another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

bristles March 23, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 12:17 am
Tags: , , ,

I really wish you could still buy a normal toothbrush.

I just want a plain rectangle head with soft flat bristles.

I don't need an angled, pointy head and I definitely don't need a finger grip on the handle. If you need a finger grip on the handle then you're brushing way too hard and will end up with no enamel.

And I don't want a tongue cleaner pad on the back of the head. I bought one of them by accident yesterday and I don't know why anyone would think its a good idea. Unless they don't wash around the outside of their teeth. Because when I tried to brush the sides of my teeth the stupid tongue cleaner just scratched up the sides of my cheeks. So you sort of have to brush your teeth holding your cheeks and lips right out of the way.

And I especially don't like how the bristles are hard spikes of rubber. All different lengths and angles. Even the soft ones are bloody hard. I was awake most of last night with terrible nerve type pain after brushing. I think those hard little spikes must have rubbed raw all the nerves along one side. I ended up having to get up and have some panadol. Now I'll have to go and buy some sensodyne.

I just want an old fashioned soft bristle toothbrush. Doesn't seem too much to ask for.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

9 Responses to “bristles”

  1. Emjay Says:

    What about children's brushes? That's what I buy – the handles are a bit shorter but at least they are soft and "normal".

  2. cat Says:

    lol, I tried one of those last time – takes a while to get about all the teeth and you have to hold it right on the tip

  3. Nancy Says:

    The only kind I like any more are from Preserve. They make a nice, simple brush and they have one I like with extra soft bristles. The plastic handles are made from recycled yogurt cups.

  4. Catalina Says:

    My dentist still passes out the "old school" brushes – I think it is insane to pay almost five bucks for all that added junk.

  5. cat Says:

    I haven't heard of them – we mightn't get them here – I'll google them – all for anything recycled

  6. cat Says:

    Oh yes, the price!! $5 for a toothbrush – unbelievable

  7. Yeah … I get the freebies from my dentist (which are given to him as freebies from the company).

  8. cat Says:

    Don't you only go to the dentist once a year though? I'd need to be going every couple of months.

  9. twice a year … and we have "extras" from other visits.


Leave a Reply

