another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

the guernsey milk maids…….out and about January 17, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 6:03 am
Tags: , , ,

You know how there are people out there who take photos of a doll doing interesting things? Out and about in different locations. Wearing different clothes.

And I don't mean like Homebodies little doll (whose name I've forgotten), who went exploring there for a while. I think this doll is called Blythe. Yes, Blythe.  I don't really understand the whole Blythe thing. I have no idea where she came from, who her followers are or what her mission statement is. But people like her. And like taking her photo.

Ok, I know a little bit more now because I just googled her.

Well I'd just like to say that I was way ahead of the times people. My dollies were out there climbing rocks in the outback and having their photo taken, by me, over thirty years ago.

I was looking through some photos and found this. It was from my first ever roll of film I had developed. So I guess it was about 1974.

These are my guernsey milk maid dolls. Not as glamorous as Blythe maybe. But they were working girls don't forget, not models. Now I know they look a bit scared, but they were way out of their comfort zone.

Go me. Trailblazer.

 

 

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

9 Responses to “the guernsey milk maids…….out and about”

  1. homebody Says:

    I kind of remember Blythe. I really like your photo. Look at those sun bonnets! (Was Holly Hobbie a pop culture phenonemon in Australia, too?)
    The little guy who sometimes travels with me is Sailor Babo.

  2. cat Says:

    Sailor babo – yes. Interesting little guy. Blythe is huge, there are whole Flickr groups and photo competitions dedicated to her fun life.My girls here are in their national costume I think. Nan and Papa bought them back from overseas.I don't remember Holly Hobbie being huge here. I know she was around but I don't remember her being 'The Thing" though. But then we didn't really get into cabbage patch dolls either.

  3. Emjay Says:

    Are they the ones with eyes that change colour? It was the sort of thing that Julie C had – she was quite spoilt and had a lot of "new fangled" things I remember. Your little maids are quite cute.

  4. crankypants Says:

    hee hee! Blythe scares me, I have a hard time adding Blythe fanatics to my neighborhood when their avatar is a blythe doll or I go to their page and it's all pictures of Blythe dolls. I don't get it, I think it's kinda creepy.
    Your picture is great, a budding photographer!
    Sailor Babo is awesome.

  5. MexicanRobot Says:

    I think Blythe was first created in the 70s. And people hated her. Then the Japanese re-discovered her, and the world loved her.I'm a doll fan. And yes, I take pictures of my dolls doing different things. But I'm more of a Pullip fan. They're less expenssive and poseable. Anyway. Yeah, that's the wonder of photography. You can take pictures of all kinds of shit and still have some fans out there.

  6. cat Says:

    She looks a bit like a bratz doll – big eyes, not sure if they change colour. I don't know what happened to my milk maids. There was a lavender girl from one of the islands as well I really liked, being a purple freak back then.

  7. cat Says:

    I think I was fairly desperate for things to take photos of so I could get the film developed. There were a lot of sheep and cows as well. And a 24 film seemed to take so long to get through.

  8. cat Says:

    You're right, there's always going to be someone out there who likes what you do. I might start taking Pink Teddy out with me and taking photos if him doing things.

  9. MexicanRobot Says:

    yep. pink teddy would be great.


Leave a Reply

