another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

small town talk September 18, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 12:47 pm
Tags: , , ,

I was reading a neighbours post on Vox recently and they were saying that they lived in a small town. But it was funny because they called it a teeny or tiny town. And they had a population of 17,000 people. And I live in a town with that same population, and to me its a metropolis.

Until I was fifteen, I grew up in a town with a population of 2,500 people. Then we moved to a town that had a population of 5,000 people.

It was wild.

Doubled, within a day.

When I was 18, I moved to Sydney. And I loved it. I loved being able to walk around in a crowd of thousands and be unkown. I loved being able to spend my weekends walking around the city with no shoes on and having no one give me a second glance. No one saying to my mother – are you Cats mother? lol, she told me she never knew whether to say yes or no to that.

So I worked and lived there for a couple of years and then I met Daz. Then we had Kimba. And when she was 6 weeks old Daz came home one afternoon and said

hey, do you want to go and live in a small dusty country town, full of coal mines and cowboys?

And I said

sure, why not.

And here we are.

Been here for 20 years now.

And I'm back where I started. Where you can't go anywhere without anyone and everyone knowing you.

But I don't mind it really. Its a great sort of place to raise your kids. They can't do a thing without you finding out about it.  Christ, didn't I find out about that this week. But its a good thing. Actually its an amazing thing. My daughter only has to think about doing something and I have Daz ringing me telling me that someone told him,  that someone told her, that our kid was thinking about doing something. Then before she knows it, she's sitting there minding her own business and I storm in and say – WTF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! are you thinking.

So anyway I had this idea, because I'm full of ideas. I thought that every now and then I could show people, being you people, my friends and neighbbours, the headlines of our local paper. Front page and back page. So you get an idea of the big news issues affecting the town.

So here is the front page of todays paper

 

And I'd just like to point out that one of our mayor candidates also owns the local Video shop.

So I can't take him seriously.

And this.

BUT – the thing about country towns is that they always have a lot of brilliant sportspeople. And in fact I was just saying to Daz tonight:-

We have a lot of really sucessful sports people for a town of this size, in a wide range of sports. And I think thats true of Australia in general. For our population, we have a lot of great sports people, over a wide range of sports. And if you look into their history, you'll see that a lot of them came from country towns.

So to the back page of our paper.

Ahhh, a great win by the mighty roosters – go you good thing. They were wearing black arm bands because one of the players brothers died after a long battle with cancer. R.I.P. Tom.

 

012

But we have all sorts of champs here

 

And I just want to make sure no one thinks I'm making fun of my town.

Because I'm not.

Because there have been numerous times over the years when I've thought

thank god I'm a country girl

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

18 Responses to “small town talk”

  1. crankypants Says:

    For Australia's population, you also have a lot of great actors & musicians!!
    Maybe instead of Mongolia I'll have my retirement yurt in Australia. 😉

  2. An Ex-Expat Says:

    Small towns are not for everyone. I have a cousin, born and raised in Southern CA, who moved with her husband to a small town in Vermont, where winters were not only long she said, but the only thing in 'town' was a pizzeria.

    Naturally everyone knew everyone else's business, which drove her crazy. She's back in California, BTW.

  3. Lily Alice Says:

    Wow, I was going to say I live in a small town, but I just looked it up and it's 29 thousand people. So, not at all. However, you would never know it if you were here, at all. Previously we lived in a town with about 3 thousand people and this feels about the same, only with more shopping.

  4. Waterbaby Says:

    I'm with Expat, small towns aren't for everyone, includ. me, I couldn't *stand* everyone knowing my business — or most times ANYONE knowing it! – lol … but be that as it is one of the fun aspects of your blog for me is the small-town element. I've not lived in a town quite that small but have certainly traveled in or spent time in towns ranging from tiny tiny tiny, population 200, up to 12 million, crammed into a little space (when I lived in Tokyo and *there's* an experience and a book or two! …)

  5. Shutterbug Says:

    I live in a small town as well (the current population is 2, 847). I grew up here, moved away for a few years, and then ended up right back where I started. I love it, which is why I moved back. The hubby and I decided a long time ago that this is where we wanted to raise a family someday (he's from the same town).
    It's annoying at times when everyone knows my business, or asks about all of the members of my family when I'm trying to do some shopping, but I'm so used to it by now that I don't really even give it a second thought. I have a saying hanging in my kitchen that you would probably appreciate…."The good thing about this town is that if I don't know what I am doing, someone else does!"
    I loved the pics from your paper….I think ours is a lot like yours, too. In the summer the local country fair winners are often big news, and the altercations that people find themselves in are often reported with waaay too many details! I think it's nice when the "little" things can be "big" things….instead of reading about murders and other crimes, I usually read about cows or town meetings. Wow…this is a really long comment! :o)

