thompson Twins. My husband loved all that. He still gets a bit excited when he hears Spandau Ballet's – Gold.

  5. Emjay Says:

    While I had my arm in the brace/sling the only thing I could wear to keep warm were cardigans – they had enough give to sort of stretch over all that crap and still do up a couple of buttons. All the cardies were floral!!! Talk about looking like an old lady!! Luckily they are now weirdly stretched so that they can't really be worn outside the house.

  6. crankypants Says:

    you're indestructible…always belieeeeeve…you are GOLD!I don't really go out clothes shopping much anymore, already owning more clothes than I need, but GACK–floral jumpsuits sound putrid. I was seeing them on Tyra Banks on ANTM last season, and thought WTF, lady, you look ridiculous. Lavender satiny taper leg ankle length puffed sleeve jump suit. I don't care if you are Tyra Banks, you look like Homey the Clown. and now on this season's Project Runway the first winning outfit was a hideous jumpsuit, oh, that is so fashion forward, the judges say. Um, no, that is so 1970s puke. At least it wasn't floral. I can deal with certain florals but not much of it.

  7. Most of my record collection from the 80s is made up of UK bands, but Australia came out with some great ones too: Midnight Oil, INXS, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, Crowded House….oh heck, I'll even toss in Men at Work. But sometimes I'm glad that era is done with too. The other day I saw this video in which a group of protesters were singing their own lyrics to Depeche Mode's "People Are People," which got the song stuck in head. I finally went to YouTube and found the video so I could be reminded of how awful everyone's hair looked, which exorcised the song from my head.

  8. cat Says:

    And its impossible to go to the toilet in a jump suit. Especially if you're out drinking. First you can never get them off quick enough, then you're fully exposed sitting there and then there's always a good chance some of it will end up down the toilet while you're trying to get your self together again.sad, you probably – knoow this muuch is truuuue – as well

  9. Shutterbug Says:

    I will admit, I love wearing floor-length skirts and dresses! I am on the floor so much with my kiddo's at school, and I find that I am able to better do that in a long skirt.
    The fashion trend that we have here in the states that I hate is ugly fake-jeweled necklace-type collars on shirts. They are waaaaay too gaudy for my taste! I adore cool, one-of-a-kind necklaces, which would be pointless to wear with these ugly shirts. So, I guess it's solid colored, non-fussy shirts for me this year (when I am lucky enough to find them!)

  10. cat Says:

    lol – oh yeah, australian music in the 80's was excellent. Please not Men At Work though! They weren't really that popular here.

  11. cat Says:

    Well, yes, you're excused then. We don't want Miss Shutterbug flashing the kiddies.You know I can't even picture that ugly shirt you're talking about, but I'm fairly sure I don't want one.


Leave a Reply

