another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

The Passage August 4, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 1:20 am
Tags: ,
I really enjoyed this book. The problem when you do really like a book though, is that the next few you read seem very ordinary.

So of course the cover caught my attention. I saw it at our local newsagent and it was $ 35.00. Books here are expensive. So I went into Big W to look for it because they'e usually about $21.00 there. But of course it wasn't there. So I came home and looked on the Book Depository site which is where I buy just about all my books. And they had it. $ 23.00 which included postage to Australia from USA. Well, of course when I went to Big W the next week they had it, AND they had a book sale on so it was only $ 18.00.

I guess there's a lesson in there somewhere for me.

But when I'm really looking forward to reading a book, the anticipation and waiting for it to arrive in the mail just adds to the whole experience. In fact I recently told the delivery man that he was my favourite man in town.

If you live in Australia (or anywhere for that matter) and buy a lot of books this site is worth checking out. Sometimes Amazon will have cheaper second hand of the same title but I find their postage price makes a lot of books not worth buying. Book Depository is cheap, the cost includes postage and they turn up within 10 days. I often find the UK site a bit cheaper than the US. Oh, and that little option to Watch People Shop can become addictive. People are buying some crazy shit.

Book Depository

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

20 Responses to “The Passage”

  1. Then Says:

    Thanks for the link. I do find books here to be absolutely outrageous. I found this out when we came here on our first visit. Before we travel with our daughter I will usually pop into a book shop and buy her something new to keep her occupied. Well, she didn't get a new book going home from Australia. I am blown away by what books cost here. One word: Library.

  2. Crush-Monkey Says:

    Oh my. : (Books are VERY expensive where you are!

  3. cat Says:

    Yes I finished it on the weekend. I loved all the characters. Well you know, except The Twelve that is. The main characters I loved all of them.

  4. cat Says:

    Oh our library is fairly terrible. I'm just back from there now and I couldn't find anything I wanted to read. I've started putting a mark on page 20 of all the books I read because I've started borrowing things I've already read.

  5. cat Says:

    No we don't have amazon here. I have used the US store but postage is too much.

  6. Then Says:

    I died a little inside when I found out there was no Amazon here. I ordered so much from there in the US and the UK. You can order from there but you have to pay shipping and I don't know about customs/duty!? I was told that it still works out cheaper than buying the book outright from a shop here.

  7. Then Says:

    I used a library when we were in temp housing in Chatswood and it was wonderful. Our community doesn't have a library. I have to go over a couple of suburbs to find one which I hope is decent. I don't know when I will get there to use it since I don't have a car yet…

  8. cat Says:

    I haven't had to pay any customs fees. I don't find it cheap enough to bother with Amazon. Also once they sent me the wrong book and sometimes they take weeks and weeks to come. I've never had a problem with the Book Depository. Another good site is Booko – it searches for the book you want then gives you the prices of that book in all the online bookstores, cheapest to dearest. Book Depository always comes up first. Although Booko doesn't search for second hand books. My son buys his University text books from Better World Books. They're second hand but work out being about $90 cheaper than he'd pay for them here through the Uni bookstore.

  9. Snowy Says:

    Thanks for the headsup on Book Depository, Cat. I've been put off by Amazon's high postage too.

  10. cat Says:

    You're welcome. I find that even if you buy a second hand book from Amazon, by the time you add the postage, its a bit ho hum and not worth worrying about. I'm sure they must have put the postage up because a few years ago I was buying a fair bit from Amazon and not thinking the postage was extreme.

  11. now I am going to have to go and check the site out, and then I will need to buy something…and now I will blame you because none of it is my fault.

  12. cat Says:

    I'll take full responsibility but you can never have too many books.

  13. snoringKatZ Says:

    I'm going to send you the books my friend published. One is a graphic novel, the other is one his wife wrote before she suddenly died of a drug reaction. So I feel compelled to buy numerous copies and send them everywhere :)Also, they're both fairly thin trade paper so they're perfect for setting under wobbly table legs if you're not into the story a whole lot.I just saw The Passage on Barnes & Noble's site but your cover is far more interesting than what they showed.

  14. cat Says:

    Oh goodie! I love all books.
    Our book covers here in Oz always seem to be nicer/more interesting than the ones you guys get.
    I don't have wobbly tables but I do have a TV that wobbles precariously on piles of books until Daz buys me a stand for it. The other day I very firmly told the librarian that I did NOT have the book she said I had overdue then came home and saw it under the telly.

  15. cat Says:

    OMG – There's a second book!!!!! When?

  16. cat Says:

    A Trilogy! Mind you I was pretty happy with that ending.And a movie. Not sure how I feel about that. I'm never very happy with movie adaptations. It needs to be a mini series.

  17. piscesgal Says:

    Supposedly the next book won't come out 'till 2012, but I have heard that it *may* be sooner( hopefully it is!)

  18. snoringKatZ Says:

    Our book covers here in Oz always seem to be nicer/more interesting than the ones you guys get. What we lack in cover art we apparently make up for by titles that never end. I'm not sure who started the whole Title: Endless Subtitle that Pretty Much Tells You the Whole Book idea but it's aggravating.


Leave a Reply

