another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

nutty granola February 26, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 9:57 pm
Tags: , , ,

I've been making granola. Although we probably just call it toasted muesli here.

I borrowed a book from the library last week by a woman called Ellie Krieger, who I'm guessing has a cooking show on TV in the US. But I don't think we get her here because I watch a lot of cooking shows on pay and I've never seen her. But its a really nice book called The Food You Crave.And it had this recipe for granola that I thought I'd make and everyone loves it. Around here we just sprinkle it over yoghurt. Well the kids do. I don't like yoghurt so I just eat it dry by the handful.

As with most things, homemade stuff tastes a lot better than the packaged store bought stuff. And its easy.

 

 

So if you're a fan of granola you should give it a go. I added a handful of pumpkin seeds and sunflower seeds to mine before I cooked it.

3 cups old fashioned rolled oats
1/2 cup chopped walnuts
1/2 cup chopped almonds
1/2 cup chopped pecans
1/2 cup pure maple syrup
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 cup raisons (optional)

I didn't use the raisons because dried fruit is nasty and wrong.

So then preheat oven to 300 degreesF – coat a large baking tray with cooking spray (I used baking paper). Combine all ingredients, mix well to coat everything with maple syrup, spread on the baking tray and bake until golden brown, about 30 minutes. Let it cool completely and store in the refigerator for about 2 weeks.

Around here it doesn't last anywhere near 2 weeks though.

And remember people one serve is 1/2 cup.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

16 Responses to “nutty granola”

  1. Doug Says:

    This looks yummy. I've seen Ellie Krieger's show a couple of times. She has a way of making food really look great and simple. When I've tried the recipes the were complete dreck… But I keep trying.

  2. Rev Stan Says:

    Home made granola is definitely the best. I make one without sugar but using honey and maple syrup instead. I don't make it often though because it tends to get eaten a little too quickly…

  3. cat Says:

    Yes, the book is lovely. She's right into fresh and simple.

  4. cat Says:

    lol, yes I found it hard to keep away from it the first time – and it smells so good when its cooking

  5. Denise Says:

    …….and there in lies the catch………Portion size is 1/2 cup…..sighing……and here I thought a CUP and a half sounded just about right……….I know I would LUV the stuff. I can't control the portion so I know not to make a shit load. (I also buy chocolates 2 pieces at a time.)
    Denise 😉

  6. cat Says:

    You'll be thinking I'm obsessed with food!! Sigh, it is hard to stick to the right portions. I must say my half cup is never a very level measure, its always pretty loaded.

  7. cat Says:

    and nutritious!

  8. I adore all those ingredients but as you know off my list for now. I may have salivated over your photographs though….

  9. cat Says:

    maybe you could just cook it and inhale the aroma, then give it away before you're tempted – life without nuts, thats tough!!

  10. LeendaDLL Says:

    it looks so good.but my mother made soooooo much granola in the 70s that I can't stand it now. and i can't stand maple syrup. as if I would have "cooked" anyway (I'm far too lazy)

  11. cat Says:

    I'd never had it before a couple of weeks ago. I'll do it to death for a while then get over it. Maybe, its pretty good though. I don't usually like breakfast, but I can handle this.
    You could eat it raw – it was good raw

  12. Kzinti Says:

    So, is the cup 1/2 full or 1/2 empty? Depends on what's in the cup…

  13. cat Says:

    hmmm, cryptic

  14. Kzinti Says:

    Actually, it more like, "Hey! Who the hell has been drinking out of my cup?" or in extreme cases it's more like, "Hey! Did you spit in this?" <points at cup>

  15. LeendaDLL Says:

    i could do it as a trail mix. so long as there's no syrup or honey i'd probably be okay.i was also off apples & watermelon for many years for the same reason. and i think that's why i never buy strawberries. i love them… but the thought of having bunches of them in the fridge kinda freaks me out – so I assume that goes back to my mom overdoing stuff.


Leave a Reply

