another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

QotD: City Life vs. Country Living October 17, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 8:43 am
Tags: ,

Which do you prefer? City life or country living?

I'm easy on this one. I love both. I'm a chameleon. In fact, just call me Leonard Zelig.

But I can tell you one thing about country people in this town.

They have no idea how to use a roundabout.

We moved to this town from Sydney. And when we moved here there wasn't even a set of traffic lights in town. But we did finally get a set. And things seemed to go smoothly. Actually, I think they arrived in town at about the same time as Mc Donalds.

But then they put in a roundabout.

And approaching it drives me INSANE!! Talk about road rage.

You have to keep in mind that some people who live in in this town have never been out of this town.

I have awesome roundabout skills. I overtake people on roundabouts. But most people here approach the roundabout with a lot of stopping and starting and the flow thats supposed to come with a roundabout just doesn't seem to happen.

Sigh. 

Disappointing because I love it when traffic flows like it should.

I must use as an example my friend Jem. (Because she's away this weekend and won't read this). Once we were going around a roundabout and I said

you have to put your blinker on when you do that

no, you don't,  you don't have to use your blinker when its a small roundabout

I rest my case.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

10 Responses to “QotD: City Life vs. Country Living”

  1. LeendaDLL Says:

    i live in a city with a roundabout and everyone seems to believe "roundabout = no rules, total free for all"! It clearly says to use blinkers. No one does. People feel it's completely appropriate to exit from the inside (it's about 3 or 4 lanes wide) without looking, blinking, pausing, or even considering that other cars are on the road. and they don't exit to the outside lane, no… they cross 4 lanes to exit to the inside lane. i go far out of my way to avoid the damn thing.

  2. Snowy Says:

    Just wait until I get the chance to tell Jem you said that. I hope that's a two lane roundabout you're overtaking on.

  3. cat Says:

    lol, sometimes – I do the left lane overtake

  4. cat Says:

    lol, hate to think of a four lane roundabout here – my mind boggles – bad enough in a two lane one, I always enter them with my hand on the horn

  5. An Ex-Expat Says:

    I spent perhaps 12 years ago or so, about 2 weeks driving in the UK (was living/driving in Japan at the time so lefty driving was ok with me) and while initially getting used to a roundabout was a challenge, in about 2 or 3 days I got used to them and actually felt they allowed traffic to flow more smoothly than traditional traffic signals do.
    Also realize though that any road construction can only handle so much traffic (painful aware of that here in the DC metro area) so how well these roundabouts handle present-day traffic volume is of course another matter.

  6. cat Says:

    I like them much better than traffic lights and they work pretty well as long as everyone uses them properly

  7. Kzinti Says:

    I prefer the green acres to the urban sprawl. At least if things go badly, I can always go hunting to survive…

  8. cat Says:

    they each have good and bad points though

  9. Rev Stan Says:

    Hi Leonard, I don't drive (I can but I chose not to) but can understand the frustration of people not using roundabouts properly. I've noticed that often when a set of traffic lights is out in London, the traffic flows far more smoothly. I know lights are often set to slow traffic down in London which is really frustrating when you are on a bus or a bike.One vehicle management system I saw somewhere in Europe, think it was Germany, was when two lanes goes down to one they have signs telling drivers to merge zip-like. There was never a huge traffic jam and people trying to force their way into the queue or diving up the outside and cutting in. Everyone took their turn and it worked brilliantly with the flow of traffic barely slowing. Shame it isn't used more.

  10. cat Says:

    lol
    there is something very satisfying about traffic flowing as it should – another thing that drives me bonkers are slow drivers in the right hand lane


Leave a Reply

