another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

no suitable title comes to mind April 21, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 12:03 am
Tags: , , ,

Yesterday was mammogram day 😦

So not only did a total stranger get to handle my breasts, they got to put them
in a press. :((

And press hard :O

It hurt much more than last time. Last time I thought it was a walk in the park. But this time my poor old leftie is full of cysts, hence the need for a mammogram, so it really hurt. There has been a suggestion made that I get the cysts drained but that doesn't sound like a whole lot of fun. Especially when they usually just grow back anyway.

And I know the people working there are probably just trying to put you at ease by making small talk, but I'd rather not thanks. Nothing is going to make this ok.

Things like – So what are you doing for the rest of the day?

oh gee I don't know, maybe go home and get into bed with an ice pack.

Then I went off for an ultrasound as well. So another stranger got to handle the girls.

At least they were both women. I've got nothing against men mind you. I know they're totally professional. But there just comes a point in life, after having had a few kids, a few mammograms, too many pap smears, an internal ultrasound, and a couple of curettes, that it just seems like about a hundred men have been poking about your private parts. And I don't even remember their names.

So thats done now for 18 months. Because my mother had breast cancer she told me I should have a mam every 18 months. Are you reading this sister?

But today is a new day with new body worries.

My hairdresser is due any minute and I'm still unsure.

To fringe or not to fringe? That is the question

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

21 Responses to “no suitable title comes to mind”

  1. ErinGoBragh Says:

    I had a pap smear today. It was by far the most uncomfortable one yet.

    Ick. At least it was a woman.

    Fringe now, while it's in style.

  2. cat Says:

    Oh I've got one of those coming up in two weeks. I usually break out in a sweat just before I get on the table and my blood pressure goes through the roof. Thats with a woman as well. I really don't like them at all!

  3. Emjay Says:

    Yep – I get one every year. Last year the fire alarm went off just as she was about to squish the second one. She asked if I wanted to evacuate and I said "no, let's just get it done" LOL… the idea of standing out on the footpath in that little gown wasn't appealing.

  4. My mother had colon cancer when she was 49 so I have to have colonoscapy's often. I have already had two. Gah. This time, I had to do a two day prep. That was just jolly! Glad you got through today! You won't have to go through that again for 18 months!

  5. Aubrey Says:

    Had the mammogram last week, and I was given The Call next day – they'd like to see me again…nothing urgent, but they might have seen 'something'.That appointment's tomorrow, 8AM – when everything is very, very cold!

  6. I don't have anything against male doctors or medical techs either, but they really don't know how uncomfortable it is to have a speculum stuck "up there" or have the boobs squeezed, particularly at certain times of the month. That said, I once had the most horrible mammogram done by this young woman who had hands like ice cubes, hard and cold. I kept thinking, "Just you wait for your turn."

  7. cat Says:

    Ha, I didn't even get a gown. She told me to take off my top and bra, then I walked across the room to her and then she wanted to have a long talk to me about my tattoos while I was standing there topless!!

  8. cat Says:

    My husband has to have those as well often as his father has had bowel cancer. Of course we all always think its hilarious. Always concerns me how he has that first nasty drink then takes the dog for a walk. I'm always expecting an emergency phone call to come and get him to get him back to the toilet.

  9. cat Says:

    The woman told me that they often call people back for more tests so not to freak out. Hopefully yours is not a freak out situation. You'd think if it was urgent they'd not make you wait a week. I got to take my films with me along with a copy of the report so that was good.
    Hope all goes well.

  10. cat Says:

    lol, why is my hairdresser not going to be on her feet?
    oh the speculum – even the word sounds hard and cold – they were talking on the radio yesterday about funny things you've found at a garage sale and a girl rang up and said she saw a bucket full of speculums – hopefully not used!

  11. homebody Says:

    One day maybe someone will invent a squish-free exam, and also a non-invasive pelvic exam. And blood tests that don't involve needles. *shudders*
    I hope you'll post a picture of the fringe (or not the fringe, if you decide not to go that route).

  12. snoringKatZ Says:

    I feel compelled to get all ranty about mammograms and pelvic exams and other lab-coated nonsense. Suffice to say I'm glad it's over for you (mostly) and I hope the fringe has gone well!

  13. Iniysa Says:

    A friend of mine just had hers, the electricity went out just as the machine was fully…squishing. She was stuck. To make things worse, the person doing it ran out of the room for something and FORGOT she was in there! Now that's a nightmare! 🙂

  14. cat Says:

    lol, well the fringe was much more pleasant anyway – although I'll hate it in about two weeks as well

  15. cat Says:

    You'd hope so – the thought of having mammograms and paps when I'm 60 is disturbing!

  16. cat Says:

    Now that would be awful. And there's no chance of squeezing out of those things once they're clamped down either. I'd be screaming my head off at them. Hopefully it was one of those things that you find really funny later.

  17. Sorry, I thought when you said your hairdresser was "due any minute" I assumed she was about to give birth!

  18. cat Says:

    haha – I thought you knew something I didn't!! She comes and does my hair at the house, so she was due any minute – although of course she's always late.

  19. Wow, he is a trooper. I don't leave the vicinity of the bathroom once I start drinking the awful stuff!

  20. An Ex-Expat Says:

    You'd think medical science would come up with less imnvasive ways for a breast exam, or for males, the prostrate exam.

  21. cat Says:

    Yes, its very hard to stay feeling dignified in such a situation.


Leave a Reply

