another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

clearing crap March 7, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 3:38 am
Tags: , ,

I have decided it is time to get rid of some of the clutter that sits around this house on every available surface.

I'm pretty sure I could throw away 80 per cent of everything we own and nobody would even notice. I know this is definitely true of the linen cupboard.

Everywhere I look there is shit, clutter, stuff, things. Magazines, clothes, books, rubbish, boxes, bobby pins, pens.

So, first will be the area beside my bed.

It currently looks like this.

 

Actually, that book Lonely Werewolf Girl was good. If you like werewolf things. I like werewolves and zombies. But I don't think Martin Millar is that well known in the USA. But he's funny.

So, I'm off to clear it up. Not that I ever throw away books. I find it impossible. I tried to last year. I filled a few bags with books I thought I didn't want anymore but they only made it as far as the garage, where they now live. And I worry about them all the time getting dirty up there, or nibbled by mice.

Anyway while I'm at it I'll try and clear the bed. Because it always looks like this. When I want to go to bed I just gather up all the clothes and put them on top of the books. Then in the morning I throw them back on the bed and look through them to find something to wear.

 

Bed

I can't make any promises though because I always get distracted when I'm cleaning. I find something interesting and thats the end of it.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

14 Responses to “clearing crap”

  1. Ninja Says:

    Thanks Cat. You've just reminded me exactly about how my bed looks! We used to be a lot worse… all our clean, freshly laundered clothes used to get dumped on my bed, too. And the Ninjettes would rummage through my bed every morning before school to find their damn uniforms/socks/undies/brains!

  2. Kzinti Says:

    Aptly named Cat… Ooooh! Shiny thing! LOL

  3. cat Says:

    lol, I do this thing where I take everything out of my drawers to sort out and fold then I get sick of doing it so I just leave it on the bed and live from it there

  4. cat Says:

    well I wouldn't call myself a hoarder yet, just an ignorer

  5. snoringKatZ Says:

    I would like to live somewhere that has maybe four horizontal surfaces. Then I wouldn't have any place to pile stuff. I don't think it's us, cat. It's those damned horizontal surfaces.

  6. crankypants Says:

    that looks way neater than my room, or any room in my house. I could get that done in a minute. Your floor is empty. what are a few books and clothes? haha. it's always easier to clean up someone else's crap!

  7. cat Says:

    Exactly. I have already decided that my next house will have no shelving. No benchtops. Maybe even no lounges. Just walls.

  8. cat Says:

    I don't like to leave things on the floor. Especially clothes. We have a cockroach problem in this town. They come up through the shower drains at night. The thing is, when I pick the books up, I'm not going to have anywhere else to put them except on a different bit of shelving somewhere else. I don't want things anymore. I don't want shelves of things.

  9. Katiebell Says:

    wow, my house looks very similar at times. I suggest that you do get the books that are already in bags to a library or school or somewhere!!! a used book shop?

  10. Being that you are in Australia (on the bottom of the world) I'm surprised all that stuff isn't plastered to the ceiling …I have the same problem with books. Luckily, I also have a large storage room off of my garage. It's getting smaller, though …

  11. cat Says:

    haha – thats what I need – a storage shed, then at least it'd all be out of sight

  12. Margy Says:

    Sounds like a prelude to spring cleaning. I've gone through phases like that. Think of the nice "after" picture, now that you've done the "before" one.

  13. cat Says:

    yes, although it will be autumn cleaning here!
    there is something very satisfying about seeing it all clear and clean

  14. cat Says:

    It never seems worth taking them to a second hand shop – you hardly get anything for them. And we don't have one in town here anyway. I do give some to the library but most I can't part with.


Leave a Reply

