another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

Room August 8, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 3:46 am
Tags: , ,

Two really good books in one week. It's almost too much to hope for. I'll have weeks of ordinary now I guess. I'm reading one thats just okay but it's set in Russia. And they have such ridiculously complicated names I can't pronounce. So I have to make up other names for them and then I never really know who's who.

But this book I loved is called Room. I've taken a photo of my cover because when I looked at the one on Amazon it wasn't as nice. Why is it that we always have better book covers here in Oz. Anyway I would have loved to have read it in one sitting but it took me three in the end. Started one night, woke up at 5am and read more then finished it off that afternoon. I knew I was going to love it as soon as I read the first sentence. I never buy or borrow a book without reading the first sentence then the back then running my hands over the cover.

If you see it lying about in your travels give it a read. I read another book by this author that I also enjoyed and it was totally totally different. I like it when authors do that. So many of them just seem to produce the same story time after time.

This is the blurb from Amazon.

To five-year-old Jack, Room is the entire world. It is where he was born and grew up; it's where he lives with his Ma as they learn and read and eat and sleep and play. At night, his Ma shuts him safely in the wardrobe, where he is meant to be asleep when Old Nick visits.

Room is home to Jack, but to Ma, it is the prison where Old Nick has held her captive for seven years. Through determination, ingenuity, and fierce motherly love, Ma has created a life for Jack. But she knows it's not enough…not for her or for him. She devises a bold escape plan, one that relies on her young son's bravery and a lot of luck. What she does not realize is just how unprepared she is for the plan to actually work.

Told entirely in the language of the energetic, pragmatic five-year-old Jack, ROOM is a celebration of resilience and the limitless bond between parent and child, a brilliantly executed novel about what it means to journey from one world to another.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

5 Responses to “Room”

  1. It sounds like a wonderful book. I just looked on my library website and they have a lot of her books but not this one. Darn. I was going to put it on hold!!!!

  2. cat Says:

    Her others are good as well. Maybe this is too new for the library.

  3. msbeesy Says:

    Hey Cat, I wanted to thank you for recommending Room I have struggled to finish reading anything for a long time. I picked this up at K-mart yesterday and couldn't put it down until it was finished.Excellent recommendation… I feel changed.

  4. cat Says:

    Oh, thats fantastic. I found myself going through a whole range of emotions while I read it. I was so nervous through the escape, then I was happy, then sad. I loved it.

  5. msbeesy Says:

    I know what you mean!! The escape was the hardest part to read, I was so nervous! But then my heart broke for Jack when he had to adjust to Outside… that last scene…. I needed closure 😛


Leave a Reply

