another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

Offal August 5, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 5:19 am
Tags: , ,

All this talk about Haggis, well it hasn't made me hungry, but it has made me think of my father. He was a lover of all things offal. Before he had a stroke that is and went in entirely the other direction. He even briefly embraced the Pritikin way of eating. But I don't think anyone could last on that for long. Or could even want to.

However back when we were kids I remember him eating anything they could scrape or cut out of a lamb or beast. He loved black pudding, brawn, tongue, pigs trotters, tripe, all that nasty stuff. But none of that was what caused the stroke anyway. I'm pretty sure the 4 packs of smokes a day had something to do with that. And probably the dripping sandwiches. Honestly, these people who have lived through wars, they'll eat anything.

Except fish head soup. He told me once that when he was a boy in England, that the school he went to would serve fish head soup for lunch on Fridays. He said he was astounded the first time they served it up. He'd always thought fish heads were only used for bait. His words were that is was – bloody awful stuff.

And a fitting picture I made ages ago for some reason I can't remember. I think I just liked the groovy lads and lassie. That was our pet sheep, bunting barney. I think dad accidently killed him. But he didn't become haggis. Just sunday baked dinner.

 

 

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

17 Responses to “Offal”

  1. Waterbaby Says:

    nice info about the dad

  2. Emjay Says:

    All these years I've believed Barney just died of old age! I love black pudding (also known as blood sausage here) but none of the other items you've listed. I remember mum cooking tripe and the smell would permeate the house for hours & hours. It was really disgusting! Sometimes he ate tongue from a tin. Nan used to make brawn and pickled tongue – both nasty in my opinion!

  3. Back when I ate meat, I didn't think haggis was so bad. (But then I also used to like liver with onions.)

  4. Vegemite is still kinda out there for me. when i was in 7th a teacher brought it back from a visit to sydney. i still remember the taste. But admitedly its not as bad as the piece of cow heart i ate inadverdently

  5. cat Says:

    I can't stand vegemite. Its very unaustralian to say that. But they've made a new variety that has cream cheese type stuff mixed through it and I tried it and didn't mind it. because it didn't taste like vegemite at all.

  6. cat Says:

    he's full of interesting info

  7. cat Says:

    I've never been a fan of any offal, never appealed to me, I think Mum made me eat a bit of liver every now and then. Everything gives you cancer!!

  8. cat Says:

    lol – I remember the smelly tripe house – and Lizzie complains that the house stinks when I cook salmon, she should've been there

  9. cat Says:

    lol – I think I'll stick with our hangover cure of a hamburger and coke thanks. Tripe soup sounds awful.

  10. LeendaDLL Says:

    Hey…. you're on the main [this is good] page again!!

  11. cat Says:

    I saw that – they don't change that bit often enough, its been there a while now

  12. cat Says:

    lol, to each their own

  13. piscesgal Says:

    Jack, my problem with offal is that, and I have heard this comment on several travel/cooking shows,is that if it isn't cooked correctly it tastes like the part of the cow it came from, if you get my drift. 😛

  14. I remember my grandmother making steak and kidney pie a lot when I was a kid. I loved the taste of the kidney until I found out what it was. I actually made a pie for my brother's birthday a few years ago as he had fond memories of them from childhood too.
    The Enid Blyton books contain references to various bits and pieces like tongue. My kids found the whole thing rather amusing.

  15. cat Says:

    Dad loved steak and kidney pie – but it was more of a pudding I think – there was suet involved


Leave a Reply

