another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

Vox Hunt: Funny Book May 4, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 1:05 am
Tags: ,

Share a book that made you laugh. 

Paddington Goes to Town.

I read this book when I was about ten and thought it was hilarious. I can still see myself lying in bed at night reading it, loving it, and laughing out loud.

There was one chapter in particular called A Visit To The Hospital that had me in tears. Paddington ended up having a session with a psychiatrist by mistake.

I found it recently when I was cleaning out my shelves and read it again and it was still funny. A good read.

Another book that I found hilarious was this one. It could be listed as my Funniest Book in Most Inappropriate Situation.

Stark
Ben Elton

I read it when I was in the maternity ward after having Lizzie. So we were in a room with three other women and their babies. I'd draw the curtains around my bed and sit in bed reading it, laughing loudly. They probably thought I was suffering some kind of post natal breakdown. But it was worse if I left the curtains open because then every time I'd crack up they'd all look at me and give me funny little smiles and I'd have to smile back. And I almost felt like I should read them a page or two just so they knew what was going on, but then I thought maybe they wouldn't think it was funny and that would be the worst worse.

Two books well worth a read though

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

11 Responses to “Vox Hunt: Funny Book”

  1. OptamissTIK Says:

    I loved Stark too! Such a funny book!!

  2. cat Says:

    I've enjoyed all his books. Except Dead Famous – about the reality TV show, wasn't a huge fan of that.
    He's a very clever guy.

  3. cat Says:

    Well keep an eye out for it – its fantastic

  4. lauowolf Says:

    ooo… a new author… goodie!sent off request from paperbackswapthanks!

  5. cat Says:

    Definitely! I think Ben Elton is great – but don't get Dead Famous – didn't like that one.

  6. Waterbaby Says:

    lol @ They probably thought I was suffering some kind of post natal breakdown

  7. cat Says:

    Well I can tell you, there's usually not much to laugh about in maternity wards

  8. Waterbaby Says:

    i know. and what there is to laugh about is funny only years later.

  9. Hannahbanana Says:

    We love Paddington! Well, I expect the kids feel that they are too sophisitcated for that now but we used to love reading it together.

  10. cat Says:

    They'll drag him out and appreciate him again one day I'm sure. He's such a character.


Leave a Reply

