another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

sao V vita wheat May 7, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 10:29 pm
Tags: , , ,

There are not many things more australian, than a sao biscuit with coon cheese and tomato on it. It's right up there with football, meat pies, kangaroos and holden cars.

I'd say just about every kid in australia grows up on either sao's or vita wheats. In our house it was sao's. I myself actually prefer a vita wheat, but I guess Mum and Dad were sao fans.

So a sao is just a plain dry square biscuit. Sort of like a giant water cracker. Once you bite into it you can't inhale again until you've mushed it or you're in danger of choking on the crumb dust.

So here he is.

 

Sao

And here he is dressed. With Coon cheese. Vintage.

 

Now I'm more of a vita wheat girl. Remember when the holes used to actually work. And you could squeeze your two biscuits together and all the butter and vegemite would ooze out the holes. They don't really work any more. They're only decorative holes, not functional ones.

So here's my naked vita wheat

 

And here he is dressed. Yumm. Much better as well because I usually only eat cherry tomatoes. Or baby romas are even better.

 

Must add that the cheese I used on this was very nice as well. It was Mainland Club Cheddar Vintage.

And I'd also like to add that I don't really eat vegemite, I eat bovril, but hardly anyone knows what that is. But it still used to squeeze out the holes well. Better actually because it's kind of runny.

But in the end what I really prefer is a rice cake. I have them every day for breakfast. With cottage cheese and chilli sauce on top.

My stomach is rumbling now.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

19 Responses to “sao V vita wheat”

  1. Doug Says:

    I think I prefer the Vita Wheat. Can it be e-mailed?

  2. cat Says:

    Good choice. I'm sure there will come a day when I can pop it in a chute and teleport one over to you.

  3. Raymond Says:

    Geeez Cat, no wonder you have thick hair. You're still eating crackers that were recalled back in 1969 because the holes didn't work properly. Didn't you get the e-mail?

  4. cat Says:

    they just haven't been the same since

  5. Hannahbanana Says:

    Oh, yum! You've made me want the English equivalent — Ryvita crackers with Marmite. Ummmm!

  6. cat Says:

    Yes, Marmite never really took off here. I see it at the shops but I've never known anyone who actually ate it. Oh look, spell check doesn't like marmite. Can't say I'm a fan of Ryvita – they're a serious cracker – lots of fibre. Spell check doesn't believe in fibre either.

  7. Hannahbanana Says:

    Spell check is probably American and only believes in fiber.

  8. cat Says:

    lol, the mind boggles at the thought of an australian spell check – all the slang we use, no one would have a clue what was going on

  9. Ivysgrandkid Says:

    now this is what im talking about , healthy and yummy!!!! gona make me some now

  10. Emjay Says:

    Do you really eat rice cakes with cottage cheese and chilli sauce for breakfast? Does coffee go with that?

  11. Waterbaby Says:

    gee, what inspired the sao posting? – lol. i'm with you on the tomato; not a tomato fan except for the romas or occasionally cherry. then you totally lost me on the cottage cheese, lost me 'cause i ran to the 'loo to puke; for me, it's the single-most disgusting "food" on the planet, can't believe people actually ingest it, just the sight of it makes me barf. so please, you're welcome to my lifetime quota. so eat up! – with those crackers.

  12. cat Says:

    I don't eat cottage cheese with biscuits – just with rice cakes and it has to have the chilli sauce. I always keep cherry toms in the fridge – like to snack on them.

  13. cat Says:

    Yes I really do!! But I don't have breakfast until about 10am so don't know if that makes a difference. I'm not up at 6am or anything eating it. Coffee works with it.

  14. cat Says:

    Well don't forget the pepper – very important.

  15. Waterbaby Says:

    ah. however you consume cottage cheese, just don't do so in my presence.

  16. Sorry, but is that pronounced as one word, like "Sao Paulo?" Or as an acronym, like S A O, all letter seperately?It looks good, however you pronounce it. I'm getting hungry myself.

  17. I vote vita wheat too. We actually had saladas more. Saladas with tomato + salt are the best thing when recovering from gastro.

  18. cat Says:

    Yes it's just the word sao, one word – I'm not sure where it came from though.

  19. cat Says:

    Yes, I like the premiums. But I don't like how they are separated into the two squares because when you bite them they always seem to crack on the line, not where you bite.


Leave a Reply

