another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

QotD: The One Historical Event I’d Like to Witness September 12, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 10:22 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

If you could have personally witnessed one event in history, which one would you want to have seen?

I would want to have seen the one I witnessed today!!

The day we won the AFL Black Diamond Grand Final.

Not me personally, but Lloyd played in it, and if your children participate in a sporting event, it feels as if you've played the game yourself.

This morning I had the sick tummy. When we got there and sat down, I couldn't take a photo because my hands were shaking.

I did manage to get a shot of the bar though. Because it was pretty cool. And rowdy by the end of the day. Daz wants to hire it for a party. That top level was packed by 2pm.

 

 

011

 

And it was hot. 30 degrees. So the boys were running around for almost two hours in that heat.

So they ran out and had the pre game huddle like they always do.

 

 

113

 

The ball sat waiting for kickoff

 

051

 

And the mascot did… whatever mascots do. Which seemed to be run around and get chased by small children. Nice socks.

 

047

 

Half time came and it looked grim. We were losing 59 to 24. The coach would have been yelling, because he tends to go ballistic in that situation.

There was a brief moment of panic when I saw one of our guys fall down and I said – OH NO, HIS LEGS GONE. And poor Daz jumped up and started running off because he thought I was talking about Lloyd. Thats because Lloyd has something called myositis ossificans. That means that he has torn his thigh muscle almost in half and now it has a bone growing in it. Thats why he shouldn't have played. But they strapped him up and he did. Even though he wasn't supposed to play for three months. But as I said, he's a 19 year old young man who must make his own decisions about these things.

 

So when I saw this happening I was a little concerned

 

064

 

But it was all good. And it was pretty cool how they had that physiotherapist come and rub them all down.

And can you believe that just when the final bell went, the other team were leading by 5, and our man had just caught the ball and he had to kick the goal to win the game. No pressure on him. And he kicked it.

And they were joyous

 

 

080

 

And they recieved medals

 

 

095

 

And they sang loudly

 

 

 

And it was a good day.

And I had my first dose of sunburn for the summer.

And I just found this on top of my washing machine.

 

 

123

 

 

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

14 Responses to “QotD: The One Historical Event I’d Like to Witness”

  1. Emjay Says:

    Congratulations to Lloyd – I hope his leg is given time to repair itself now. Is he sporting over summer – cricket? I love that bar!!!

  2. Candy Sparks Says:

    i love the reward for you on the washer… lol

  3. Bookmole Says:

    At least it got to the washer, and wasn't left festering in a heap somewhere!Well Done Lloyd! And Well Done Cat for telling us about it so well! I coulda been there!

  4. L Says:

    congrats! my mum was always the same when any of us were doing anything competitive – and it was always a family win or loss, not just the one competing.and that bar does rock – much better than a party bus!

  5. Shutterbug Says:

    Love the pictures! They are such a nice addition to your happy story (well, excpet for the laundry part) 😉

  6. cat Says:

    No he doesn't play cricket. He used to play basketball but I don't think he'll have time with Uni. And that leg really needs to rest otherwise he'll tear it right through and I think then you have to go and have it stitched. We were thinking of travelling Australia in a motor home when we retire but now Daz thinks one of these is a much better idea

  7. cat Says:

    At least it was on top of the washing machine I guess. Once he put them in the washing machine and shut the lid and I found them about three days later. The smell when I opened the lid, well, you can imagine, three day old teenage boy footy socks.

  8. cat Says:

    It was a great result. And it is a big family thing. I guess because you spend so many hours driving kids to and from training and games. Especially being in a country town like we are, you sometimes have to drive hours to a game.

  9. cat Says:

    Thanks – I still haven't washed them. Just got up and saw them again. Must get onto them after my coffee.

  10. LeendaDLL Says:

    every time you talk about this, i think of my coworker who was expected to go to the Olympics for soccer but was sidelined by injury. he later tried for an All American team but the injury went perm and his pro career was over before it started.soooooo happy this all worked out and your boys won.and make sure and let me know when that party bus is hired. i'll need enough notice to fly over. that thing looks like FUN!!

  11. cat Says:

    Everyone wants to live on the party bus!! No one would want to be the driver though.And thats the trouble with injuries like that, they never seem to heal. These football players, they leave it too long to get treatment because they don't want to miss a game or they come back and play before its healed properly.

  12. LeendaDLL Says:

    drink enough and we won't need a driver – we'll just think it was moving the whole time!

  13. cat Says:

    lol, that reminds me of these harbour cruises they have in Sydney – they just go out a bit in the harbour then stay there, don't cruise anywhere, but no one seems to care – as long as there's plenty of grog

  14. LeendaDLL Says:

    as i was typing, i was recalling a booze cruise i took with a friend. the only distinct memory is when it started smelling of oil and i looked out to see we were near a big oil ship. next memory is my still drunk friend dumping a big bag of mylar confetti into my car. i never did get it all out.


Leave a Reply

