another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

Funky Fridge Art – Ceramic Tile Magnets September 19, 2009

Tell your fridge its time to get funked.

Because I had this great idea.

Ok, well it wasn't really my idea. But once someone suggested it to me I certainly took the idea and ran with it.

There is a shop near Perth that sells my tiles and the owner sent me an email the other day asking if I would make her some magnets made out of the coaster size tiles. Thats 4 x 4 inch.

And I said – ok. Because she's paying so she can have whatever she wants. I had considered it before but I thought the 4 x 4 inch would be too big. Too chunky looking. Plus I thought they might be too heavy. But I made a couple the other day and they have stayed put and look really cool. You have to think of them less as magnets and more as little pieces of art for your fridge. You can't get cheap 3 x 3 tiles and 2 x 2 is too small.

And a friend of mine has already ordered some for christmas presents. She's having a baby soon so I shall plant a photo of the baby's mug on it and then all the family will get one.

So yesterday I made some using these vintage SciFi covers I bought. But any of the tiles could be made as a magnet.

And by the way, do you know, obviously not – unless it was you. The other day someone sent me an email asking me how I make the tiles and what glue do I use and what spray and bla bla. Yeah, right, I'll just send that right over.

Anyway I thought I'd just put a few out there and see if they go.

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

12 Responses to “Funky Fridge Art – Ceramic Tile Magnets”

  1. SweetMisery Says:

    cool idea. How about a few rock stars? Hope it takes off and you make lots of money.

  2. cat Says:

    thanks – yes you could put anything on them really – have to watch copyright issues though

  3. OptamissTIK Says:

    They are so cool! Are you taking orders then?

  4. cat Says:

    Sure am. You don't think they're too big then?

  5. OptamissTIK Says:

    No, I think they're good. How do I go about ordering?

  6. cat Says:

    the ones I've done so far are heremadeit shop

  7. They are going to be big sellers!

  8. Ninja Says:

    Great work! Yeah, tell that person who wanted details of your work etc, where they can stick their query. Are you anywhere near the Hunter? cause I'll be there from Tue onwards. Happy to bring small/light stuff back to WA for you if it helps.

  9. valerie Says:

    these are great! i love them! good idea…

  10. cat Says:

    fingers crossed

  11. cat Says:

    yes, it was a bit forward I thought – I just sent an order off to WA thanks – it takes ages for stuff to get there – 7 days at least, I can send things to the US faster

  12. cat Says:

    this is good then – people seem to like them – can never be sure until you put something out there


Leave a Reply

