another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

home December 31, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 12:28 am
Tags: , , ,

Well we're back home and what can I say about Thailand. Only that if you've ever thought about going there, pack your bags and go now.

And all those people who tell you horror stories about the place, well I don't think they've ever been.

I never felt as if the cleaning ladies night steal things from my room, or that people would be trying to snatch my bag from me on the streets. I was never yelled at or assualted by a ladyboy or hassled by hawkers trying to sell me things. I never felt unsafe on the streets at night, I wasn't sick from eating the food, and I'd sucked down a large lime and kiwi fruit crushed ice drink before I remembered I wasn't supposed to eat the ice. And I never had anyone try to sell me dodgy water in a reused bottle. Even though there were a lot of tourists there it didn't seem overcrowded and I never met a local thai person who was anything but friendly and helpful and always had a smile on their face. I even got used to them calling me mum all the time. And they have a great sense of humour.

The food was fantastic. Thai people really love their chilli. Chilli in everything. I ate shrimp pad thai, green chicken curry, lots of spicy noodle dishes and a spicy prawn soup that took my breath away and had Daz running to the bar to get me a bottle of water.

We definitley needed longer there. 14 nights I'd suggest. So much to see and do. Before we went I always wondered why people said they'd been to Thailand three or four times. But now I do. I'm already thinking of going back there but higher up, to Chaing Mai.

Anyway, the time just raced by. I didn't look at a computer or a television while I was away. And 5 o clock just won't be the same now without an apple mohito in the lobby bar at happy hour.

We didn't have a rainy day while we were there. There was one 5 minute downpour one night while we were having dinner.

I wrote a journal while I was away so when I unpack I'll be able to tell you all a bit more about the place and show some photos.

Here are a couple from a tour we did of Phi Phi Island where they filmed The Beach. The water over there is unbelievable. Clear and clean and just the right temperature.

 

 

 

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

34 Responses to “home”

  1. Katiebell Says:

    Photos are gorgeous, Love the color of the water!!!!! Glad to hear you all had a great time!

  2. cat Says:

    the water was amazing – everywhere I went it was so clean and clear, you could see right to the bottom – good snorkelling water

  3. Emjay Says:

    Welcome back…. just in-time for New Year!

  4. cat Says:

    ha, I had a shock when someone told me it was new years eve tonight – off to post your christmas present soon

  5. Ninja Says:

    Bravo, bravo, bravo! Very glad Thailand left such a huge impression on you. I did tell you so, didn't I? That soup you had was called Tom Yum. You can get them in Oz easily.

  6. cat Says:

    Yes, a great place, people there make it – lol, the soup was HOT

  7. Looks great! I might have to add it to my places to go some day list. 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

  8. cat Says:

    If its somewhere you're interested in then add it for sure. I only saw one american family there. Lots of europeans.

  9. Hannahbanana Says:

    It looks amazing. I'm sold!

  10. Worker Says:

    Glad you enjoyed your trip and Thailand is on my list of places to go so it is nice to hear all was good..happy new year!

  11. cat Says:

    happy new year to you as well – and if you go to Thailand, go for two weeks, you need plenty of time, lots to see

  12. cat Says:

    Good – need more people from the USA there (well nice ones anyway) – only met one family from america and they are living in Kuwait at the moment. Lots of swedish there though.

  13. Hannahbanana Says:

    I'm afraid I won't represent the USA very well — though I live there I'm actually English. Do they need more Brits there? Probably not! haha

  14. Welcome home – so glad you had a great holiday! Oh mohito! We had lime mohito as our Christmas drink as we have a lime tree full of fruit.
    Did you eat any airline food?

  15. cat Says:

    lol, we only came across on Brit family and they didn't look very Brit at all, my husband kept calling them The Italian Family and we didn't know who he was talking about for ages

  16. cat Says:

    So refreshing the mohito – much nicer than the lychee capriosca my daughter had, that was very sweetI ate everything that came close to me – the airline food was good actually – all spicy thai food – there was a funny sandwich that we think was chicken that everyone was suss on but I was so hungry I ate that as well.

  17. This is what I love about blogging! Seeing places I haven't been to, but hope to go one day. Thai food is my absolute favorite, and I've always wondered if what we have in the states is truly authentic. I have been so busy for the last few weeks I haven't had time to even check emails, and it was a pleasure to log on and see your Thailand pictures, Happy New Year!

  18. cat Says:

    Well plenty more photos to come, I think we took about 1500 between us, going through them all today. The food is fantastic there. You can sit on the beach and order Pad Thai or whatever. I love noodles so I was having different sorts of noodle dishes for breakfast. And every second shop is a little place to eat. Some of them only have half a dozen tables with plastic chairs but good food. I notice that the thai people I ate with had the chilli dishes then put chilli sauce on top as well. And lots of pork.

  19. Crush-Monkey Says:

    Cat…The water in those photos looks AMAZING!

  20. cat Says:

    thanks yes – lots of fun and funny moments – happy new year to you also, I get to have mine first though 🙂

  21. Hannahbanana Says:

    I love how when you're on holiday you totally name all the other people staying at the same place. When I lived Hawaii I was always naming the tourists on the beach. Once I said to my sister, "What do you think people call us?" and she said, "The fat twins!" So true!!

  22. cat Says:

    lol, we name people after people we know they remind us of – like we were calling The Italian Family, The Frosts, because the mum reminded us of a Mrs Frost we know. And one of the guys who worked at the resort we named Nelson because he reminded me of a Nelson we know.

  23. Rev Stan Says:

    Glad you had a great time. Thailand is a fab place and I've never had any problems there apart from taxi drivers trying to rip me off but you get that everywhere. I'm definitely going back.

  24. cat Says:

    we only had one dodgy taxi driver – we found the tailors to be the most annoying, very persistent – I'd like to go back as well, but north – I have Vietnam on my list next though

  25. Rev Stan Says:

    On the island there weren't any hawkers or shops so it was hassle free but it was Bangkok's taxi drivers who seemed determined to eek as much money out of me as possible. I've done the full on cultural tour of the mainland: Bangkok, Chiang Mai, River Kwai/Death Railway, Ayuttaya and Si Satchinali, all definitely worth a visit. This was my first time on an island and would definitely like to do it again.Vietnam is also on my list but probably not for a year or two.Happy New Year!

  26. Wow I would never had thought of going there on vacation. Sounds like it was a blast…wish I had the money to travel. But I can see it through your photos and your words and that is good!

  27. cat Says:

    Its very popular with Australians. Vietnam is starting to become popular as well. Bali was the place to go but after the Bali bombings people were put off. Same in Thailand after the tsunami, just starting to pick up again now.

  28. You are closer to them then we are so I can see that it would be a vacation designation for you. I so enjoyed your photos and your comentary on the trip. Thanks as I felt like I got to visit Thailand too!
    Some day I have to visit Australia…it is on my list as is New Zealand.

  29. cat Says:

    Yes, although there were a lot of swedish people there, also french, so thats a fair trip for them. I haven't been to New Zealand either.

  30. You haven't been to New Zealand…why?

  31. cat Says:

    Its just never really interested me. Maybe its that thing where you don't visit whats closest to you.

  32. Yes, it doesn't seem so exotic when it is close at hand. We don't see things close to us unless we have visitors.

  33. Red Pen Says:

    I'm convinced. I want to go. Now.

  34. cat Says:

    start saving – although everything is very cheap


Leave a Reply