  6. Rev Stan Says:

    Great post, love the newspaper. My 'small town' was a population of 20,000 – the same number of students at Liverpool University while I was there so it made home seem very small.I was terrified of London but work led me hear and I'd hate to live anywhere else. The country is beautiful but I like my amenities, entertainment and above all else variety. I also like feeling anonymous while still part of lots of little communities too (I've probably been to my local dry cleaners 10 times in 9 years and the owner always recognises me). And it's amazing the number of times I've bumped into people I know…I'm going back to my 'small town' tomorrow. But just for the day, to visit my Mum. That's quite long enough.

  7. cat Says:

    Yes, thats true isn't it. They all leave here though and go to the USA and end up with funny accents. You could definitely yurt it here – somewhere on the north coast called Byron Bay.

  8. cat Says:

    Yes, definitely has it bad side as well. Like the time the rumour went around that I was a disinherited former drug addict.

  9. cat Says:

    I was thinking the same thing last night. There doesn't seem to be much difference between 5,000 and 17,000. But a few more shops. We don't get many interesting shops here. Woolworths has the monopoly on that side of things

  10. cat Says:

    If we hadn't of had children we'd have stayed in Sydney I think. But where we were living wasn't a great place and it we thought we'd rather raise them in a town environment. Daz lived in Sydney all his life before that. We aim to go smaller next.

  11. cat Says:

    lol, yes, that saying is perfect We've been living here twenty years now and I still don't consider myself a local though. Being a mining town there are always people moving in and out. But the real locals all seem to related or friends. You can't say a thing without it getting about. Once a woman asked me if I'd do her school canteen duty for her and I said I didn't do canteen. Then the next time Daz was at little athletics someone said to him – I hear Cat doesn't do canteen. lol.

  12. cat Says:

    Every now and then we go mad and head off to Sydney for a weekend of shopping and eating. But I must say one good thing about here is that you can go out anywhere in town and always be able to walk home. Thats good once the kids start going out, don't have to worry about them driving around with drunk idiots.

  13. An Ex-Expat Says:

    Sheeesh! lovely. 😦

  14. Rev Stan Says:

    That is a very good point. It was similar in my home town except my best friend lived in a neighbouring village. I bought myself a scooter when I was 16, fortunately for my parents I wasn't really into drinking then so they didn't have to worry about be riding home tipsy.

  15. kris Says:

    I grew up in a very small town as well. Population probably 2 or 3,000. There are great things about the size but the deep south bible belt is difficult to deal with when you're very left of center. If people see dreadlocks on a white person around here they suddenly shit themselves. They don't know how to handle individualism well.

  16. cat Says:

    lol, yes, that would be difficult – people are pretty cool/tolerant where I am, saying that though we don't have much cultural diversity here, most people who move here from other countries stay in the cities

  17. Hi, I am that neighbor. 🙂 It made for a good post for you and I enjoyed reading it. It brought back memories of the newspaper we had, very similiar!
    It was a small town of 17,000 spread out over probably 20 miles of farm country. We had one grocery store which raised prices horribly and a Kmart which couldn't or wouldn't keep things stocked. Movies and all other shopping was all an hour and a half away. It's bigger than I thought I guess but it always had the small town feel and it hasn't really changed a whole lot over the years either. Small towns do have their advantages.
    However there weren't many services available. Now I find myself in a town with a population of 181,698. I never imagined myself in a city this big as I am a small town kind of girl. I am amazed at the variety and to tell you the truth, I haven't gotten out of my corner much here. Luckily the neighbors here are the old timey sort of neighbors like what I grew up with. Plus there are things availalbe here for me like no where I've lived before and I'm very thankful for that.

  18. cat Says:

    Oh good, thanks for letting me know. You read so many things on Vox then can't remember where you read it! Our town sounds similar to your country town but ours is surrounded by mines not farms. And we have Big W not K Mart ruling us here. And I found the same thing as you when I moved to Sydney. All that stuff around you but you seem to stick to your own neighbourhood anyway. I love visiting Sydney, but I'm always glad to get home. I'm a real home girl.


Leave a Reply

