another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

hello sweetie June 3, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 4:14 am

I'm just back from lunching with my mother. We met in a town half way between us. We met at the picture framing place because she wanted to get some tiles I made for Dad mounted. We had to get it done because he keeps saying he'll be dead before he sees them. So we did that, looking good, and went and had lunch.

And while I was waiting for Mum to get in and get organised, the cafe owner put a form and a pen in front of me and asked if I'd fill it in as a vote for them in the small business awards. And I was going to say, well I haven't even ordered my food yet so how do I know if I'm going to want to vote for you. But I didn't because I could win a prize myself if I filled it in.

And how I wished I hadn't filled it in.

Both of the women who worked there insisted on calling everyone, every time they opened their mouth, sweetie or darling. God, that pisses me off so much I can't even explain it.  Sweetie I think is even worse than luv. And it's bad enough having a woman my own age calling me sweetie, but it was even more annoying hearing her call my 76 year old mother sweetie. It sounded almost condescending.

Would you like another coffee sweetie?
How was that darling?

oh, yeah, lol, and the other woman who worked there kept walking past and giving me these big smiles and I'd have to try and smile back, usually  with a mouthful of food.

They were like deranged idiots.

Anyway it was very annoying. It always is.

I need to breathe deep………..let it go.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

19 Responses to “hello sweetie”

  1. Snowy Says:

    They're not that stupid. They give you the form before you've eaten. "Sweetie" would be enough for me not to leave a tip. Not that I do, anyway, but you know what I mean…

  2. cat Says:

    Well, mum always pays anyway, because you know, thats what mums do – but I hope she didn't leave a tip!

  3. Waterbaby Says:

    i enjoy hearing those lil' endearments myself.

  4. LeendaDLL Says:

    lol.i'd have to be there to decide if the were endearing or obnoxious

  5. cat Says:

    obnoxious – trust me

  6. cat Says:

    Well I think it sounds ridiculous – sounds like you're talking to a five year old.

  7. It drives me mad too. I always feel like saying "I am not your damn sweetie and never will be". If at all possible I don't go back, but we don't always have a choice. Hopefuly they wont win!

  8. cat Says:

    And it seems worse when people say it to the elderly (lol, not sure my mother would like being called elderly). But calling someone close to 80 sweetie is just not on.

  9. cat Says:

    exactly! i'm not her sweetieand neither is my mum

  10. G Says:

    hehehehe…I always feel reassured whenever I see that the humans are all just a hair's breath away from drawing zap-guns on each other and spraying the room with death rays…
    God…I can only imagine what a nightmare it would be if cyclists rang their bells persistently while screaming "excuse me sweetie-darling, could you make way, thank you-please!"
    Yeah. I dunno why that nightmare scenario popped into my head either. I think the Oxygen on your planet is polluted with hallucinogens!

  11. cat Says:

    I'd love a zap gun. I'd be happy enough with pepper spray, alas it's illegal here. Now I know you have a problem with cyclists but do you want to know what really pisses me off. Dwarfs who can't park. And yes I do have personal experience with this situation.

  12. Worker Says:

    You know I have never been able to accept that either it feels so wrong

  13. G Says:

    Why would they allow dwarves to even drive? Can they see over the steering wheel?

  14. I'm glad someone else feels this way as well. I almost refused to leave a tip after a waitress the age of my younger daughter kept calling me "dear" and "honey;" but the friend I was with said I was being a grouch. I told her that being addressed in that way was dismissive and overly familiar, which in my book was rude: at which point, my friend burst out, "Oh, lighten up! You take things too seriously!"But hell, you pay at least $8 to $10 in the U.S. nowadays for a lunch in a casual restaurant. For that much money, I expect a little courtesy or at least something resembling respect.

  15. cat Says:

    excellent point

  16. cat Says:

    definitely – it might be different if she was 90 and calling me sweetie, some of the oldies at the home call me dear or luv and thats fine

  17. cat Says:

    Yes, I agree with you, it's just not needed. They don't need to call you anything.

  18. G Says:

    Oh I don't know…I could get used to "Your Lordship…" With a deep bow and flowery hand-movements every time I am addressed….But maybe it's just we dark Lords of the Sith…


Leave a Reply

