another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

QotD: Love at First Sight? May 12, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 10:01 pm
Tags: ,

Do you believe in love at first sight?

Definintely.

I fell in love with my wok the second I maganed to get it out of all the packaging.

Not the first scratched up one that we returned. The replacement one.

And I still love it today. I use it all the time and will soon be posting photos of all the wonderful things we do together.

But now, someone talk to me about slow cookers.

Because I think I might need one. They seem to be all the rage. I hear there are even slow cooker parties. I'm not sure how that works because wouldn't you be there a long time?

Anyway I want to know what is the difference between cooking something in a slow cooker and cooking it in a casserole in a slow oven?

I'm going to my mothers on Sunday and I'm sure she has one hiding in her cupboard somewhere. Just wondering if I should nick it.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

24 Responses to “QotD: Love at First Sight?”

  1. I think you should nick it. You just toss a bunch of ingredients in it before you go to bed, then when you wake up you've got a delicious stew that you can eat for the next few days. It's awesome!

  2. Doug Says:

    My slow cooker has been disappointing – poor results for me. I'm told that it's better to have one that's too small, rather than too big. Hope you find one that makes you as happy as your wok.

  3. Emjay Says:

    Look for a Crockpot – I'm pretty sure she has one too! I've done some nice things in ours – it doesn't have a fancy timer though so someone has to be here to turn it on 6 hours before we want to eat! Fills the house with wonderful smells – great winter meals.

  4. LeendaDLL Says:

    i developed a desperate neeeeeeed for a slow cooker. thank gawd I got it out of my system for only $6.99 (very small size), cause I haven't used it once!ps: difference is less energy cause you're heating less space. also (at least around here), it's electric while the oven is gas.

  5. I love my crock pot. The best types have the inner part that can be removed for washing. They come in different sizes, depending on how many people you are cooking for. They are very easy.

  6. cat Says:

    Hmm, very tempting. Thought one would be good for my son as well, who goes to Uni and lives away from home

  7. cat Says:

    I've only cooked in on once – it was at my mothers, and it just seemed to stodge along for ever and wasn't fantastic at the end either – but I thought hers might be old and not as good as a new one

  8. cat Says:

    Whats a crockpot then? Is that the thing she has with the yellow and brown retro look to it

  9. cat Says:

    lol, I'm thinking if I was at the shops this morning I would have bought one definitely – but now I'm not sure – it just seems like everyone is talking about them these days

  10. cat Says:

    whats the difference between a crockpot and a slow cooker then?

  11. cat Says:

    oh ha that reminds me – sometimes I think – I might make bread for dinner in the stupid bread machine but then realise I needed to have had that thought about three hours ago

  12. LOL….I have no idea!!!!!! It turns out, absolutely nothing! Slow cooker is the generic name and "Crock Pot" used to be a name brand. Kind of like when we call tissues, kleenex. But I did not know that until I looked it up just now. Learn something new every day!

  13. LeendaDLL Says:

    lol… that's another item that I just had to own. Like you, I found that I always think of it too late. Plus, I don't have enough counter space to give up to a machine. I've made about 3 loaves of bread and then got over it.I'll tell you in advance: You do NOT need an ice cream maker either. And if you think you do, I'd offer to send you mine but it weighs about 100 million pounds. I used it twice.

  14. cat Says:

    oops, too late, lol already have one of them as well
    and I had a rice cooker but I gave it away then about six months later found myself looking through the cupboard for the damn thing
    and the ice cream maker doesn't make enough – not for 5 people anyway

  15. cat Says:

    I'm a little suspicious about having your meat sitting around for hours and hours at some low temperature.

  16. Katiebell Says:

    slow cooker. it is wonderful. the meat stays nice and tender, the veggies get just right. definitely worth it, and the low temp is not that low. You can still errr, burn yourself properly on a low temp slow cooker.

  17. Even the low temperature is hot enough to be safe. The high temperature is very very hot and the low temp is just hot 🙂 They do have a "warm" setting that you can leave something on, I suppose, at a party, perhaps meatballs or something. A bit like a buffet where they have heat lights. But I do think the low is still quite hot. I have had things boil over if I use too much liquid on the high setting so I know we are talking about some heat in the crock pot!

  18. homebody Says:

    My mom got a Crock Pot when I was about 12 years old. Stews made in it were a big part of our family dining experience, since she was a single working mom and could leave it on when she went to work (or sleeping when working nights). I have fond memories of those stews (much nicer than frozen pizza and "TV dinners", the other things which my brother and I ate a lot of during those years). I got my own Crock Pot about 10 years ago. Mostly I use it for cooking beans and soups, but I hear you can even bake bread in them. I've also heard they're good for caramelizing onions.

  19. cat Says:

    Hmm, now you're swinging me back towards one. What I'd really like is a good knife block at the moment. When my blender broke I bought one of those hand held ones instead – its great

  20. cat Says:

    But can't you just caramelize onions in a frypan? – I'll have to have a look at them on Sunday on the way past. Just don't want to get another bulky thing that I'll hardly use that I'll have to try and fit into that bottom cupboard full of all the other bulky things I never use. Like the fondue.

  21. homebody Says:

    But can't you just caramelize onions in a frypan? Yes. I think the only advantage of the slow cooker is that it can be ignored until the food is cooked. Fill it with ingredients, turn it on, leave the house for hours, and come home to hot cooked stew. I sometimes use it overnight while sleeping. For someone who likes being in more hands-on with the cooking, though, it's probably completely redundant. And it is indeed a bulky thing that takes up shelf space, but I'm lazy enough that I don't mind.
    My mom had a fondue pot, too. I think she used it two or three times in the ten years she hung onto it.

  22. I've had one for many years. My favorite burrito recipe is dropping a roast in the crock pot with half a cup of water in the morning before I go to work. I put it on high and let it go. When I get home I turn it to low and break up the meat (it just falls apart). I add an onion, about 4 cloves of garlic (garlic lovers here), a can of tomato paste and a can of tomotoes minus the liquid or cut up a few raw tomatoes and add. Then add spices; a couple of tablespoons of chili powder and some salt to taste. Let it cook for an hour. If too thick add some water. If too runny add some cornstarch. Then roll up in a flour tortilla with some cheddar cheese or montery jack and YUM! So easy to do too. Chili con Carne.
    Another version is to omit the chili powder and add green pepper and a jalepeno. Then it's Machaca!

  23. cat Says:

    oh wow – that sounds yum – I definitely think I'm going to look into it – doesn't anyone worry about it burning the house down running all night or day home alone?

  24. I probably used to but I've been using one for so many years now I quit worrying. I trust in the crock pot god.


Leave a Reply

