another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

the paper and the glad wrap May 23, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 1:44 am
Tags: , , , ,

We have the paper delivered every morning. And I'm not sure if he throws it straight into the big purple bush on purpose, or if thats just the way it works out. And even though this big purple bush is thick and sturdy and plentiful, somehow the paper always slips through the cracks and ends up on the ground. And in far enough that I usually have to get on my knees, sometimes with the torch, and fish around for it. The other day a man was walking past and stopped to ask if I'd lost a cat.

Fishing for the paper doesn't really bother me though.

What bothers me is the cling wrap he rolls it in. Now I know the cling wrap is a good thing and it saves my paper from getting dirty and wet. But he must have some supersonic clingwrap wrapping machine because it is almost always impossible to find the end.

And I've decided I can tell what kind of day I'm going to have, by how annoying the cling wrap is to get off the paper that morning.

Because sometimes you can slide your nail in there and find the corner pretty easily. But other times it is nowhere to be found. And you have to resist the urge to grab the cling wrap and try to force it off by pulling it or rolling it. Because I've seen Daz do that. And it always ends in failure. And frustration.

I've learnt great patience over the years with the morning paper delivery. But if today was anything to go by I should just go back to bed now and forget the rest of the day.

Here is a mulberry daquari that Leendl and Raymond convinced me to make. It looked nice, but there were way too many seedy bits in it. And it was a bit sweet.

 

Mind you, not as sweet as this stuff I mixed up for Kimbas birthday. But I finished it off last night and added soda water to it and it was much nicer.

 

Then I gave myself a haircut.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

19 Responses to “the paper and the glad wrap”

  1. Emjay Says:

    Did you take that vodka photo? It's very good.

  2. cat Says:

    Why yes I did – mind you it didn't look as interesting until I messed about with it a bit. But I do like the fence through the bottle.

  3. LeendaDLL Says:

    too sweet = not enough vodka (in my book). i like seedy bits in my drink – is that odd?no cling wrap here but every single week someone throws a collection of ads directly under my car. to pick them up I would need to back out my car. but i'm not backing out the car just for some ads. so they sit till someone or something finally moves them to a point I can reach, with the car in the driveway, and then I throw them away. EVERY WEEK.

  4. cat Says:

    Don't worry, there was plenty of vodka, just too much sugar in the mullberrys. Most people don't seem to mind seedy bits, I just seem to get them stuck in my teeth all the time. I don't like strawberries for the same reason.You need one of those NO JUNK MAIL stickers.

  5. LeendaDLL Says:

    Plenty of vodka, huh? Then where are the pics of the new haircut?

  6. cat Says:

    lol – daz came in and said – are you allowed to do that?

  7. no photo of the new 'do??

  8. cat Says:

    There will be no more photos until the frightening razoring I had done on it has been fixed. Thats what I'm working on.

  9. Waterbaby Says:

    I'm not a fan of seedy drinks either, they slow the suck through the straw. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  10. Jem Says:

    You are very lucky you have thick fast growing hair, imagine if I took to mine with a razor?? Nice vodka too.

  11. Waterbaby Says:

    @Jem – As one with thick and wavy hair, lemme tell ya, it's a pain. And you always want the opposite hair. I thought it'd be so fun to have thin straight hair and get those cool cuts that wouldn't work on heads of thick wavy hair. So lucky to have thick fast-growing hair? — luck is really in the eye of the beholder! I'd consider someone lucky to have hair that after washing is dry in 10 minutes.

  12. cat Says:

    I could have a go at yours with a razor.
    Vodka is always nice.

  13. cat Says:

    oh god, I never drink with a straw – if I do it's gone in one slurp
    when I make fruity drinks I always use blueberries – no seeds and woolworths here does a really nice home brand fruit salad mix – grapes, nectarines, other seedless things I can't think of.

  14. Jem Says:

    @ Waterbaby, hair that drys in 10 minutes is pretty handy.lol

  15. Waterbaby Says:

    @Jem – lol. oh, I know! I've been dreaming of it all my life! Once had this job where I'd arrive with hair wet from a shower 45 minutes earlier and an hour later it was still verrrry damp. A coworker teased me about it all the time.

  16. Waterbaby Says:

    Not a big fruit eater; I do though adore blueberries. I also like bananas, though not frequently enough as evidenced by the recent blackened bunch transformed into a loaf.

  17. Raymond Says:

    You actually made mulberry daquari? And you're impatient with a slow sucking straw (thanks Waterbaby!) And you get all bent out of shape trying to cope with cling wrap. So you decide to get a haircut, no wait, let me get this straight, "I gave myself a haircut." And this was all the result of the little sweet mulberrry who fell into a vat of vodka…Tell ya what Cat, take a hint from Charlie and stay away from anything as mechanically complicated as cling wrap, you're bound to lose some fur over it… ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. cat Says:

    I have to use all my zen powers to stay calm with the cling wrap. I figure it's teaching me some kind of lesson. Maybe that I shouldn't waste money on the paper every day.

  19. Raymond Says:

    Having zen powers helps…but you know…they've been working on cling wrap since the days when they were embalming the local pharohs of Egypt. Its true, you know, I read about it someplace. Anyway, you can't expect cling wrap to just give up, can you? I mean they've been working on it for, well, a damn long time anyway. And who knows when the next great pharoh is going to need to be wrapped up for a future justice? And I'm not saying anything about the former president either… ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

