another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

fruit and veg May 31, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 9:43 am
Tags: , ,

I love how they try to hide the toffee apples in amongst the other fruit at the supermarket. Just in case someone really does think these things grow on trees.

And I was a little concerned about the sign on the asparagus. Until I realised they weren't talking about the asparagus. Mind you I have been concerned about the asparagus for a long time now because it always seems to come from Peru. I always refuse to buy it. I mean how fresh can asparagus be that I buy in NSW that's come from Peru??

It just says to alert one of the staff if you see something that's unsafe for customers and staff. Which could be about a thousand things I see every week while I shop. Including the asparagus. I might alert them next week.

And see that lost pineapple rolling around the floor?

I had nothing to do with it.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

13 Responses to “fruit and veg”

  1. M-----l Says:

    I like to think that you caught the pineapple and the plastic bag (over on the left) at the end of their race around the grocery. They saw you coming and had to stop just as the bag was crossing the gold finish line.

  2. Doug Says:

    It's hard to tell the proper seasons for fruits and vegetables in a modern supermarket. I'm so disappointed in mine because there's a lot of produce that looks great and tastes mediocre to awful. The processing tricks that allow the vegetables to travel sacrifice taste and smell.

  3. Rev Stan Says:

    I've seen toffee apples hidden in the fruit section in some UK supermarkets too. And when it comes to asparagus and strawberries I only ever eat British because then you know it's in season and it tastes of something. I'd like to say I only eat British fruit and veg but we don't grow bananas…try to eat as much local produce as possible though, having a veggie box delivery helps.

  4. cat Says:

    Wow – nice thinking there! Like that idea.

  5. cat Says:

    Dastardly and devious indeed.I find that I buy green beans that look fine but after a day in the fridge they're all brown.

  6. cat Says:

    We don't have anything like that around here. Market gardens or even a fruit and veg shop. Every now and then farmers markets come to town with organic fruit and veg but when I went to buy capsicum one capsicum was going to cost me $8.00.I think my garlic comes from Mexico!! At least now they have to label where everything has come from so you have a better idea.

  7. msbeesy Says:

    HAHAHAHA! You're an Aussie right? I recognise that layout. And I won't tell anyone about the pineapple. I won't look at fruit shopping the same way again!Thanks for a really entertaining post 😀

  8. cat Says:

    I swear – it jumped!!

  9. LeendaDLL Says:

    For 1/2 the year, our strawberries (in California) are imported from Australia!!Are you the one I offered the blueberry? It's organic. And I'm to 3 ripe ones now!

  10. cat Says:

    lol – god knows what they spray on them to keep them fresh for the trip – we always have oranges from California, sometimes grapes as wellno – what blueberry – a plant?

  11. jaklumen Says:

    *sighs with a small note of frustration* I'm reminded that our city farmer's market moved out of the downtown area and to a more *cough* affluent location. We've still got East Pasco but the parking is relatively terrible, and there's no way we can walk to that one. I'm so ready to move and hopefully start growing food again.As Doug implied, we've got very similar situations in the States. So many produce traveling so many miles. But my side of Washington state (southeastern corner) has got very good irrigated farmland, so some of the produce in the supermarkets *is* local, although the wine grapes get the lion's share of the attention. Not just famous apples, either.

  12. cat Says:

    I've become much more aware of what I'm buying and I'm just amazed walking around the supermarket, about where things come from. If I buy a packet of 20 heads of garlic, they come from Australia, if I just want to buy one, it comes from Mexico. Go figure! I saw fish from Tanzania and Vietnam.

  13. LeendaDLL Says:

    blueberries were a topic from someone's post last week, but I can't remember who and I'm too lazy to look it up.


Leave a Reply

