another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

more packaging July 8, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 5:32 am
Tags: , ,

I'm drowning in packaging.

I know we're all supposed to be more environmentally aware these days, and I think people generally are, but I don't think they passed the message onto the manufacturers and retail giants.

Its very frustrating.

I buy this brand of cat biscuits, its just a no name brand. And I know, I know, I don't actually own a cat. But there always seem to be a lot of hungry neighbours cats on my verandah. And again I know, I know, that they're probably only there in the first place because I put out the biscuits.

But thats all beside the point. The point is I buy the biscuits and they come in a box that I can recycle. And they have for years. Then last week I buy them, open the box and the biscuits are now inside a plastic bag, inside the box. Why did they feel the need to do this. In this climate of environmental awareness!! Did they have so many complaints from people saying – hey, your cat biscuits are great, but they'd be much better in a plastic bag, that they buckled.

I bet they'll have to put the price up now to cover the cost of the plastic. Doesn't matter, I won't be buying them anymore.

Dishwashing tabs are another annoying one. They come inside a box, then individually wrapped in either plastic or plastic trays. And the other day I bought some and they were all wrapped in some weird plastic that melts away in the dishwasher because I guess people don't like their hands touching raw dishwasher tablet.

And tomatoes – I just went to buy some tomatoes and they come in a plastic tray, wrapped in plastic.

I'm really on a mission to cut down on packaging, but its not easy, there seems to be more of it showing up everywhere. recycle, reuse, reduce.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

18 Responses to “more packaging”

  1. Waterbaby Says:

    Maybe the biscuits are put in plastic bags now to keep out the bugs and other yukkies?

  2. LeendaDLL Says:

    obviously, the cats were complaining about the biscuits being stale.ever ordered office supplies? lots of boxes put in larger boxes and stuffed with paper to keep the smaller boxes from shifting around. i bought a sewing machine and it arrived the same way – well packed in a sturdy box, inserted into a larger plain box with paper to fill the gaps. ANNOYING!

  3. cat Says:

    But you can tip them into a tupperware if you're worried about that.

  4. cat Says:

    I don't think you can say you've really experienced packaging until you've bought a barbie doll

  5. and some of the packaging is so secure that one has to have a weapons arsenal to open the damn thing. So much wastage.

  6. cat Says:

    Toys are the worst. Hate to think how many christmas morning hours I spent trying to get a doll out of a box. Or the barbie van – my god, I'm still recovering from that.

  7. Doug Says:

    90% of all trash is packaging. It serves purposes that have nothing to do with the consumer, such as control of loss (theft or spoilage), advertising, etc. Retailers should allow us to un-package in the store if we wish and return it all to its source.

  8. cat Says:

    Yes, I saw something about that on tv recently – shops that had bins where you could unpack your "stuff" and leave the packaging. We don't have anything like that here. We don't even have a very good recycling system. people don't know what they can and cannot recycle and end up contaminating huge loads of it.

  9. Waterbaby Says:

    sure; perhaps the maker was thinking of all-inclusive protective packaging that could be helpful to customers.

  10. cat Says:

    I don't understand how it would be helpful though. Once you cut it open to be able to pour the biscuits, then the biscuits are still open to air and bugs and whatever.

  11. Waterbaby Says:

    The box has a pour "spout"? The biscuits aren't removed by reaching in through the box opened at the top (thereby also allowing you to fold down the plastic), like, say, cereal?

  12. cat Says:

    no, it has a spout, so you have to reach the scissors in and cut off the corner I guess, then pour – which is stupid anyway because when you tip back upright they all just spill down between the bag and the box.

  13. Waterbaby Says:

    ah. perhaps their designer is newly out of school. 😦

  14. Oh I hear you. Kid's toys are the worst, imo. I think Doug's idea is marvelous!

  15. oh wait… i wanted to say that i bought a couch a few blocks from my home, right? in the store it was on the floor, all couch-like and everything. but when they delivered it (the one from the floor) it was entirely wrapped in plastic. ???they had wrapped it in plastic, put it on a truck and drove the 1/2 mile to my house to deliver it.

  16. cat Says:

    lol, the banner concerns a few people – I asked my daughter yesterday what I should call the tiles I make and she said – fucked up weird shit.
    thumbs down to plastic!!

  17. PeacefulWmn9 Says:

    Almost everything these days is over-packaged, not to mentioned packaged so tightly, one needs a mini-chain saw to get to the actual product!

    Karen

  18. cat Says:

    lol – too right, this morning I even had trouble getting into a new toothbrush


Leave a Reply

