another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

hair bear affairs – part 556 May 5, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 11:07 pm
Tags: , , ,

I know I've told you before, but I'll just remind you again.

I have thick hair. Thick, coarse hair. And lots of it.

Now the thing about having thick hair, is that it seems to give hairdressers the impression that they can just cut sick at it with whatever sharp implement they have handy.

I remember sitting in the chair once and listening to my hairdresser discussing my unruly hair with her apprentice. Her advice was

Don't be afraid of the thinning scissors.

Here we go I thought, that'll be a good four months growing back to normal.

So last time I saw my hairdresser she suggested we razor my hair. Hard.

Ok I said.

Because my philosophy with hair has always been – it's only hair, it'll grow back. Well thats my philosophy when they're suggesting things to me. It's not usually my philosophy the next day when I'm looking in the mirror wondering why I thought it was a good idea to let edward scissorhands cut my hair.

Now I'm not really sure what happens when you razor hair. But a lot seems to end up on the floor. I left more hair on the floor than most people have on their head. When I bundled it up I couldn't wrap my thumb and forefinger around it. I was going to keep it in a bag to show my friend Jem. But then I thought that would be sick. And a bit strange. But I wish I did. It was impressive.

But now four weeks later I have to say I'm not a fan of the razor. Or at least not Hard razoring. I have all these funny frizzy bits sprouting about. And my hair feels too thin. I feel like an old lady with fairy floss hair.

So I've come to the conclusion that I'm never going to like my hair. I don't like it dark or blonde or thick or thin or short or long. I'm not sure what that means yet, I've only just acccepted the fact so I don't know where it leads.

Actaully my hairdresser will be here soon. For a colour, to cover the grey bits. And I'm thinking of doing a Christina Aguilera fringe. Have you seen it? It's about 1/2 an inch long. It looks hot. Well it does on her. On me it'll probably look like I let a four year old boy cut it while I slept.

 We'll see.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

10 Responses to “hair bear affairs – part 556”

  1. Waterbaby Says:

    On me it'll probably look like I let a four year old boy cut it while I slept. — haha, I've had those cuts. Usually self-induced. Which is why I now make it a point to go to the budget professionals. I have thick hair too. And I have learned: the razor cut is my friend. I always always ask haircutters to thin it out using whatever implement that is that removes enough hair to stuff a pillow. And they all oblige because they all chime in about the thick hair. I've yet to have a cutter totally go to town with that razor thingy, though one came close, I seriously felt like I had the fine hair of a newborn afterwards but then that's not hard if you're used to having bear hair. Anywhoo, enjoy your new 'do. If it turns out really sucky, be sure to post the pic.

  2. Worker Says:

    Thank you for the giggle today. The fairy floss hair did it 🙂

  3. Emjay Says:

    LOL – when I have mine short I always ask them to razor the top otherwise it looks like a mop on the top! Though mine is no-where near as thick as yours they always complain about how long it is taking to dry with the dryer and then turn it up to the hottest setting and burn my scalp because they are impatient!

  4. cat Says:

    lol – yes if it's really awful I'll post a photoI always complain about it being thick but it just feels too strange this thin – I feel like a little girl with one of those tiny little pony tails

  5. cat Says:

    ha yes, you know the sort. They have a perm and you can see their skull. In rows

  6. cat Says:

    lol – I HATE that. They used to get two people drying mine and they were rough and hot.

  7. Worker Says:

    That is just so funny, I know what you are saying 🙂

  8. OptamissTIK Says:

    I envy your thick tresses – my hair is as thin as fairy floss and I spend hundred's of dollars each year on 'volume enhancing' products' that don't really enhance any volume… but yay, do the Christina fringe! And post a photo!!

  9. cat Says:

    lol – I spend hundreds every year on smoothing type products which I'm also fairly sure don't work.
    Fringe is in. Almost as hot as Christina I'd say. Also getting almost as blonde!I'm going out tonight so might get some decent pics to post.

  10. Waterbaby Says:

    lol. oh, i know the feeling.


Leave a Reply

