another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

sushi balls September 22, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 3:36 am
Tags: , ,

I'm addicted to sushi balls.

I made them for dinner sunday night and now I can't stop eating them.

I just had four.

I wasn't a fan of the sesame and poppy seed ones myself. I always feel like seeds aggravate my weird undiagnosed throat problem, but they look pretty. 

 

 

break it open and you find smoked salmon, cucumber and wasabi, and a dash of mayo

 

 

Its the plain ones I can't stay away from. Sticky and yummy. I guess the seeds stop your fingers from getting sticky.

 

 

But thats easily fixed with a fork

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

26 Responses to “sushi balls”

  1. Waterbaby Says:

    those are riceballs — onigiri – nigiru means "to grasp." I have a story when right before New Year's (the *big* day in Japan) I made dozens upon dozens and very late one night distributed them amongst the homeless, like a secret Santa leaving them outside their boxes in a Tokyo underground train station so they were there when they awakened. Onigiri hold special memories for me.

  2. cat Says:

    well in my cookbook they were just plain old sushi balls nice idea though, the secret santa

  3. Waterbaby Says:

    Oh, and the sesame seeds are purely decorative. (I prefer riceballs wrapped in seaweed myself.) They're not sushi balls because sushi is fish and there are onigiri with non-fish centers such as umeboshii (pickled plum), chicken salad, takuan (pickled daikon) …

  4. Waterbaby Says:

    It's an important distinction, one that you might make were one to confuse, say, a taco with a meat pie.

  5. Um… I want one.Or Two…How about three…They look delicious!!

  6. cat Says:

    better be quick – two left

  7. Doug Says:

    I love these too! Ymmm…

  8. cat Says:

    double yumm, next time I think I'll do some with prawns and avocado in them

  9. M-----l Says:

    whateverYou are awesome, Cat.

  10. cat Says:

    They are very easy – I'd never made any sort of sushi thing before – I'll send you the recipe.

  11. M-----l Says:

    I went up and had sushi for dinner just because these looked so tasty.

  12. cat Says:

    I could live on sushi. And sushi balls. I think I'll buy a sushi recipe book.

  13. Mmmm…. have you ever tried urchin sushi? They're the best!

  14. cat Says:

    well I don't even think I could find urchin where I am!

  15. cat Says:

    Yes I thought more wasabi next time as well – I didn't want to waste the wasabi – you know how you buy things, use one tablespoon then leave it in the fridge for months until you throw it away? – so I mixed up some wasabi, soy sauce and ginger and marinated my salmon fillet in it before I cooked it – that was good as welllol, that recipe made a LOT of sushi balls though didn't it, I was eating them for a week

  16. Ehem, I won't tell, how short it took me to eat them all alone. If I like something, I can eat A Lot of it, at any time of the day. Next time, it'll be half the recipe for me, though.Good idea for the marinade. I thought, when I used the wasabi up, I could replace it by ordinary grated horseradish, which you get for few cents the glass, here, in any supermarket. They didn't taste that different to me. Good old fashioned grated horseradish just seems to be the uncool and forgotten twin brother of wasabi to me. (Hope, no sushi hardliners are still reading.)

  17. P.S. The ladies in my book club liked them, too (with the double amount of wasabi, this time). πŸ™‚

  18. cat Says:

    I made some prawn and avacado sushi on the weekend and put too much wasabi in. I could feel the back of my eyeballs burning when I ate them!

  19. Ouch! Mine where like that, when I first tasted them. Fortunately, I prepared them the day before we met, by then they were perfect.

  20. cat Says:

    does the wasabi tone down with time?

  21. At least mine did so very much over night. Maybe it's absorbed by the rice and the fish.


Leave a Reply

