another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

vinnie March 24, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 7:18 am
Tags: , , ,

This morning our neighbours cat Vinnie was run over and killed.

It was awful and sad and I shall miss him very much.

Lloyd found him and yelled out, so I ran out to check him then went to tell the neighbours. This is their second cat I've had to report dead to them. If it happens again I'll probably be under suspicion.

Anyway he was a really special little character. And I know everyone says that about their cats and thats because its true. I've known a lot of cats over the years and they all have their little personalities and quirks. There doesn't seem to be two the same. And I love them all.

Okay, thats not strictly true. Vinnies predecessor, Monty, I didn't love him. He was a menace, I always had to be on alert, watching the backyard all the time in case he came in. Because he was mentally distured in some way and thought it was a good idea to come into our yard and fight our staffordshire bull terrier. He did it a few times and the last time was one of my most awful memories and I've been traumatised every since. Anyway, he took his final revenge on me by getting himself run over in front of our house and having me find him. God, that was awful as well.

But otherwise I love them all. My daughter said if she dies she wants to come back as one of my cats. All the neighbours cats end up at our place. I sing to them and talk to them and feed them and laugh with them and love them. Hey, my nickname isn't Cat for nothing!

And Vinnie was a beautiful boy. I sort of tried to lure him away from the neighbours after my cat Carl died. I thought I could have Vinnie about without having all the heartbreak that you get when they die. But I have to say that didn't really work because I was pretty devastated this morning.

He would spend his days lying on our verandah, going off every now and then to chase butterflies or beetles, or belt up any girl cats he could find. He and Sabrina from across the road would sit and have long steely staring contests. Then I'd sit on the step and he'd climb onto my lap, purring away wanting a scratch under the chin. And he always tried to come in our front door. Whenever you were coming inside he'd sit in front of you with his nose pressed in the crack ready to walk in. In fact yesterday he bit my foot when I wouldn't let him in. One day I found him wandering up the hallway because someone had let him in thinking he was ours.

So yeah, I'll miss him. Him and his bling. He had heaps of bling on his collar.

And I'd just like to say that people who run over cats, or dogs, on town streets and just leave them lying there are real arseholes. Doesn't take much to get out of the car and check them or move them to the side of the road.

R.I.P. Vinne. You were a good boy and you gave us lots of laughs and you died way too soon.

 

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

13 Responses to “vinnie”

  1. Oh, poor Vinnie. What a handsome boy. When I think of my mother's cats not being around anymore, it breaks my heart. I'd miss them so much. Saying goodbye to them and knowing I won't get to see and smell and touch them the next day is always the hardest part of leaving my mother's house. Well, of course besides not being able to see my mother ; )

  2. cat Says:

    lol, when my cat Carl died I said to Daz – I think I'm more upset about the cat dying than I would be if my parents died – little buggers, they get into your hearts thats for sure

  3. Aubrey Says:

    A good-looking boy; what glinting, golden, green eyes!
    Amen to your judgement on hit-and-run on animals. When I realize how much animals depend on us to be merely responsible people it makes me shudder.

  4. cat Says:

    People just don't think. Maybe I overthink. But if people just realised that some little kid might come out and find their beloved pet not only dead on the road, but run over by more than one car, you hope they'd be a little more considerate.

  5. snoringKatZ Says:

    I'm sorry for the Vinnie-shaped hole in your heart, cat.

  6. Steve Betz Says:

    Ahhh — poor Vinnie, sorry to hear that. And I hope karma will come back on someone that hits an animal in the street and doesn't even stop. I mean, accidents can happen — but that's awful.

  7. crankypants Says:

    Awww, this is very sad. He was a handsome boy. My next door neighbors have 3 cats, one of whom I am especially fond, and I'll be sad if /when he goes and I'm still around. It doesn't matter who they 'belong' to, they kind of make themselves belong to whomever they like.

  8. Crush-Monkey Says:

    So sad! : (
    He was a handsome kitty.

  9. OptamissTIK Says:

    Poor Vinnie. How sad.

  10. cat Says:

    thats true – they just adopt whoever they like – we have another little stray here who moved in from two doors down but every now and then she goes and spends a few weeks with Vinnies owners

  11. cat Says:

    lol, yes, but not too much bad karma for them – I wouldn't want to kill them or anything – just a small acident will do, maybe a gentle knockdown on the pedestrian crossing

  12. Hannahbanana Says:

    Poor Vinnie! Having had our dog hit by a car last summer, I feel the pain 😦

  13. cat Says:

    That must have been so devastating for you – I didn't actually witness the accident luckily. My hands were shaking so badly. An awful thing.


Leave a Reply

