another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

running to the corner August 15, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 7:24 am
Tags: , ,
Today I ran 8kms in 47 minutes. Go me. My goal is to run 10kms in 60 minutes and then 50 minutes. Apparently this is what sorts out the runners from the joggers. Joggers I read, just jog about aimlessly.

I've been following this programme on a site called Time to Run. You can basically start from never having moved from the lounge and end up running sub 40 minute 10k's. And it all sort of happens so gradually that you don't even notice your pace or fitness getting better until you realise you can run 8 kms in 47 minutes.

There's a lot to think about when you're running. Head up, shoulders down, hands relaxed, hips forward, land on the ball of the foot.  I used to think so hard about it all that I'd almost fall over but now I just sort of let it happen. And anyway have you seen Paula Radcliffe run. She has the weirdest style with her head banging about all over the place yet she keeps winning marathons. I felt a bit like I was channeling her the other day.

I do my running on the treadmill because there's nowhere to run here. I've been around town looking but can't find a suitable track. This means I spend a lot of time watching music videos. Which has lead to me developing a strange crush on the lead singer of Gyroscope. I don't even know what his name is. But they have a new album out so I've seen a lot of them. And their music has a pretty good running pace.

For a while there I thought he might replace Tex in my affections.

But. Nah. Ain't gonna happen just yet.

Gotta love a man who can wear a pair of brown slacks

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

21 Responses to “running to the corner”

  1. msbeesy Says:

    I heart tex too.

  2. crankypants Says:

    Good luck with the running!I think I'm a little in love with Tex myself. Never heard of him before but… sexy voice, smooth moves and a sense of humor, what more can one ask?

  3. homebody Says:

    I love when he puts the broken dishes back in the drain basket… and pretty much everything else he does in the video. I hadn't heard of Tex Perkins either.
    Yay on the running! I hope we get to see more of your music video picks as time goes on.

  4. Katiebell Says:

    I think I am going with tex! the running programme sounds like a good one. thats a nice pace!

  5. cat Says:

    He's a very cool dude

  6. cat Says:

    Oh yeah, he's very cheeky. Never heard of Tex Perkins!! Beasts of Bourbon, The Cruel Sea? He's a legend here. Next you'll be telling me you've never heard of Tim Rogers.

  7. cat Says:

    Lol, I think it must be about the cheapest music video ever produced – yet still entertaining – I'll have to expose you all to more aussie music I think.

  8. cat Says:

    Yes I think I'll feel like a cradle snatcher if I go after Gyroscope man.
    It's funny with the running how you just keep improving on the pace without really realising it. And then realsing you can keep up the pace without having a heart attack.

  9. crankypants Says:

    Tim Rogers? nope, not him either….I guess I know more old skool Oz rock.

  10. cat Says:

    He's late 80's, 90's, still now. You Am I, The Temperance Union. He's a pretty cool guy as well. We have lots of them here.

  11. crankypants Says:

    Oh, I've heard of You Am I. I think they played here a couple years ago. I think they are/were on Yep Roc records.Thanks for the tips, I'll definitely be checking them out.(and I guess I should have said, more mainstream old skool Oz rock, although I had a Vox neighbor from Australia who had never heard of The Church before I posted some songs, and he was in his 30s.)

  12. cat Says:

    lol, poor thing – he must have only listened to commercial radio his whole life. You've got to listen to JJJ if you want to hear the good stuff. No ads, no idiots and lots of Australian music.

  13. Your running program sounds impressive. Good for you!!

  14. crankypants Says:

    Ah cool! I'm bookmarking that, I get tired of my itunes, no real surprises these days….

  15. cat Says:

    lol, well we know you like the young guys Freedom!!

  16. *choke, cough* Quite true 🙂 No one below 20'ish, of course 🙂 But I also like men like Richard Gere and George Clooney, at the other end of the spectrum. It is not so much the age as it is the charisma and charm.

  17. RimaOmar Says:

    Good luck. Hope you’ll achieve your target in your running program.

  18. cat Says:

    Thanks. So do I. Its good now I have an actual goal set. Makes it easier.

  19. Denise Says:

    Sooooo, I did some conversions. I WALK 3 1/2 miles in one hour. 3 1/2 miles ='s 5.63 KM………….hummmmm, guess I'm not quite in your league! LMAO
    Just reading what you've accomplished makes me think I've got to lie down on the couch and drink a cold Diet Pepsi. 😉
    You are awesome!

  20. cat Says:

    lol – and getting awesomer all the timeI started out walking as well, then you just gradually speed things up


Leave a Reply

