another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

things that go bump in the night November 25, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 12:04 am
Tags: , , , ,

 

Sometimes, when its late at night, and I'm lying in bed trying to sleep, I feel like walking up to Lizzie's room and saying to her

what the fuck are you actually doing?

Because it sounds to me like she's moving a large herd of cattle through a small obstacle course.

Or sometimes its like hospital noises. You know, random things crashing about, television blasting, phones ringing, laughing. At any moment I expect her to crank up the vacuum cleaner.

And I'm beginning to think she's retarded in some way. Because no matter how many times I ask her to try and be quiet after 10.30pm, she persists in being exactly the opposite.

It seems that she lives in the filth and squalor that only a teenager can live in for months, then suddenly decides she must clean her room at 11.30pm.

This also requires a loud thumping up the hallway past my bedroom to the bathroom, where she deposits an extremely large pile of dirty washing which she is always surprised to find hasn't been washed ready for her by the next morning. It also means a large pile of towels to be washed, some of which feel suspiciously like they have never been used, just left on the floor for a while.

Now here it is, 11am and she's still in bed. Meanwhile I had to be up at 5.30am to fit a 30km bike ride in before my day even began and she'll be up soon wondering why I need an afternoon nap.

I wonder if you can have morning tea naps.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

24 Responses to “things that go bump in the night”

  1. Ah kids – Son is up all night and sleeps most of the day. He is better on the bedroom front since his big sister did a huge cleanup in his room a couple of years ago. He has kept it spotless ever since – probably doesn't want another invasion of privacy! Daughter1 would have a snooze from say 7pm-1am and then get up and clean her room…and then complain of being tired for the next 6 months!
    How often do you bike 30km?

  2. cat Says:

    There was a mouse in there a while ago which kept her cleaning it for a while, but she seems to have forgotten about that. And now that we have a spare room she just went and slept in there anyway.I've just started the biking. So only yesterday and today. I was running before that but I have a sore foot so I'm resting it. But I was running five days a week so I'll try for that as well with the bike.

  3. Wow your exercise program is fantastic! You will be leading the dancing at the old people's home for years! You are motivating me to rise from my couch! Wish it wasn't so hot.

  4. cat Says:

    Well my aim is to be fitter at 50 than ever before. And even though thats over four years away I have a more pressing motivation. I am going shopping for swimmers on Saturday. shudders.

  5. Kzinti Says:

    LOL. damn kids… <mumble>

  6. cat Says:

    I always thought they'd grow up and go away

  7. Kzinti Says:

    Oh my God. Do NOT make me laugh that hard again. Now I must go find a mop and bucket to clean up the mess… Good news is that I won't have to pee for a long while now.

  8. OptamissTIK Says:

    You're doing 30km bike rides?!!! Damn woman! You're putting us all to shame here!!!Yeah, teenagers are grubs who needs LOTS of sleep. I wish I could sleep to 11am on my days off.

  9. Kzinti Says:

    Um, a hammer to the head goes bump in the night. Just saying.
    <innocent whistling>

  10. cat Says:

    Go me. I'm on a mission. Lost 6 kilos so far, about 4 to go. Haven't even had to give up wine.She only has one period on Wednesdays so gets to laze away most of the day. Brat.

  11. LeendaDLL Says:

    I'm a night person, which drove my day family crazy (though I was FORCED not to make noise at night – fortunately there were no computers or cell phones at the time; and I was only ever allowed to listen to music through headphones – never, regardless of the time of day, through speakers).conversely, my sister's morning grooming ritual consisted of repeatedly picking up and setting down her comb in a manner that sounds like she was holding one tip on the counter, flexing the comb, and causing the other tip to make an extra loud smack on the counter. And why she had to pick it up and set it back down so damn many times, I'll never know… click-SMACK, click-SMACK, click-SMACK…and my mother… the day after I started working night shift (going to bed around 3 or 4 am), she decided to start vacuuming at 7am – which involved repeatedly bumping the vacuum into my bedroom door.I now live alone and am surprisingly quiet… almost never play music, keep the TV at a volume that guest say they can't hear (but I find rather loud), and almost ever talk on a phone. and even though I'm awake by night, I never do chores at that time for fear of waking up neighbors (I only wish they felt the same on weekend mornings!)

