another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

Brum Brum August 4, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 8:47 am
Tags: , ,

Oh happy days.

My new car has finally arrived. And it makes me happy.

It is so small and it feels a bit like driving a go kart and I feel like a rally car driver.

Actually what I feel like is Brum. Do you get the show Brum? Its a kids show about a little car that has a lot of adventures. And thats just what this feels like. And I love pushing the horn. Because it makes this happy little beep beep. And it wouldn't even offend a sensitive ladybird.

Such a fun car.

So this morning I thought I'd hit the highway and see how it went on the open road, because it really zips about town. So I thought I'd go to the bottle shop in the next town. About 40kms away.

So loving it. 120kms per hour no worries. Never mind that our speed limit is 100 kms per hour. I wanted to test it out overtaking on a hill.

It sure is a mighty mouse.

I've already had the rear spoiler put on it, Friday it gets tinted windows and Monday it gets mag wheels. Super cute. You know I've been driving that big old family saloon for so long I'd forgotten how much fun it could be to drive a car. Before I had kids I owned a pink volkswagen and I loved it. And it was still ok after two kids, but once I had the third, it was just  impossible to fit two child seats and a baby capsule in it. Plus a double pram in the boot. But, sigh, you have kids and sacrifices have to be made.

But do you know what makes this whole deal even better?

JD (Daz's work partner) bought my old car for his wife and she just adores it. She loves it. She's getting the dents and dings out of it and loves it. This morning I was driving Lizzie to school and she went – hey, there's our car, and Sal drove past with her kids in it.

Everyones happy.

I'm not kidding, I did a U Turn in this thing and I was still on the wrong side of the road! You can turn it on a coin.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

23 Responses to “Brum Brum”

  1. Doug Says:

    Nice. Go Brum!

  2. Snowy Says:

    You sound like a kid with a new toy. Come to think of it, that does look like a toy, Cat.

  3. Emjay Says:

    Nice colour; cute car.

  4. cat Says:

    I couldn't quite capture the colour – its called sky blue. It is cute though and much bigger inside than you'd think. Daz can sit in there with plenty of head room. he couldn't fit in the toyota yarris.

  5. Steve Betz Says:

    Very cute car! Good color too. Have fun!

  6. PeteGraham Says:

    That's a beautiful car. So sweet! I hope you have many many good miles behind the wheel.:)

  7. Waterbaby Says:

    How fun! Plus everything worked out great with the old car for all! Is this a brand-new car? Or a used? Do you like the new car smell? I don't. I remember when I first bought my Subaru (new), I took her on a road trip that included the wide open roads of Montana (my favorite place to drive) and pushed her to her max speed to help season the engine. Man I was in heaven!

  8. cat Says:

    Yes its new and I'm very happy that my old girl found a good home. I don't notice the smell much. Only when I first get in. Small road trip coming up on Sunday.

  9. cat Says:

    On some of the major highways – like between Melbourne and Sydney you can go 110kms per hour. Buts thats the fastest. We live in a big mining area so there a re always lot of huge trucks speeding along which can be scary – wouldn't like them going much faster than 110

  10. cat Says:

    I was keen on the green as well – it was like the blue, but green, but I'm glad I went with the blue now.

  11. Crush-Monkey Says:

    Great color! Congrats! Enjoy your new wheels!!!!! : )

  12. I'd prefer to drive in Australia, then! I once had to sit in a car with a guy going more than 200 km/h. I was so relieved, when I got out of that car (with shaky knees).Luckily we have a speed limit for trucks, at least. I think, they are not allowed to go faster than 80 km/h on highways.

  13. cat Says:

    so far so good

  14. Design Shark Says:

    Congrats! It's quite cute!!!

  15. cat Says:

    thanks – whattdaya mean quite cute – its super cute!
    hey, don't forget to have a "real" tim tam while you're here and tell me how they compare to the US ones.

  16. Design Shark Says:

    So, we have had a few real ones here. They are actually about the same as they were at home. I wish the insides were a bit gooier. We've been told the cool kid thing to do it bite a bit off each end then drink a tea through them for warm, gooey, happiness.

  17. cat Says:

    lol, I used to love bananas – you mean the little yellow banana shapes – I grew out of them when I was about ten, don't you have them in the US?

  18. Design Shark Says:

    Nope. We have something similar at home called Circus Peanuts. They're my favorite at home. 🙂

  19. Ninja Says:

    Very nice! Nice shade of blue. Runs on the smell of an oily rag hey?

  20. cat Says:

    you bet – 6 litres per 100 kms


Leave a Reply

