another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

Opening the mail April 12, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 10:31 pm
Tags: ,

I was looking into doing a business course at Tafe but decided it would all be a lot of useless knowledge and wasted time.

I came to this conclusion when I saw that the module called Opening Mail had been allocated 15 hours. I wasn't sure how that could be possible. I get the mail from the mailbox, open it, look at it, then put it in the appropriate tray to be dealt with. But then yesterday something happened that made me realise I'm just not doing enough with the mail.

See we did some work at the hospital and I sent an invoice off to Health Support Services. Then yesterday a copy of it came back with a letter saying it wasn't for them and I'd have to send it to New England Health. Now what makes this ridiculous is that these two places have the same address. So I felt like sending her a letter asking why she couldn't just get off her arse and walk over and give it to whoever was meant to have it.

And of course when the copy came back it had lots of official looking stamps and dates on it. I could tell she was one of those serious stampers. Sometimes you see one of them at the bank, they stamp things hard and fast and numerous times.

So now I know why people need 15 hours to learn how to deal with the mail I guess. You have to open it, stamp and date it a lot, copy it, let your boss look at it and sign it, then post it back to whoever sent it.

I've been doing office and accounts work for a long time now and it never fails to amaze me how much time people can waste in an office environment.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

13 Responses to “Opening the mail”

  1. Gee … and here I just usually run it through the shredder …

  2. meant to say …without proper training.

  3. cat Says:

    thats a bit reckless of you – there's probably some health and safety rule to stop that sort of thing you know

  4. Snowy Says:

    I dunno, maybe that mail opening subject is worth doing, Cat. It would surely qualify you for a government job, if nothing else.

  5. OptamissTIK Says:

    In my current job, by the time the mail makes it way to me, there is a date stamp, a copy stamp and a scanned stamp – I'm supposed to stamp it with my one too and sign and date it.
    FFS.

  6. cat Says:

    lolol, true – our local council would love me

  7. cat Says:

    I'm definitely going to have to go buy some stamps. By the time the mail gets from me to the guys it usually just has my terrible writing on it telling them off and calling them names.

  8. LOL…..my father gave my kids some old stamps that he no longer uses and they had a blast, stamping things left and right. Perhaps they have a future in handling the mail. Of course, they would make a lot more working for UPS!

  9. cat Says:

    ha, yes train them early – it's obviously an important skill

  10. OptamissTIK Says:

    ha ha! You'll freak them out!
    In my drawer right now I have a 'copy', a 'completed', a 'faxed', a 'confidential', a date, and a 'scanned'… I'm sure the stamp options are endless – you could get one made up that says "I'm sick of telling you to action these – do it!" to give to your guys?

  11. cat Says:

    good idea – mine would be more like – can you hurry up and deal with this arsehole, or – are you stupid or something?? Or WTF does this mean.

  12. funniest thing I've read all day. 🙂

  13. cat Says:

    yes, and its only 10am!


Leave a Reply