  12. cat Says:

    lolol, the comb, I can just imagine how annoying that was, like the dripping tap torturenow I have the tinnitus I find all noise extremely annoying, yet I have to have noise around me to block it out – but the clanging, sharp noises I can do withoutpeople just aren't meant to live with each other

  13. Ninja Says:

    Yeah, what is it with teenagers and piles of bloody clothes and towels everywhere??

  14. cat Says:

    a clean towel for every day I think – oh and you have to have a towel for your body and a towel for your hair apparently

  15. Doug Says:

    I think you should do your vacuuming at 5:30. Perhaps the hallway outside her door 😉

  16. My daughter is a night person. She would have all damn day to do her laundry and instead she'd start it at 10:30 at night. Being half deaf the kids could get away with more when it was just me and them. Sometimes they would push it however and I'd come out of my room so mad I could only growl. They'd look at their friends and say, "See! I told you she growls." Then they would be quiet because they knew that was my last straw.
    Currently I am kid-less again, yea! I don't let my hopes get too high cuz once a mom always a mom. Sigh.

  17. cat Says:

    haha – don't you worry, if she has been particularly annoying the night before I don't try to be quiet at all. Lots of door slamming, talking to the cat outside her bedroom window, that sort of thing. But I do have to keep in mind that I then have to put up with a cranky teenager for the rest of the day if I annoy her too much.

  18. cat Says:

    They don't seem to care at all if they're keeping you awake. Or maybe its just that they can't believe someone could want to go to bed as early as I do. I get up early in the mornings and used to sneak around like a mouse being all considerate trying not to wake anyone. But now I think – why.

  19. Rev Stan Says:

    I don't have teenagers but I had a nutty* upstairs neighbour who was a night owl. He ripped up all his carpets and took off all the doors to his built in cupboards and put them against the windows then at night it would sound like he was dragging heavy boxes and moving furniture around on the bare boards.One night he decided to attach a fan to the radiator so the hum as it swept backwards and forwards vibrated through all the pipework in my flat.The nights he didn't make any noise I still couldn't sleep because I'd be laying in bed waiting for it to start.He was carted away by the men in white coats after scaring the girl in the flat opposite his by banging on her door late at night and yelling "I know you've got bombs in there, this is the CIA". He's much quieter now he's back although he does have a tendency to pace and the carpets definitely aren't back.I know that doesn't directly relate but your post reminded me.*Yes I know mental illness is a terrible thing and I should be sympathetic but when someone makes your home life hell for nearly a year you'd happily help do up the straight-jacket.

  20. cat Says:

    lol, sounds like my neighbour – he hasn't been dragged away yet – but he's a miner so works a lot of strange shifts and used to often be up doing what sounded like building works through the night. We thought he might have been burying bodies in his walls.

  21. LeendaDLL Says:

    dunno – i haven't spoken to them in more than 15 years. i think my mother died; no idea about anyone else.

  22. LeendaDLL Says:

    i'm coming to realize how awesome a solo life really can be. i tell people that's why the booty call situation worked out so well for so long – I got my 1 or 2 days a month of companionship and the rest was all blessed solo / do whatever I want time!

  23. cat Says:

    yes, I haven't lived on my own for over twenty years now – but I do get to have the day on my own most of the time so thats good, don't know how I'd go being alone all the time though, I like to know there are other people here, so long as they leave me alone

  24. Rev Stan Says:

    *laughs* Yep the whole dead body thing crossed my mind too. I could write a book on all the weird things he did…


Leave a Reply

