another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

Swallows travel to and fro June 18, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 7:01 am
Tags: , , ,

Can't actually say that swallows are of any great significance to me. I'm not one of those people who has some great meaning behind all their tattoos. In fact I get sick of those people who rave on saying that your tattoos should have meaning. They should mean something to you. They should represent whatever was happening at your life at the time. They should mark some important milestone. What mine mean to me is that I liked whatever it was so I got it.

So I liked the swallow. I did research them after I decided I liked them. They were big with sailors. After they'd sailed 5000 miles they'd get a swallow tattoo. After 10,000 they'd get another swallow. Because sailing was a dangerous caper back then so it was a milestone to survive that long. They also believed that if they died a swallow would help get them to heaven safely. So thats nice.

Anyway I took my grungy old ladybird off to Renae and she got to work.

OUCH. I don't remember it being that painful. I'm really getting soft. Once upon a time I pierced my own ear seven times using a sleeper. These days if I leave an earring out too long and the back hole closes over I'm too soft to even push it through again.

But anyway, yeah – actually its not so much the pain that gets me its the vibrating that you feel internally thats a bit yuk. And the sort of tearing feeling. And the pain.

This was when I was saying – really, did I really say I wanted two?

So as you can see it still has the little ladybird antenna thing poking out. I'm going back in a few weeks to have some stars or hearts or little flowers put around to cover that. Anyway I have to go back so she can pack some more pink into it. She says cover ups can take a few visits.

So it'll be a good little job done that I've been meaning to do for years.  Here we have before and after.


The one on the right arm is much brighter and prettier. Because it doesn't have a great black blob sitting underneath it.

A little pair of swallows. Obviously I've sailed 10,000 miles. Seems like much further some days. Don't worry about those little feet hanging out of my cardigan sleeve. Oh, and the swallows are even, I just have my arms not even.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

21 Responses to “Swallows travel to and fro”

  1. LeendaDLL Says:

    Nice! Too bad you couldn't be here last weekend, to get them done at Ink-n-Iron (250 of the top tattoo artists, by invite only, were inking live on the Queen Mary… it's very impressive but I never bothered to go to that part this year).You just HAD to point out the feet. I wouldn't have noticed then but now they're all I can think about!

  2. cat Says:

    Oh yes, that'd be really interesting. Love to go to one of those tattoo conventions. Don't have them like that here.haha – they're the feet of my little fertility god. He's playing a flute.

  3. LeendaDLL Says:

    i first went to Ink-n-Iron 2 years ago, just for something to do. After strolling 300 artists live work, and books, and still not finding something I want on me, I figured that's a pretty good indicator that it's not meant to be. At least not yet.

  4. cat Says:

    Yeah, no rush – the skin will always be there waiting.

  5. Katiebell Says:

    the swallow really does look very nice!

  6. cat Says:

    ROFL – so that when I am old and gray and obese and a med student is dissecting
    me they know that I was once less old and gray and obese! ah dear – too funnyTimes are changing though. Twenty years ago I walked into a tattoo shop and said I wanted a butterfly on my arm and they told me they didn't tattoo girls arms. I almost cried. Today I went into the tattoo shop and the girls working there had tattoos on their hands and necks.

  7. Emjay Says:

    Pretty. When you go back to have the antenna fixed are you getting the same star/flower on the right one too?

  8. cat Says:

    Yes. I shall be symmetrical.

  9. Amanda Says:

    Cool looking! I like birds so I think they're a great choice. Although I'm not a tattoo person. I shudder just thinking about being poked. 😛 Yeah, I'm wussy.

  10. crankypants Says:

    They look pretty. you could get the antenna made into background clouds.The sailor symbolism is interesting too, I think those marine stars mean you've crossed the dateline? or I forget what the symbol is for that.

  11. They look wonderful!! What a great idea for a cover up. They look so much nicer than your other tattoo!

  12. Yieee, reading your post brought back all those memories of sitting in a chair, thinking I was going to scream if the poking didn't stop. But the swallows are really pretty! I wish I had gotten something a bit more imaginative and artsy, but as you mentioned, back in the day most tattoo parlors weren't used to inking women. The tats I got were essentially modified biker tattoos: the originals were too big for my skinny arms.

  13. cat Says:

    lol – I know, everyone has them. Here a lot of girls have the Tramp Stamp – the tattoo across the small of the back. I'm still a bit different though because I'm old and hardly any girls get their arms done. The tattooist told me she's done a stack of the stars on the neck like Rihanna has and the rosary beads around the ankle like Nicole Ritchie has.

  14. cat Says:

    Lol – poked – its a bit more like dragged. I thought about flowers or an old style heart but my daughter suggested the swallows and I liked them.

  15. cat Says:

    Yes, clouds or stars – stardust type stuff. I'll wait a couple of months for that.

  16. cat Says:

    Thanks – yes the other one was crap. The shadow underneath it just made it too dark and as it got older and thickened like they do it just turned into a blob.

  17. Tattoo Fairy link (let's see if this one works)

  18. Nope, it did not work. I will get out of chrome and try gain. You can delete the precious failed links if you want to. Sorry!

  19. Last try on Fairy Link using Firefox!!!

  20. OptamissTIK Says:

    They look great! I like the 10,000 miles/sailing significance too. You'll have to post more pics once the stars etc are on.

    My cousin and I used to pierce each others ears with studs – but now I'm the same, wince at the thought of pushing the earring through the hole after a day or so. I'm such a wuss these days.

  21. cat Says:

    Yes, at the moment I feel as if I could be covered in about thirty swallows – note to OptamissTIK – don't have daughters.Lol at the earrings – pathetic isn't it – and I must say that tatttoos hurt much more than I remember as well! While I was there this lovely little girl came in and was getting this big vine thing all over her hips and ribs and I was looking and thinking – Now THAT is going to hurt.


Leave a Reply

