another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

QotD: Happy 4th of July! July 5, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 12:43 am
Tags: ,

What does the 4th of July mean to you? How are you celebrating?

Well funny you should ask.

As you know I live in Australia, country town NSW type of Australia. And its actually the 5th of July. And 4th of July means not a thing to me and I didn't celebrate it at all.

However I was out. Having a few drinks and a curry. And I did have a packet of chips as well.

And then I was walking home and I saw this outside one of the pubs.

 

So I guess we do celebrate it.

Well these boys did anyway. They were just leaving the pub when I was taking that photo and they said – take a photo of us, take us.

And I have no idea who they are, but its a nice photo of them. I might take a copy down and pin it on the pub wall in case they go back.

So here are some aussie boys, celebrating 4th of July, in country NSW.

 

 

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

29 Responses to “QotD: Happy 4th of July!”

  1. This is what I love about Australians – we just love to participate – any excuse any time!
    Do take the photo and put it up in the pub I think those guys would get a real thrill – unless of course they told their wives they were working overtime!!!!

  2. cat Says:

    Lol, they can't be married can they, they are just babies! But I know they are local because I asked them where they were from.

  3. Snowy Says:

    Well, I think they're terrorists. You can tell by the secret code they giving with their hands. And terrorists always have beards. The unbearded one is in disguise. Hmm, maybe I've been visiting too many right wing conspiracy sites, do you think?

  4. cat Says:

    lol, well you can never be too careful I guess – maybe I should send a copy to the government

  5. Design Shark Says:

    Hahaha, I agree with Flamingo. I love Australians. I cannot wait. Less than 3 days and I'll be on your turf!!! We even get to go to Sydney now!

  6. Waterbaby Says:

    What'd they do, put down their pints for the photo?

  7. OptamissTIK Says:

    You should take the photo to the pub! They look really happy, and like they're having a great night. I'm sure they'd love it.

  8. cat Says:

    oh wow – how exciting, that came around so quickly, and just when you need it as well

  9. cat Says:

    No, we were outside, on the footpath – and we don't drink pints here

  10. Jem Says:

    nice shot, thats what I like about our town, the friendly locals.

  11. Jem Says:

    ps how was the curry?

  12. cat Says:

    except the ones who kick your head in that iscurry was HOT!! Could feel my intestines burning away all night

  13. Jem Says:

    yeah was going to write that, curry is good for metabolism i think we should have some at the sleepover.

  14. Ninja Says:

    I do wonder why we make such a fuss about July 4th when it's not actually a date of any significance in Australia? A bit like Halloween and trick-treat. What's all that about?

  15. An Ex-Expat Says:

    Any reason to have a drink is as good as any other reason. 🙂

  16. Design Shark Says:

    Indeed. Any suggestions on "must sees" in Sydney on a very limited time frame?

  17. Waterbaby Says:

    even with the British ties, eh? what are they called there?

  18. cat Says:

    We have schooners here. Or middies is you want a bit smaller. Guys would order a schooner and the ladies a middie.

  19. cat Says:

    Oh I refuse to acknowledge halloween – the first year kids knocked on the door expecting me to have lollies I amost gave them a good talking to. All I had to offer was a salada with cheese.

  20. cat Says:

    Yes well here it definitely is. Australians love drinking.

  21. cat Says:

    Well there's a new baby elephant at the zoo, born a couple of days ago. A lot of people go to Darling Harbour and the Opera House. You could go to Circular Quay and take the ferry to Manly. A walk down Oxford Street for some shopping.

  22. Emjay Says:

    Oh – walk over the Harbour Bridge on the Bridge Walk (it goes over the actual arch). It's something I've never done but I've recommended it to everyone I've known who has gone from here and not one has regretted doing it. Have a great time! Cat: you would be hard pressed to find anyone outside the Embassy celebrating Australia Day here! Just another excuse to increase the bar take and shouldn't they have been serving hot dogs instead of curry?

  23. cat Says:

    lol – well I was at the Indian Restaurant and I'm pretty sure Carl (the owner) has little interest in hot dogs or 4th July – the guys were at the pub I walked past on the way home

  24. Emjay Says:

    LOL – well, that shows I didn't read every sentence!!

  25. Waterbaby Says:

    Interesting. Here the pints are the larger and the schooners smaller, i.e., the ladies' choice (never mine, of course).

  26. cat Says:

    425ml in a schooner here

  27. Waterbaby Says:

    a smidge less than a pint here.

  28. They're either terrorists or they're from South Central Los Angeles, throwin' gang signs. Yo.

  29. cat Says:

    and they seemed like such nice young men


Leave a Reply

