another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

sweet dreams are made of this … part 2 August 20, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 8:55 pm
Tags: , , ,

I woke up last night, at about 2am, because a cockroach was running around on my arm.

This was not a pleasant thought.

Every time it happens, well I shouldn't say every time, because its only happened twice. But thats two times too many. Both times its happened I have been reminded of that episode of ER, when the guy had the cockroach stuck in his ear.

Because I don't want that to happen.

I'm considering wearing ear plugs to bed just in case.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

28 Responses to “sweet dreams are made of this … part 2”

  1. Shutterbug Says:

    Ewwww! That would mess me up for a good, long while. *shudder*

  2. An Ex-Expat Says:

    That is NOT something nice to wake up to

  3. cat Says:

    No, I could've done without it!

  4. cat Says:

    I'm hoping I don't sleep with my mouth open

  5. piscesgal Says:

    Eww,I'm going to sleep with one eye open tonight!

  6. cat Says:

    lol, well you'll have to keep the light on as well, or you still won't see him, you'll just feel the little scratchy legs on you

  7. Aubrey Says:

    After that, I would sleep with my eyes wide open, sitting straight up, with a rifle across my knees.
    Good god, I'm surprised you weren't turned into a pillar of salt!

  8. cat Says:

    surprised you weren't turned into a pillar of salt!LOLolololWhat I need is my daughters little mini foxy who chases cockroaches, kills them then rolls in them

  9. Design Shark Says:

    Oh my god. There was a House episode with a cockroach in the ear too. That was TERRIFYING!

  10. OptamissTIK Says:

    Jesus you're a brave woman. I would be dead from a heart attack by now if a cockroach crawled on my arm. Even thinking about it makes me feel sick!Did you get back to sleep?

  11. cat Says:

    lol – as big as your hand!!

  12. cat Says:

    Straight back to sleep. See, I was having this dream (about vikings) and this thing woke me up running about on my arm and I didn't even turn the light on, I just flicked it off with my nail. But then I woke up more and thought, no, that couldn't have been, but I'd better check, so I turned on the light and THERE IT WAS. But I obviously wasn't fully awake because I lay down and went back to sleep without even killing it. So, its still in there somewhere.

  13. OptamissTIK Says:

    Wow, you're tough. I can't believe it had the nerve to climb on you though? I always thought they actively avoided humans… I hope you get the little bastard tonight!

  14. cat Says:

    lol, well I hope I don't see him tonight myselfI always used to tell my kids that cockroaches didn't walk on carpet and couldn't climb beds, but I guess that was a lie.

  15. Waterbaby Says:

    yech. just yech. {scratches skin}

  16. cat Says:

    but it wasn't a rat, so thats good isn't it?

  17. Waterbaby Says:

    good hardly describes it. spectacular! speaking of which, you just reminded me of an incident about which i've been meaning to blog …

  18. a friend was once woken by a mouse in her hand…either would freak me out. Maybe keep the vegetable oil on hand to flood your ear if required! Oh and call the pest guy! Got to love the warm weather!

  19. Ninja Says:

    You're going to like this. A few years ago, my mum had a tiny centipede crawl into her ear when she was asleep. She woke up of course and couldn't figure out the scatchy sound. My sister took her to the doc and they found out what it was. The doc had to put some solution in her ear to "flush" the critter out. Of course, it scratched around even more before settling down. Only then could the doctor gently extract the visitor. Of all the shitty things that could happen, that one still has me shaking my head.

  20. cat Says:

    lol, the pest guy – you just reminded me of him – Daz is friends with our local pest control guy and he arranged for him to come around here once, but warned us that we were not to stare at him because he was horribly scarred from something. Well, we were all nervous wrecks, expecting The Elephant Man to turn up. Of course when he did show up it was probably just a bad case of acne but we all had the giggles so badly he probably went home and slit his wrists.

  21. cat Says:

    OMG. Well you know what Ninja, I'm not liking the sound of that AT ALL!!!

  22. L Says:

    ew ew ew ew!! i cannot believe that you were so calm. i go into hysterics when i see them. i would have spent the rest of the night up hunting the bastard – and you can bet the entire house would have been woken up and made to help!

  23. cat Says:

    lol, well I don't know why I was calm – although we do have a few around the house at the moment so maybe I'm used to them – this town has a lot, I think I mentioned before the pest control guy said its something to do with the drainage system of the town – they come up the drains in the shower

  24. Paxton Says:

    Blech! Have you considered fogger?

  25. cat Says:

    whats fogger

  26. Paxton Says:

    Maybe they don't have it where you are. It's roach killer. You set off the canisters in your house with the doors and windows closed and leave for a few hours. The fog gets into the walls and crevices and kills all the little buggies.

  27. cat Says:

    Oh yes, we have that sort of thing but its not called that. We did have to use it once, spent hours beforehand trying to find all the cats to make sure weren't going to lock one in with it

  28. Paxton Says:

    Oh, yeah, that wouldn't be good!


Leave a Reply

