another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

wedding bells December 4, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 3:28 am
Tags: , , ,

I'm sure if Daz had of tried just a little bit harder he could have bought a more difficult wedding present for me to wrap.

Not much harder mind you.

There was a gift registry, he was going to the big smoke, so I said – go and spend about $100.00. And he came home with this weird mish mash of items. He was super impressed with himself because there had been 30% off everything and he was able to get a lot of totally random unrelated items.

I said – couldn't you have just bought one item?

He said – well I could've got the ironing board.

Easier to wrap no doubt, but not as easy to fit in the car.

So I've ignored it for two weeks but the wedding is tomorrow so I had to face up to it today. A lot of sticky tape was used. And I'm not sure a piece of curly silver ribbon is going to make it look better either.

But at least its crap they want.

So this is Emjays son who is getting married. My nephew. It is going to be a huge, long and hot day, that will start with a three hour drive for us to even get there. I'm planning on taking my swimmers to have a splash around in the motel pool between the service and the reception. That will hopefully be followed by a nap. And we have to fit lunch in sometime before the service and all stay clean. Lol, we have to get dressed at 7.30 in the morning, drive three hours in Lloyds old smashed up Magna, eat lunch, go to the service, fill in a few hours, then turn up at the reception still looking clean and fresh.

Don't know what that chances of that are. But it should be a good day and night. Big.

Emjay tells me I should wish for my children to elope.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

15 Responses to “wedding bells”

  1. Dancing Bear Says:

    Have a great trip. Elopement is a good thing. If you got the ironing board you could have surfed on it in the pool and then wrapped it while wet.

    Have a great time.

  2. cat Says:

    lol, thats creative thinking

  3. Aubrey Says:

    It sounds like a thoroughly madcap day, but nothing beats a good reception. Nothing.
    Congratulations to all!

  4. cat Says:

    I think the reception is going to be fantastic and we'll all be sparked up again by then – must charge up the camera battery before I forget

  5. I used to tell my daughters that they were going to have to marry in our garden and that I would throw a tarp over the hills hoist clothes line as I couldn't cope with the formalities. Alas Daughter1's wedding next July is not in the garden and there will be no tarp. The burdens of parents. I suspect though that it is worse when you are mother of the groom as you are the spare wheel so to speak.

  6. cat Says:

    There's this show on tv I've seen a couple of times and the bride has to give over all control of the wedding planning to the groom. He even has to pick her dress. Cake, reception, he has to plan it all and she has no say. Pretty funny.

  7. Emjay Says:

    LOL I think I will be carting my dress around in a plastic bag inbetween appearances. I have to be at son's place by 10am for photos – not keen traipsing around Parramatta in a long dress! Then I have to be at brides place for photos at noon….. I'm looking forward to a nap inbetween church and reception – the dress can go on a hangar then. All this pulling it on and off is bound to rip something ……

  8. cat Says:

    haha – yes we were wondering if there was a handy secluded area somewhere near the church where we can change when we get there. Daz and Lloyd are taking their shirts and putting them on when they get there but not so easy for Lizzie and myself. And at least we don't have Mum with us who will be hot ALL THE TIME. And I've just painted my nails an awful pink colour and wishing I'd left them red but can't be bothered changing it again. Do we have to have a photo taken anywhere or is it ok if we look a bit shoddy?

  9. Emjay Says:

    You might be included in photos on the church steps ….. it's a pretty secluded area anyway – some big trees around or you could run behind the church to change. LOL mum bought lighter clothes to wear.

  10. Ninja Says:

    I'm not ready to face this sort of doo-dat in my clan. But tell you what… I'd almost be happy to fund a very small gathering overseas (maybe Bali or perhaps Vanuatu) and leave the hangers-on behind. These events have a habit of becoming almost as rancid as Christmas gatherings.

  11. Wow! Congrats! 😀 Hope to see some pics of the wedding! 🙂

  12. cat Says:

    lol, so negative! – I've heard of a few people doing that though. My daughter was a bridesmaid at a small wedding on Daydream Island recently which she said was nice. And a friend at the stationery shop told me she was printing up wedding invitations for a do in Thailand.

  13. cat Says:

    camera is charged and ready

  14. Kzinti Says:

    After hosting one wedding for one daughter, I'm buying the other one a ladder and two open ended tickets to Vegas… LOL
    So, how'd the big event go?

  15. cat Says:

    huge! Arabic people know how to party


Leave a Reply

