another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

twenty years April 21, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 11:59 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Today is our wedding anniversary.

Well, either today or the day before yesterday. We've never been really sure. The marriage certificate was lost years ago and we can't remember if it was the 20th or 22nd that we were married. But whats a day or two matter anyway after twenty years.

So here we are twenty years ago.

I was drugged to the eyeballs. I woke up that morning and my back had this huge seizure and I couldn't stand up straight. So I spent the morning in the doctors waiting room and asked him to give me enough drugs to get me upright and pain free for the next ten hours.

Poor Daz, looks a bit confused about the whole thing. He was pretty trashed by the end of the night. We stopped by our house on the way to the motel to get my dressing gown and a tin of milo and he saw one of the cats and was leaning out of the car door calling, Marnie, marnie, and the effort of it all made him throw up. When we got to the motel we opened the presents and put them in three piles. Possibles, probables, and what the fuck were they thinking.

 

 

Kimba got to come. She was almost one year old then. You have never seen a baby fed so much chocolate mud cake by so many different tables of drunk people in your life.

 

 

My good friend Bubbles made my dress for me. I picked a photo out of a magazine of one I liked and she made it for me. We'd been drinking champagne because we were testing a few to see which one would do to put on the tables. And she threw the material out on the floor and started cutting it. I said – shouldn't you have a pattern for that, and she was all – nah, it'll be right.

It sat on the floor in the wardrobe for a few years after that. The girls used to dress up in it. Then one day I found the cat having sex with it. I looked in and there he was with a big wad of it stuffed in his mouth, another big part of it wedged between his back legs, and his front paws pumping away. So I left it there for him to have as his comfort blankey until he died and then I threw it in the bin.

So twenty years passed by. Well, more than that really because we'd been together for a few years before that. Sounds like a long time, twenty years.Hell, that is a bloody long time. And I could have all that to do again, twice even.

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

48 Responses to “twenty years”

  1. Emjay Says:

    Congratulations! It was a fun wedding! LOL your dress and the cat!!!

  2. Apolline Says:

    [c’est top]

  3. M-----l Says:

    Happy anniversary.(You say you've been married 20 years, but how have you managed to only age five? It doesn't make sense.)

  4. Wow, you guys look better than ever. Congratulations!

  5. Doug Says:

    Fabulous! Congratulations!

  6. Ivysgrandkid Says:

    congrats to you both!

  7. Design Shark Says:

    Aw, congrats!!!! You all look just as young, and just as confused. πŸ˜€

  8. Gorgeous photos, Cat, and congratulations! I am glad I am not the only one who is not quite sure of their wedding anniversary date. Mine is either 11 or 12 April – can never remember which.

  9. cat Says:

    lots of alcohol – it preserves you from the inside out

  10. cat Says:

    fun for everyone but me I think – I also spent the honeymoon either laying flat somewhere or travelling to the chiropractor

  11. cat Says:

    thanks – and friendly kisses to you to

  12. cat Says:

    lol – thanks, yes well it was the eighties – I had eighties hair

  13. cat Says:

    thanks Doug πŸ™‚

  14. cat Says:

    thanks πŸ™‚

  15. cat Says:

    We look like babies then! So young. My husband is always very confused.

  16. cat Says:

    lol – we didn't remember ours at all for years. We'd wake up on about the 1st of May and go – shit, it was our anniversary! I put the marriage certificate in a book on the shelves and I've never found it again. Probably gave it away in the last big book clean up I did.

  17. homebody Says:

    Congratulations!!! You look so happy (and fantastic!) together (then and now).

  18. cat Says:

    thanks – yes, I suppose he's ok.

  19. Congratulations! You both look fabulous—more so now than then! As I age I have come to appreciate the confidence and wisdom that getting older brings. You and Daz radiate those in the latest photo.

  20. cat Says:

    thanks so much, very kind

    You both look fabulous—more so now than then – lol, did anyone look good in the 80's!!

  21. We regularly forget ours. I remembered on the 13th this year. We were in different states at the time.

  22. cat Says:

    lol – we thought we'd make the effort this year seeing as how it's 20 years and go out for dinner. Although now that means I have to wash my hair and get out of my trackies.

  23. Snowy Says:

    Happy anniversary, Cat. They say the first fifty years are the worst..

  24. Waterbaby Says:

    Congrats! You mean neither sentimentality nor visions of handing the dress down to a daughter won out? My, where's the bride and/or mom gene?

  25. cat Says:

    hahaha – well I could have passed the dress down. Hate to think of the state of it tthough!! I guess I could have passed it off as vintage.

  26. cat Says:

    lolol, who said that!! Well, only got thirty more to go before things look up. lolol

  27. cat Says:

    haha – thanks – feel free to use the cat story in any way you like!! His name was Carl by the way. And he also had a strong attachment to a doll called Larene. She belonged to my daughter and had black wool hair. We would often find him sitting on Larenes head pumping away.

  28. Shall I blush or LOL? Carl, Carl, Carl!Considering the Larene story, I doubt my imagination can go wild enough to come up with a story worthy of this furry philanderer.

  29. An Ex-Expat Says:

    Congratulations!
    Time does fly by. Your post made me think about my marriage, which I am reminded it's pushing 30 years. Love how you categorized your wedding presents, especially the last category! Been there too!

  30. cat Says:

    hahahaha – you wonder what some people are thinking. Someone gave us this huge canvas photo of a bull terrier dog?????

  31. cat Says:

    ROFL – well we bought him from a pet shop in an area of Sydney called Carlingford. So his name was Carlingford, shortly thereafter shortened to Carl. He was, (as the vet once called him) a big beautiful boy.

  32. An Ex-Expat Says:

    OMG! What was that supposed to be? A reminder of Mother England? Sheech! The proverbial and always 'tasteful' black velvet portrait of Elvis would have at least been better. πŸ˜‰

  33. Steve Betz Says:

    Congratulations and Happy Anniversary! (Do you split the difference and claim the 21st or just let yourselves have a 3-day schmear….). The dress story was great — and you guys look wonderful!

  34. cat Says:

    lol or the horse on velvet – I can still see this picture vividly in my mind, it had a bright blue background

  35. cat Says:

    thanks, thanks and thanks – nah, we don't do the 21st because I know it definitely wasn't the 21st, it never seemed right. ANd I figured my birthday is on the 20th (of february mind you), so 22nd it was.

  36. Waterbaby Says:

    vintage … tagged as "as is" if ya catch my drift …

  37. Caprica Says:

    Congratulations!The wedding dress-humping cat story can't be topped.I do however understand confusion about what date it was exactly that you married. At the last minute our wedding date was changed from 19 May to 20 May and so I forget it completely almost every year.20 years sounds like such a long time! Has it gone by quickly?

  38. cat Says:

    or pre loved

  39. cat Says:

    thanks –
    the time has flown by – but when you think back over the time, a lot has happened during those years. Having kids, starting a business, moving to the country. But just life in general seems to race by. ANd every year goes faster.

  40. Waterbaby Says:

    lol, that works.

  41. I love this!!Happy Anniversary ( a couple days late, but I'm guessing that'll be just fine) to you both. πŸ™‚

  42. HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!!!!

  43. cat Says:

    thanks – yes you could be a couple of weeks late and we wouldn't even notice!

  44. cat Says:

    thanks Lavender

  45. OptamissTIK Says:

    Very belated, but CONGRATULATIONS!The cat/sex/wedding dress part made me laugh out loud… now everyone is looking at me like I'm crazy…

  46. cat Says:

    ha, thanks. Yes I'm reminded of that episode every time I see some girl on telly spending thousands of dollars on a wedding dress.


Leave a Reply

