another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

Vintage Image Ceramic Tile Coasters July 31, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 2:18 am
Tags: , , ,

Pardon my blatant plug of a title, but I'm doing a test.

See I'm not sure how well Vox rates in the various search engines. So for people like myself, who are trying to sell things, I'm not sure how much use vox is.

So say I have a set of four ceramic tile coasters for sale at my madeit shop, and they have been made using vintage photos of moulin rogue girls taken by Papa in 1964, mixed with some vintage theatre posters. And say that each coaster measures 4 x 4 inches and comes with felt on the back.

So lets just say that. And then we'll see if anyone turns up here after searching for such a thing.

How long does it take for "things" to get picked up by search engines anyway? Or do you have to ping them or something.

I think blogger is better for that sort of thing – isn't blogger owned by google anyway? hmm, wonder if that matters. And who the hell is Bing!!

Maybe I should have a blogger blog just for the tiles and coasters. I have a website that directs people to the madeit shop but I'm just trialling that for six months to see how much traffic comes its way.

Any ideas? And is it your title or your content that is more important. What about tags, do they matter?

Oh, here are the coasters anyway – pretty cool

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

24 Responses to “Vintage Image Ceramic Tile Coasters”

  1. M-----l Says:

    For reasons I haven't quite figured out yet, my posts tend to show up fairly high on Google. I've run a couple tests and found many of my posts in the top ten within just a few hours. I use a lot of tags, but I'm not sure if it's tags or keywords in the posts and titles that feed into Google.(I have a stat counter hooked up to my Vox and I often see something called a googlebot showing up as a visitor. I think that guy's involved somehow.)Cool coasters, by the way. I saw one you sold to Homebody and it looked like a quality product. Good luck increasing your business.

  2. cat Says:

    ok – a googlebot, might look him up – within hours is promising though because somewhere I read said it could take months.

  3. M-----l Says:

    I just did a search of the following words: vintage ceramic tile coastersYou came up #40 on Google with a link to this very post.

  4. Ivysgrandkid Says:

    wow those coasters are soo cool!

  5. cat Says:

    must go look – although thats a bit deceiving because they're not really vintage coasters – maybe its the title thats important then

  6. cat Says:

    thanks william

  7. LeendaDLL Says:

    I find that most vox posts show up extremely high in google searches. i believe the tags are extremely important. you might try adding another tag of "vintage image ceramic tile coasters" and see if that brings you higher. also, maybe add tags of the individual words.i have no idea if it will work – it's just a theory

  8. LeendaDLL Says:

    nevermind… i commented before i googled. you came up as the #1 result in my google search!

  9. cat Says:

    Ok – I'll do that. Thanks 🙂

  10. cat Says:

    Was that for here though – or the madeit shop site? What did you search for exactly? I find yahoo to be fairly useless and ninemsn.

  11. Waterbaby Says:

    I defected from Blogger; my overall experience with it sucks. And, again from my own experience, searches return more hits on Vox than Blogger as well. Bing is a Microsoft search engine. (Need I say more? lol – spoken like a true Mac-er) so I can't speak to its performance.

  12. Waterbaby Says:

    p.s. The tags are very important. And really, the returns on Vox have way outnumbered Blogger; I wouldn't waste my time with the latter personally.

  13. cat Says:

    Hmm, it seems to be where all the crafty mummy types hang, thats all, so I thought maybe thats where the action is. The one thing I don't like about vox is how you can't get into the code and edit it.

  14. Waterbaby Says:

    Lots of folks turn to Etsy. Or do you already operate there?

  15. cat Says:

    No I stick to the australian version. Its called Madeit. Its only new but hopefully will take have similar success. But I don't put everything I have on there so I want to make sure people can still see all I've got besides whats on there, so then they can contact me and say – hey can I have that other one. Can you put slideshows of photos here on vox I wonder in the sidebar

  16. LeendaDLL Says:

    It was google and I search for "vintage image ceramic tile coasters"you were the #1 result

  17. LeendaDLL Says:

    sorry…. doh… this vox post was the #1 result on google

  18. cat Says:

    oh goodie – so its the title of the post itself that must be important then

  19. Waterbaby Says:

    I ran a test using Tacoma Beer Society and my two related postings came up on like No. 5 on Google's first page … not because of the heds but the tags.

  20. cat Says:

    ok, I'll go and check out my tags

  21. It's been said before, but I'll put in my two cents worth, anyway. The tags are crucial, as many and precise as possible. Which is why I hardly use any, for I want to stay in hiding. 🙂

  22. cat Says:

    lol – you should be showing off your beautiful photos!! Ok, I'm going to have to go back and re tag.

  23. kalita Says:

    Can you put slideshows of photos here on vox I wonder in the sidebar

    Sure can! Here is one I found but there are a few around: http://geo-vox.com/photowidget/photowidget.html. Looks like you can sort them by tag as well so another benefit to re-tagging all your photos.

  24. cat Says:

    Thanks Elizabeth, I'll definitely check that out. I have photos stored at the google place, whatever its called, picasa I think – and they have a slideshow option that you can embed but I couldn't get it to work properly. It was too big so I resized it but then it messed with my madeit badge. Woud be handy if you could have widgets in both side columns, not just one. What would be best is if I could get to the code and mess with it.


Leave a Reply

