another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

always the bridesmaid July 14, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 10:25 pm
Tags: , ,

 Kimba, and her friend Riley, are going to be bridesmaids for a friend on the weekend. On friday morning they will fly off to The Whitsunday islands to get the job done.

And on Sunday night I was in bed, minding my own business, when lloyd walks in the door with these two dresses and says.

Here are the bridesmaids dresses.

Yes, I said, here they are. Did they feel like going for a car trip?

Don't you know about them?

Nooooo, what about them?

Kimba sent them back so you can do some repairs on them. One has a rip and one needs the straps taking up.

Sneaky, devious child!!

I immediately get on the phone to her.

Have you ever actually seen me sew in your 21 years?

No.

Well thats because I can't sew!

But, I'm not one to back away from a challenge so I got out my trusty sewing kit and set to work. You never really know when you're going to need some green glitter and a map pin do you. Hmm, no black cotton.

 

But I got the job done. I fixed the ripped bit and I shortened the straps. And they're even almost the same length.

And Jem was there, admiring my sewing skills, passing me the measuring tape, offering support, drinking coffee, that sort of thing.

And as I held up the dresses to admire she said

Do you know what would be really funny?

What?

If we put on the dresses and took photos of ourselves.

And you know what?

It was pretty funny.

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

17 Responses to “always the bridesmaid”

  1. OptamissTIK Says:

    Great photos!!! Well done on the sewing too!

  2. cat Says:

    I figure my sewing only has to see them through the ceremony and the first two drinks – then no one cares.

  3. what? you didn't put the big beads from your sewing kit on them? LOL! i love that you two put the dresses on and took some photos. tooo funny.

  4. Emjay Says:

    I thought you were going to write that they forgot to pack them!! Yeah – sewing is not a strong point in the family.

  5. cat Says:

    lol, aren't those beads lovely – I think I'll save them for something really special. I did consider sewing that little red rose on the strap for a joke, but I wasn't sure how far her sense of humour would stretch.

  6. cat Says:

    ha – well thats out of my hands now – I've sent them back – why do brides always pick such awful dresses for their bridesmaids anyway?

  7. Candy Sparks Says:

    *claps* great work… and ladies you look great in them… its nice to fit a dress you know…

    candy

  8. Waterbaby Says:

    great pic! my burning question reading this was why didn't she repair it herself?! hell, if she's old enough to be a bridesmaid and hold a drink, she's old enough to hold a needle and thread!

  9. cat Says:

    because I'm her mum and thats what mums do

  10. cat Says:

    We were lucky that they were just stretchy – no zips or things so we could squeeze into them. Big old ugly bow on the front though

  11. Jaffnut Says:

    Well done! I hate sewing. I guess brides pick such dresses so that the bridesmaids don't out shine them. I was once a bridesmaid in a wedding party where we selected our own dresses (the couple were very laid back and penny pinching), and people thought I was the bride! I learned my lesson – make sure you dress below the bride (although it would have helped if I knew what she was wearing).

  12. cat Says:

    lol, thats funny

  13. L Says:

    lol – my mum would have made me fix my own dress, so you get total kudos for doing it for kimba! and i love the pics – your right bridesmaids dressing are always awful! best way to say them is to ham up the pictures – of course, the bride generally doesn't feel the same way…

  14. cat Says:

    well we're hoping the bride doesn't see these photos until she's well and truly hitched

  15. L Says:

    whoops i clearly shouldn't post before work at 6, i just re-read my comment and it makes no sense! sorry!! i meant 'you're right bridesmaids dresses are always awful' and 'the best way to save them is to ham up the pictures'…. and right you are, hopefully she doesn't read your blog!

  16. You and Jem look gorgeous! 😛 (the design of the ribbon on the bridesmaid dresses look a bit awkward though… )

  17. cat Says:

    yes, too chunky


Leave a Reply

