another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

soy cheese? May 15, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 12:00 am
Tags: , , ,

Maybe.
Maybe not.

I've been attempting to go dairy free to see if it helps my Weird Undiagnosed Throat Thing, that no one seems that interested in diagnosing anymore. I'm not even interested anymore.

However there's always a lot of debate around about dairy and if it is, or is not, a mucus forming evil food. But what the hell I thought, no harm in giving it up and seeing if it makes a difference. Because even though I gave up on finding out what the problem is, that doesn't mean I'm not interested in fixing it.

So I was at the supermarket a couple of days ago and saw some soy cheese and bought it. Took it home, cracked out the rice crackers and loaded a few up to test it out. Hmm, I'm thinking, not as bad as I was expecting. Then I turn it over and read the ingredients and one of the main ingredients is Casein (diary protein). So not only is my soy cheese mainly made of a dairy product, but Casein is the protein in dairy that will cause you a problem if you're going to have one with dairy products.

So I was pretty pissed off that I'd paid money for this so called soy cheese when I may as well of just had a slab off the block of Nimbin Natural in the fridge.

But then I thought you'd be pretty pissed off if you were a vegan and were eating this cheese thinking it was in line with your beliefs.

This seems a bit deceiving to me. There really needs to be better labelling on products.

There is one brand of cheese here,  Kingland, that is casein free, but it's not sold where I live.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

12 Responses to “soy cheese?”

  1. Design Shark Says:

    Just as I was reading I was going to tell you that you've got to be careful about that!!! It's easy to find real soy cheese in the US, but it's only mediocre. And it doesn't melt well (like on pizza)… One day maybe they'll make a better version…

  2. cat Says:

    Yes, I guess thats why this one tasted ok, all the dairy in it. I tried one years ago and it was awful, it was probably "proper" soy cheese.

  3. Porphgyrl Says:

    I don't like soy cheese, but here we have a cheese made from rice – even sliced, "Rice Slice". I like that. Even grated parmesan made from rice.

  4. Candy Sparks Says:

    soy cheese isn't bad… but i prefer the swiss cheese… what throat thing do you have? i haven't been on in awhile… but thats a candy thing i upadte my vox hardcore and then i take a break for like 2 weeks or 2 monthes… but i miss vox… and your vox blogs… you voxy blogger you!

    candy

  5. An Ex-Expat Says:

    You've got to choose 'natural' products with care. Soem are marketed as natural, but as you ggound out, when you look at the label of ingredients, sometiomes there are expected surprises.

  6. cat Says:

    Yes, there should be better regulation of it. Some people never read a label so would think they were doing the right thing but…

  7. cat Says:

    I just always feel like I have a claggy throat – always feels like its full of phlegm and I'm always throat clearing and coughing and driving everyone mad

  8. cat Says:

    Really, that sounds interesting – I've never seen it here. Will have to look into it, I'll give anything a try.

  9. Daughter2 is a long term chronic fatigue sufferer and she used ot have a constant sore throat thing…she has gone dairy free and gluten free, even though she did not test sensitive to either (she obviously was to dairy as she can't get through a meal with any dairy without a rush to the bathroom). Anyway since going dairy and gluten free she is much improved and the throat thing disappeared. So good luck with the dairy free – and yes soy cheese is a disappointment. Tofu is a better subsitute, well that is what D2 says and I will take her word for it – I needs me cheese!

  10. cat Says:

    Interesting. My throat is definitely my weak spot, whenever I get tired, or feel run down, I'll get a bout of tonsilitit or just a sore throat. And I'm constantly clearing my throat, it always feels as if something is stuck in there. Did rounds of tests last year and was basically told it was all in my head. HAha, get it.
    Anyway I've always meant to try dairy free but I usually remember just as I'm shoving a big piece of marinated fetta down my gob. But I figure I just really have to have a go and see if it makes a difference.
    I can't get my head around the idea of tofu.


Leave a Reply

