another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

germs about town March 26, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 4:40 am
Tags: , , , ,

There is this checkout lady I like and I go to her lane whenever possible. We chat about this and that. Food mainly. But she has this terrible habit of having these massive coughing fits. She turns away from you then violently coughs into her hands, sometimes blows her nose, then turns back around and continues scanning my groceries. I'm always hoping she gets it out of the system before we get to the fruit and veggies and she handles them all.

And this morning I had to go to the bank and when I got to the counter Felicity was looking pained. So I said to her

do you have a headache? and she grimaced and rubbed her stomach and said

no, upset tummy.

Oh really I felt like saying – do you think you should be here today then, handing you germs over the counter to possibly hundreds of people.

So when she handed me over my cash and credit card I put them in my purse, walked outside and quickly got out my little bottle of antibacterial handwash and had a scrub.

I was getting cash out to pay for my massage. So I walked into the massage place and I looked at Phee and had exactly the same conversation.

Do you have a headache?

No, sick tummy

Except she had the added bit – I can only handle eating snow peas – as she ate two

I said to her

Are you ok, should you be here?

But she insisted she was fine and off we went. I felt pretty safe in there though because she has it so icy cold I figure not many germs could survive the temperature.

Speaking of temperature. Are we sure its autumn here? Its still so bloody hot. This has been one of the longest hottest summers I can remember. Day after day after bloody hot day.

And I have a head cold. Nothing worse than a head cold when its hot weather. I'm up to that part where one side of your head is blocked, yet your eye and nostril run madly. I feel like a dogs dinner. Whatever that means. If it was Betty's it'd mean leftovers.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

24 Responses to “germs about town”

  1. snoringKatZ Says:

    Was there a local festival where everyone ate bad corn dogs? I always think of stomach things as bad-food-gotchas.I try to cough into my upper arm if I have to cough. Although tonight I managed to turn the wrong way as I was delivering Mr. sKatz's dinner and inadvertently aimed right for the plate. oops. C'est la vie…

  2. cat Says:

    lol, I don't even know what a corn dog is – I do have a very hardy stomach though which is handy – lined with cast iron I think
    I haven't been able to convince my gang to do the cough into the elbow thing, tried to bring it in too late in life I guess.

  3. snoringKatZ Says:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Corn_dog If it goes by another name in Australia, I'd love to know. I'm trying to learn new words that confuse Texans.

  4. cat Says:

    lol – oh them – we call them a battered sav – and yes I'm pretty sure they have the potential to cause a lot of upset stomachs. I've never had one myself.
    sav – as in saveloy

  5. Aubrey Says:

    Sounds like a sinus cold to me. If that's the case, then leave the nose alone. The less you do the better; just let it drain. Sleep sitting up, and don't think scary thoughts – like I did. The last sinus cold I had, I realized that if someone put a gun to my head and told me to breathe through my nose or he'd pull the trigger, I'd be a victim of a head-cold blooded murder.
    It kind of freaked me out.

  6. cat Says:

    Yes, a freaky thought indeed. I don't normally get sinus. My husband has it permanently. I don't think he's actually experienced the sense of smell since he was 12. And believe me, sometimes in the middle of the night when he's snoring away I've felt like blowing his head off.

  7. Katiebell Says:

    What a crazy experience. I also get nervous when people are looking sick. This past summer and fall I fell prey to a lot of swine fluish stuff (almost once a month) and I admit I started getting very cranky with my co-workers who would come to work sick, trying to save vacation time for vacation….

  8. cat Says:

    Lol, you must be nervous a lot! I have a friend who is a pre school teacher and she's always sick. Always has a sniffly nose. I hate being sick, and I'm always really careful about keeping my germs to myself but people are just out there spreading them all over the place!

  9. moonchild26 Says:

    Hey catdogSmoking Baby here! Remember me? It's been a couple of years and I'd forgotten all about that blog I had until I got a message some spammer had left comments there. So I went there to delete those, read back on some of our conversations and thought I'd see if you were still writing – and you are! Wow you are focused! I get distracted all the time and always starting new things, forgetting my past. For the last 6 months I've been publishing blank books, having great fun seeing an idea turned into a real book you can write in! Have a look – http://stores.lulu.com/kezviola. Sales are low so far – probably because I haven't been inspired to be a marketing person. I'm sure they'll make the bestseller list when some famous reviewer stumbles across them some year.

  10. One teacher was bragging that she has over 200 sick days owed to her and another teacher replied "well I have none as you always come to work sick and spread your germs and make me ill!". I think people should stay home when ill, but most Australians seem to think that is a waste of a sick day!

  11. cat Says:

    and kids are always being sent to school sick as well

  12. Gee … with a head cold and all – – should YOU have been out and about?? LOL

  13. cat Says:

    Hey Baby – sure I remember you, long time no see. Yes I always seem to have something to blab about. The journals look great – I like the idea of the Happy Endings one – I don't think I can trust anyone I know to get all that stuff right. Hope they do well for you, actually I remember you talking about doing this back yonder. I'll catch you later!

  14. cat Says:

    oh hardy haha
    lol, I'm very careful about keeping my germs to myself

  15. Denise Says:

    It is really hard for me to get my head around you going into Fall and I'm just enjoying Spring. (I live about 150 miles north of your sister) Being able to read about your life is what makes the internet the most wonderful invention for me. Thank you for sharing your side of the earth! Oh and I think that hot dogs are much better when they are wrapped in Pretzel dough and then baked. Now, that is tasty.
    Denise 😉
    (Have you ever visited your sister in D.C.?)

  16. cat Says:

    Well I have to tell you that doesn't feel much like autumn at all. 5.40pm here and I'm in a singlet and shorts and sweating it out. I haven't been to D.C. yet. I'm hoping to get over that way next year or the year after. My youngest daughter finishes school this year so I'll be able to get away more. Just need to start saving now. Now pretzels are something we don't have here so I'm not sure what pretzel dough is like but everything seems to taste better when its wrapped in some sort of pastry.

  17. Kzinti Says:

    Had that one sided head cold thingy too. Felt like my right eyeball was going to pop right out. Gah! Terrible.

  18. snoringKatZ Says:

    Are you sure you didn't get any of that pizza dough up your nose somehow?

  19. cat Says:

    that is a really unpleasant thought

  20. snoringKatZ Says:

    Well, I saw the photos and thought, "hmm… the kitchen is the most dangerous room in the house and accidents happen and those things are inflating and … oh no!"Glad it was just my imagination doing its thing! 🙂

  21. cat Says:

    I'll have weird dreams tonight where I have dough growing out my ears and nose, and blocking my throat – death by dough

  22. Kzinti Says:

    Thinking about it, that's kind of how my head feels, like it's ready to burst at the seams and ooze out everywhere. Ugh. Yuck.

  23. cat Says:

    lol – I always wonder how the body can produce so much gunk

  24. Kzinti Says:

    It's like shaking a bottle of beer and the foam just keeps coming out, more and more, only in this case it's snot. And your head just feels like someone stuck it in a paint can shaker machine and it's still pinned in there. Bleah…


Leave a Reply

