another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

days like these December 10, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 5:47 am
Tags: , ,

I was just about to say – thank god its Friday.

But its only Thursday isn't it.

Well I hope there's a cold bottle of wine in the fridge.

You know how sometimes you have a job to do and everything goes wrong? I had one of those jobs this week. It was an order of 20 tiles and everything that could go wrong did go wrong. There was a point yesterday when I felt like taking all the tiles outside and smashing them to small pieces, then seriously hurting whoever was nearby. In fact at that point I would've paid the people to take them away from me.

So I considered lying on the bed and having a quick cry, but I didn't. I sucked it up and got them done. And now they're all packed up ready to post.

And it reminded me of this job I had once. It was my first job when I left school. For an accountant doing boring bookeeping type things.

And he was a dodgy creepy sleazy bastard who fancied me.

And his wife who also worked there was a nasty mean bitter old bitch.

And she in particular made my life hell. She was so mean and twisted that she made me a nervous wreck and I used to do everything wrong and then she'd think I was stupid. She'd just be at me all the time and I couldn't concentrate.

Of course these days I could drag both their ugly arses up for harrasment but back then there was nothing like that. You just had to suck it up.

I left in the end because it was starting to mess with my head.

I hope they both got their comeuppance

oh look, almost wine o clock

anyway, here's a sort of newbie

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

15 Responses to “days like these”

  1. LeendaDLL Says:

    actually, it's still Wed here.i have those sucky days all the time. glad you got through yours without breaking anything!

  2. snoringKatZ Says:

    I know those days and those feelings. The difference between you and me is that you didn't smash the tiles to bits. You're a goddess of restraint and dedication.

  3. cat Says:

    yes, especially my daughters skull

  4. cat Says:

    Hey there Katz, yeah you've had your fair share of shit days. I knew if I smashed them I'd just have to start all over again which didn't seem wise.

  5. "wine o'clock" — luhv it! and one of the nice things about being all grown up — we no longer have to take shit from people (like those previous employers). phew!

  6. Doug Says:

    I've found that often the jobs that fight tooth and nail to get done end up being some of the best work. If these tiles are they, you may find you like them better later. I think they're great!

  7. snoringKatZ Says:

    cat, I still worship you from afar 🙂

  8. Red Pen Says:

    I hear that. Wish it was really Friday. Love the image!

  9. LOL! I got a good chuckle out of how you expressed your frustration with the tiles, I enjoy your humor and the way you look at things. Wine o'clock… that's awesome. Your job with the crazy mean people – not awesome. o_O

  10. cat Says:

    oh I know – I was thinking that as well – it'd be different now. You're so unsure of things at that age – and being my first job and all. So much better being this age

  11. cat Says:

    Yes, problem is I'm a perfectionist which can be a real pain in the arse. And knowing that people are paying for these things, well you can't give them rubbish. And it is satisfying to see a job done and dusted.

  12. cat Says:

    YAY – yes, friday morning and the tiles are wrapped and packed and ready to go to queensland to live happily ever after.
    I am an expert at seeing the funny side of things. Which can be very inapporopriate sometimes actually.

  13. Kzinti Says:

    I found that at work, if I am the equal opportunity asshole and treat everyone like crap, it works out best for me. LOL

  14. cat Says:

    ha, yes I've found that to be a good strategy in my mothering technique

  15. Kzinti Says:

    No favorite. Damn the torpedoes and the kids. LOL


Leave a Reply

