another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

shivering June 30, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 12:59 am
Tags: , ,

Yesterday was our coldest June day for 27 years. It was -1 overnight here. Not that I'd have noticed. I was burning up with a shivering fever and walking around in my singlet and undies. You know when you can't stand to have anything touching your skin? I must have picked up a bug somewhere. It was like I was perfectly fine eating my egg on toast one minute then five minutes later I had the most awful feeling of nausea you can imagine. I can tell you now it'll be a while before I can eat an egg again, even though I know that didn't make me sick. Just have that association now.

I thought I might have had a reaction to my hepatitis injection because I had this rash all over my face and chest as well. But Lizzie has had a vomit bug so maybe I got it from her.

Not that I vomit mind you. I refuse to vomit. And I know people say they feel better when they vomit but that's not really true. You only feel better for about 10 minutes, then you just feel like shit again. Except you also have vomit stuck in your nose and a nasty taste in your throat and sore tummy muscles.

This is why I found myself sitting on the toilet in my singlet and undies at 3am in -1 temperatures repeating over and over – mind over matter, mind over matter. And it was quite a feat, because the matter was determined to get out. But the mind won. Then I had to go back to bed and lie there like a statue and not make one movement.

You know I was being such a baby at the doctors about getting a needle on Monday that the nurse gave me a dip into the lolly jar. And I really can't believe that I had one. Because if there's ever a place where you're likely to pick up a germ, the kids lolly jar at the doctors surgery is probably up there in the top five. Because they never take the top one do they, they fossick about for the one they want.

But I'm feeling ok again today. But it's bloody cold and I can feel it today.

Now I just have to work out the best thing to eat after 36 hours of no food at all. Hmmmm – not egg.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

17 Responses to “shivering”

  1. OptamissTIK Says:

    Oh no! Get better!!
    I also avoid vomming unless I have no choice in the matter. I'm so good at it I'm almost like a horse (I heard they "can't" throw up).

  2. cat Says:

    lol – really is that true about horses
    I haven't had a vomit in 23 years (I had one when I was pregnant with Kimba)

  3. snoringKatZ Says:

    I'm making tea and toast for you right now.

  4. cat Says:

    Oh god – I'd love a cup of tea. I'd have killed for one yesterday but we only had 1 teabag left and I need two per cup. So two teabags please. Unless you do leaves.

  5. snoringKatZ Says:

    Do you want regular tea, jasmine, lemon ginger, Sleepytime, Lemon Zinger, chamomile, pomegranate something-or-another, rooibos (what on earth is that?!?), green tea, green and white tea or mandarin orange?

  6. Shutterbug Says:

    Yikes! Hope you feel better soon! :o)

  7. cat Says:

    lol, no I'n not into potpourri as a drink – just black, Bushells if you have it

  8. cat Says:

    thanks – getting there I think

  9. snoringKatZ Says:

    We don't have Bushells here but I just took the tea test and I drink it like an Aussie. wooHOOOO! I'm all set for whenever I do find my way there!

  10. piscesgal Says:

    I know what you mean about the not wanting to eat whatever you had right before you got sick-I had the flu *really* badly about 12 years ago and right before I had meatballs(for dinner) and fast food mexican food(for lunch) neither of which I could eat for a good half a year afterwards.

  11. No, you don't want to eat an egg if you have the flu. It's got too much fat in it, so they aren't easy to digest, unless you poach it. And I hate poached eggs.

  12. cat Says:

    Lol, well my dogsbody is away this week looking after our sick daughter!! Bloody typical isn't it. Kids always want ALL the attention. I went out and got some tea – had a ham sandwich and a cup of tea. Seems to be sitting well.

  13. cat Says:

    haha – funny isn't it. Sigh, and I do love my eggs but just thinking about one at the moment makes my stomach churn. My daughter had this sickness last week and right before it she had a Big Mac. At first we thought she had food poisoning from it. But she tells me she'll never be able to eat a Big Mac again. Hmmm, we'll see how long that lasts

  14. RimaOmar Says:

    Hope you feel better now?

  15. cat Says:

    Yes thanks – although it seems to be making its way around everyone in the house now 😦

  16. cat Says:

    Well I keep thinking I feel better and even hungry, but then when I eat something I feel crappy again


Leave a Reply

