another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

QotD: Swine Flu Pandemic April 29, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 5:36 am
Tags: , ,

Are you worried about a swine flu pandemic?

You know what, I can't even hear the words swine flu without having an uncontrollable urge to laugh.

Swine flu, swine flu, swine flu.

See, I'm laughing now,

And I'm pretty sure its not funny but it just sounds so awful. Swine flu. Does anyone actually call them swines. Even pig flu sounds better. I always get the image of some 18th century gentlemen in white gloves slapping each other and saying – you swine you.

And whenever they talk about it on the news where I am, they show this pen full of happy looking pigs snuffling around looking up at the camera. So I always imagine that if you have swine flu, you turn into a pig.

And even Daz knows now that if I'm being cranky he only has to say swine flu, and I'll crack a smile. How bad is that!

It reminded me of this day I was out with my father looking at farms. We were moving so we were checking out some new properties. I was about 15 at the time. And my father went of with the farmer to talk farm stuff and I was left with the stock and station agent. And we were standing near the pig pen and he had his foot up on the fence. And he pointed at the pigs and said to me

you know what they are dontcha?

I didn't know what to say. It was like a trick question. Where did this man think I'd been living for the past 15 years. Dad came back then so I didn't say anything. God he laughed when I told him about it. He'd thought the guy was a wanker right from the start.

So anyway back to the old swine flu. Don't get me wrong now, when I go on holidays I will be the one wearing a mask on the plane, but if I worried about everything out there that I could catch or that could happen to me or my family, I'd never leave the house. So I just try not to worry about these things because its all that worry and stress that will kill you in the end. 

And its pretty funny now how I have a tag that is swine flu. Lets just hope it doesn't get too many entries under it.

 

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

20 Responses to “QotD: Swine Flu Pandemic”

  1. Waterbaby Says:

    Meanwhile, the U.S.-Mexican border remain as open and penetrable as ever as thousands enter illegally or legally every day. Be grateful you're Down Under!

  2. cat Says:

    Oh well, I'm sure there are plenty of things I can catch here. We've got cases here anyway. They're testing people in the next town just back from a holiday in mexico.

  3. Yes, I think it is the word 'swine' rather than plain old 'pig' that makes it sound so humourous! I remember being in fits at a restaurant once when a friend announced "I do not eat flesh of the swine".

  4. cat Says:

    rofl, who talks like that!

  5. He was being an idiot. The waitress certainly thought so.

  6. cat Says:

    A friend of my sister came for a sleepover once and stood up at the dinner table and announced – I only eat tinned peas
    Must have given Mum and Dad a laugh, they often mentioned it over the years.

  7. I remember a visiting Catholic friend of mine insisting on leading my whole atheist family in saying grace one meal time. I think she was about 7yo at the time. My parents were happy to go along with it.

  8. An Ex-Expat Says:

    What I find ironic is that despite the general image of pigs being vile, dirty and stupid, they are (so I am told) supposed to be quite intelligent. And as for cleanliness, I'll take pork over poultry any day. When I cook (which is often these days) after I've cut up raw chicken for cooking, I wash down the cutting board and the knives I've used thoroughly with soap.

  9. cat Says:

    Don't you. Terrible slang word dontcha just means don't you. Just say don't you really fast about twenty times.

  10. cat Says:

    Well I don't eat meat at all, but people seem to get very sick from chicken a lot. I've heard pigs are very intelligent also.

  11. Maybe calling it "swine" flu makes it sound more serious than "pig" flu? Hellifiknow. But this post had me rolling!

  12. Hahah! It is almost as bad as monkey pox.

  13. cat Says:

    Swine flu just sounds so dirty. Dirty swine.

  14. cat Says:

    lol – monkey pox!! Man, there are some dirty little diseased animals out there.

  15. Design Shark Says:

    I'm so glad you wrote this. I've been giggling to myself every time it was mentioned – but now it's a free pass to laugh out loud. You've opened the gates. 😀

  16. cat Says:

    Glad to hear I'm not the only twisted one out there!
    Swine flu.

  17. To quote the Flight of the conchords"There's people on the street getting diseases from monkeys
    Yeah that's what I said, their getting diseases from monkeys
    Whys this happening, please, whose been touching these monkeys
    Leave these poor sick monkeys alone
    There sick, they've got problems enough as it is"

  18. cat Says:

    haha – can't believe how many conchord fans are over there – how did they get to be so popular there?

  19. yeah… couldn't figure out why they had to use the word swine instead of pig… it's almost like they are calling the flu names… keke


Leave a Reply

