another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

wash your hands August 11, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 10:58 pm
Tags: , ,

I read in the local paper yesterday, that every year in the hospitals in our region, 70 people die of blood poisoning caused by staff not washing their hands.

That must be pretty disappointing. To die because some festy worker didn't wash their hands before touching your catheter or drip.

But the thing that really gets me when I read the results of these surveys is the amount of people who admit to not washing their hands. Why would you do that. I read one once about the number of workers in mall food halls who don't wash their hands after they go to the toilet before they prepare food. And I thought, why would you even say you didn't.

So it says in the paper that in 65% of cases hospital workers did wash their hands. But the prevention and control director would like to get that to 80%.

Now I know its probably just a crazy out there idea. But how about 100%.

Hospitals seem like really dangerous places.

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

20 Responses to “wash your hands”

  1. This doesn't surprise me: last year my husband's uncle, who was a vigorous, alert, healthy 88-year-old man, went to the huge municipal hospital for what was supposed to be a routine implant of a pacemaker. Within 24 hours of the procedure, he was dying of a staph infection that had started in the area where the pacemaker cable had been. The doctor had him placed on a ventilator, but it was so painful for the poor man that he begged to be taken off. He died immediately after they removed the tube. Later I found out there had been a huge problem with staph infections at this hospital, caused by staff failing to wash their hands thoroughly and wear gloves when they were handling the patient.

  2. Emjay Says:

    There's a woman at work who takes her lunch or coffee or whatever other food into the toilets with her – leaves it on the bench near the hand basins; uses the cubicle; comes out and picks it all up and leaves – WITHOUT washing her hands!!!

  3. cat Says:

    Thats sad. Poor old guy. And it's such a basic thing – wash your hands! They'll have to start having classes in medical schools on how to do it. I know a lady who had a baby in a hospital and the baby picked up the cold sore virus becuase someone touched her who must have had it.

  4. cat Says:

    NOOOOOOOOO
    no way – shudder, I feel like going and washing my hands just thinking about that

  5. Emjay Says:

    Yeah – it's really disgusting! I never take anything from her – if she wants to give me papers etc I tell her to just stick them on the side of my desk. And then I feel like wiping them down with purell before I touch them! I certainly use purell after I've dealt with them.

  6. cat Says:

    lol, she's soiled

  7. Then Says:

    Oooooh, that is just plain nasty. Can you imagine the germs?

  8. cat Says:

    lol, I'm trying hard not to. I said to my husband last night – do NOT let them take me to hospital if I get sick.

  9. We usually use hand sanitizer instead of trying to use the restroom sinks that have water splashed all over the place. But I always get the hand sanitizer out before we leave the bathroom so people will know we use it. Silly me. I don't even know the people!

  10. G Says:

    In the UK if I recall right they had some 7000+ people die of some anti-biotic resistant infections in a year or so.And when I had my recent stay in hospital I personally made sure no one came anywhere near my wound with anything. I knew if I could survive the hospital I'd be fine once I got home.The thing that struck me most about all this is that in Italy if you go into ANY hospital you can smell disinfectant on a permanent basis, the halls and pretty much everything looks sterile. Here in the UK, the halls look filthy and have actual honest to God fluff balls of dirt rolling around.It boggles the mind.I have no idea why this disparity in basic hygiene between the two countries but I am not the only one to notice it either.

  11. Ninja Says:

    Hand-washing is the single biggest public health initiative that saves lives, and your piece today just showed that we still have some way to go before EVERYONE gets into the habit. And we are a First World country, too.I've got a bottle of alcohol handwash in my car, too. Hate the feeling in my hands after being at the servo to fuel up.

  12. What about the super bug that is going globally thanks to all the vain people going to Asian countries for cosmetic surgery? Thanks but no thanks! Vanity is indeed a curse!

  13. cat Says:

    Oooh, are those the people they're calling medical tourist's on the news. I didn't know what that meant. Yes, people must be desperate. But I can understand people going overseas for dental work. So expensive here. Even my doctor sent his family to Malaysia for dental work.

  14. cat Says:

    About two weeks ago I was sitting in my local tattoo shop and thought it seemed more hygenic than our local hospital. As soon as you walked in you could smell disinfectant and see scrubbed white walls.My husband was in hospital last year and when we went to visit him there was no way we'd use the toilets there. They were filthy. We went to the Pub across the road and used theirs instead.

  15. cat Says:

    I keep one of those bottles in my handbag as well. I always have a strong desire to use it after grocery shopping. Those shopping trolleys always feel so sticky and festy. I read a book a while ago talking about the number of women who died during childbirth over a hundred years ago and how it basically came down to the doctors not washing their hands between seeing women during birth. We seem to learn nothing.

  16. cat Says:

    LOL, thats funny. But good idea, because I'd be watching you and saying OMG, did you see them, they didn't wash their hands. I always have a bottle of that stuff in my bag and I bought some for the girls as well because they don't have soap in the toilets at school. Drives me MAD. Maybe I'm obsessive compulsive.

  17. Ninja Says:

    That was a true story, too.

  18. cat Says:

    Yes, so sad. And incredible really.

  19. I don't think you are OCD. There are so many bad germs now. I have to be especially careful due to my immune system. I know they say not to overuse the antibacterial stuff and I only use it when we are out shopping. At home, I use soap and water to wash my hands.

  20. cat Says:

    Yes I always make sure I take it when we go shopping. Because you've spent all morning touching "stuff" and door handles and escalators, then you usually go to the toilet then go and have lunch somewhere. Hate to think of all the germs you've picked up.


Leave a Reply

