another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

school reunion September 29, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 4:22 am
Tags: , , ,

I've been away at a school reunion.

It was all too hilarious.

I didn't have a clue who anyone was.

I last saw these people thirty years ago when we were fifteen. And I think I went expecting them to still look the same. And when I was thinking about it this morning I thought it would've been a good idea if everyone pinned to their shirts a little photo of themself at the age of fifteen.

I must say the women had aged much better than the men. The men were all fat and bald. I couldn't pick them. As soon as they said their names it was obvious who they were though. Some of the girls had hardly changed at all.

But there was a lot of laughing and drinking and dancing. I have no idea what music the band played, but we all seemed to dance a lot. It was a bit like a school social actually. Except this time we were allowed to be drunk. We didn't have to sneak out to the car park to skull a bottle of blackberry nip or passion pop.

And I had to cut a cake. That was unexpected. They had an anniversary cake and the school captains and vice captains had to get up and cut it. Not only that, but they wanted me to put on a school uniform that someone just happened to have brought. But I said – no way. But Kim, who was the Captain, she put it on.

I had mixed feelings about going but I'm so glad I did. And I thought all night people would just be asking where you lived, what you did, how many kids you had, but it wasn't like that at all. it was just like picking up where we left off.  People sort of hung out in their old groups. We had a very rowdy table. But after dinner everyone moved around talking to different people. I had a very long conversation with a man I didn't remember at all. And I still dont, but he seemed like a nice guy.

We're already thinking that a fifty year reunion sounds good.

 

 

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

12 Responses to “school reunion”

  1. LeendaDLL Says:

    oh, eegads. i was really hoping the cliques would be over by the time my 30yr reunion came along!! at my 10yr reunion we DID wear pics of ourselves in high school… our badges all had our senior photos on them. everyone kept telling me I looked EXACTLY the same, which sucked royally cause I was 100% different inside.My 30yr is just 2 yrs away.

  2. cat Says:

    We haven't had a reunion before – took us thorty years to get ourselves organised. Do you know there was a woman there who was a great grandmother!!!

  3. G Says:

    oh, oh, now it makes me wanna tell youguys about my "reunion" which was…well it didn't exactly happen..but it's hilarious all the same.
    Maybe I should put up a hood only post…
    or a: Read it once then kill yourself setting….hehehh I will have to think about it.

  4. G Says:

    Oh and your banner….that shit is going to probably give me nightmares!!
    Original though….

  5. cat Says:

    oohh, I'm intrigued – do tell

  6. Shutterbug Says:

    I'm glad you had such a nice time. :o) I went to my ten year reunion, and was pleasantly surprised. The "jerks" seemed to have mellowed, and everyone mingled with everyone else. My fifteen year is coming up next weekend, but I already had plans to do something else at that time. I'm thinking I'll probably go to the twenty year in another five years. It amazes me how quickly these reunions seem to come about now……time is passing much too quickly!

  7. cat Says:

    I didn't realise people had then so often. I think if I'd have gone to a 10th or 20th I wouldn't have bothered with the 30th. But ti was definitely interesting to see how people turned out.

  8. Tree Says:

    I love your blog Cat, it's had me laughing out loud. Cheers x

  9. Catalina Says:

    I went to my 20th HS reunion and then married my HS boyfriend almost 2 years later.

  10. cat Says:

    Hi, thanks – yes I often feel like I'm trapped in a bad comedy!!

  11. cat Says:

    Oh really! Had you seen him at all in those twenty years? There were two couples still married who had been childhood sweethearts, but I don't think I saw any new romances evolving on reunion night.

  12. Catalina Says:

    Nope – never saw him until the night before the actual reunion dinner (at a bar). I still roll my eyes at my own story – it is so corny! 🙂


Leave a Reply

