another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

the day of the mulberry pie October 27, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 12:47 am
Tags: , , , ,

And what a day it was.

A friend of mine has a mulberry tree.

Daz went and picked mulberries because I said I'd make him a pie.

I googled a recipe and set to work. I even made my own pastry. It seemed pretty simple. Mix your berries, sugar and flour together and toss them in the pastry, whack a lid on top and cook it.

And when it came out of the oven, it looked magnificent.

 

 

So I thought, (luckily),  that I'd cut a piece out and take a photo of it looking warm and delicious. But it didn't look warm and delicious at all. It looked dry and more like a spotted dick.  I guess the berries didn't have enough juice in them, because it hadn't come out and mixed about with the sugar and flour. Everything was still sitting in its place. A bunch of berries amongst big lumps of flour and clumps of sugar.

So. I cut the top off the pie, scooped out the filling, put it in a saucepan and cooked it up with some alcohol I found in the pantry. Kirsh I think. Anyway it was looking good then and I spooned it back into the case. But when I tried to put the lid back on I could see it was never going to work.

So, I decided to turn it into a pastry crumble top.

 

 

Nice save me.

And in the end it turned out well. And it was warm and delicious.

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

16 Responses to “the day of the mulberry pie”

  1. OptamissTIK Says:

    You have no idea how good that bottom photo looks to me right now – I bet it tasted yummmmmm!!!!!

  2. cat Says:

    It was gooood. Just the weather for it today as well.

  3. piscesgal Says:

    Mmmmmmmm pie. 🙂

  4. Crush-Monkey Says:

    Oh my!!! That looks so yummyyyyyyyyy!!!!!!

  5. cat Says:

    mmmmmmmm indeed

  6. cat Says:

    anything wrapped in pastry looks good

  7. cat Says:

    something very satisfying about making pie

  8. Rev Stan Says:

    Great save – just the sort of thing my Mum would do. That or cover it with custard. Custard saved many a dessert in our house.

  9. cat Says:

    Yes, mothers are great at saving the day. Once I made a birthday cake and decorated it and then found the cat eating the top off it. It had to take on a whole new look after that.

  10. Rev Stan Says:

    *laughs*. I made cheesecake in cookery class at school – from scratch, sieving cottage cheese the whole lot – got it safely home in a tin. Gave the tin to my brother to hold while I unlocked the back door, went inside followed my brother who tripped on the step and dropped it. All stayed in the tin fortunately but wasn't a pretty-looking dessert. Was gutted.

  11. cat Says:

    Haha – can imagine

  12. cat Says:

    lol, well I'll give the pumkin pie a miss thanks – we don't do that over here

  13. cat Says:

    haha – thanks – it was a pretty damn good pie


Leave a Reply

