another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

Garlic Shoyuzuke August 10, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 2:18 am
Tags: , , ,

I found out yesterday what happens when a bulb of garlic explodes in the microwave. Not a clove, a bulb. Basically what happens is you're left with an enormous smelly mess that you spend the afternoon cleaning up.

So, the garlic gaga goes on. I bought the bag of australian garlic because there was a suggestion to store them in olive oil. But when I did a bit of reseach I found out this is not recommended AT ALL because there's a very high risk of botulism.

The way to go seems to be to pickle them instead. Then I found this simple recipe that just uses soy sauce. And she said that since its such a pain in the arse peeling six bulbs of garlic, and easy way to skin them was to cut the tops off then put them in the microwave for three minutes. I wouldn't suggest this myself because I was out in the laundry after about two minutes when I heard it explode.

So peel all your garlic, I only used three bubs as they were enormous.
Have a jar sterilised and ready to go.

You need enough soy sauce to cover the cloves in the jar. Then just heat the soy sauce, put in the garlic, simmer for 5 minutes then put it in the jar and seal it up. Put it away in a dark cool place for two weeks.

Then after that you have tasty little garlic cloves to use in whatever or just snack on. And you have tasty soy sauce to use in your stir frys or dressings.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

16 Responses to “Garlic Shoyuzuke”

  1. LeendaDLL Says:

    lol – i probably would have just thrown away the microwave

  2. cat Says:

    well I ignored it for as long as I could – I was hoping someone else would come along and do it for me – god knows who, they'd all just keep using it as it was

  3. Aubrey Says:

    I would have just panicked and moved to another city.
    Have you ever baked garlic bulbs? Slather them with olive oil, cook them until they have the consistency of butter – very lovely with crusty bread.
    I also cook them until each clove is still firm – I then remove them and wrap an anchovy fillet around each one. Father loves this.
    I would also suggest getting a garlic press. Because it's just plain fun.

  4. cat Says:

    lol, I'm not really a garlic fan at all – or onion. My husband loves them baked like that though. I do a few bulbs and he scoffs them down.

  5. This looks a lot like the pickled baby onions my grandmother used to make. She used a combination of soy sauce and vinegar with a little sugar. My father adored them and is always trying to replicate the recipe, but it never turns out the same.

  6. cat Says:

    Nothing is ever as good as when Nan made it. With my Nan it was lemon butter. Never tastes the same when I make it.

  7. Well, I guess the vampires won't be calling for awhile!

  8. An Ex-Expat Says:

    Why would you 'nuke' a bulb of garlic? To drive out an annoying neighbor who 'drops in' for a visit?

  9. cat Says:

    well thats always a positive

  10. cat Says:

    lol, well by the time I'd done that then cooked them in soy, the house was indeed very fragrant

  11. cat Says:

    lol – gross!!

  12. cat Says:

    Oh, that reminds me of something I heard once. A father was playing tea parties with his daughter and she kept filling up his tea cup for him and when he asked her where she was getting the "tea" from she told him from the toilet.

  13. OptamissTIK Says:

    How long can you keep the garlic for once you've preserved it? We take forever to get through garlic. I threw out 4 bulbs last night.

  14. cat Says:

    If you keep it in the fridge AND your bottle was sterilised it'll keep for up to a year it said for this one. Don't do the olive oil thing though – toxic.


Leave a Reply

