another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

the brady bunch holiday April 19, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 2:37 am
Tags: , , ,

It all started when I said

Lets go to Hawaii next year

Yay, excitement, everyone is happy.

And lets see if Jem and her family want to come as well. And sure, bring her Dad along as well. And why not, Kimba can bring a friend as well.

So off I go to the travel agent to get a few quotes.

The first one came in at $ 25,000.00. And that was just for my family of six. Add about another $18,000.00 for Jems family of five. That was airfares and accomodation. So we haven't even started eating or drinking or doing anything else yet. So I said – can we tone that down a bit, go a bit more budget maybe.

Second quote came back and it was still $18,000.00. Of course the lousy state of the australian dollar doesn't help. I think at the moment one US dollar only gets you 70 cents.

We were all very disappointed. I'd even made this picture of Jem and I on the beach.

 

 

Because I didn't want to do Hawaii budget style. I want to stay at that pink place and live it up. So we decided to wait until the dollar improves and maybe wait until the kids have all left home.

Hmmm, so where else is there.

Hey I said – how about Thailand. Sun, beaches, good food, nice people, a bit of culture.

And so I get a quote – fantastic price. And what happens that very day. The australian government go and put a travel warning on Thailand. But I'm not overly concerned about that. Actually I am a bit. I'd hate for us to get blown up or anything, but awful things can happen to you anywhere in the world. I think you can just about get blown up anywhere these days. Smart Traveller seems to have travel warnings against every country. Even Fiji. And just think of Port Arthur here. I'm sure those poor 35 people who were shot dead, never imagined at all, that something like that could happen there on a day out.

Of course Daz has started asking awkward questions. Things like

So, where was the Tsunami again?

I've told everyone to just pretend they don't know if he asks. Anyway they have warning systems in place now, I'm sure we'll have plenty of time to run to the hills. And if not, well, that'll be a book won't it.

And I've already warned the girls not to agree to bring any parcels back to Australia for good looking smooth talking men. And no one is to bring a boogie board.

Everyone who goes there seems to love it. And we know people over there with family at the moment and they didn't even know there was any trouble going on. I'm just going to stop reading the papers for the next few months. I seem to fluctuate between moods of great excitement about going, to great worry. I think it's because I feel responsible for so many people. I want everyone to be happy and safe. I think I need medicating. I feel like a manic depressive must. How exhausting!!

Anyway I've had to revise my holiday photo.

God, we are going to stick out like sore thumbs, even amongst the thousand of tourists. The bloody scammers and hawkers will see us coming a mile away and have a great old laugh at the prospect of ripping us off.

 

 

Kimba doesn't want to come. She's going on a Contiki USA holiday with her friend instead. So they'll just look like this most of the time anyway.

 

055

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

35 Responses to “the brady bunch holiday”

  1. LeendaDLL Says:

    I'm surprised Hawaii is so expensive since they're hurting for business right now. Well, maybe not hurting… but they've had a substantial drop off.I've always heard that Thailand was a popular getaway from AU (like Hawaii is for Californians) – so maybe you won't stand out so much after all. And culture is always good.Word of advice on Hawaii – Oahu is very much like So. California, which (I'm told) is very much like AU. So plan on staying at other islands.

  2. cat Says:

    And a lot of places are already booked out as well.
    Yes, everyone here goes to Indonesia, Bali or Fiji. The chances of running into people from the same small town would be quite high. A lot of europeans go to Thailand as well.

  3. Worker Says:

    Sounds like fun to me, I am on a big budget this year but I was thinking of a ski holiday to NZ..maybe :)I like the photos

  4. cat Says:

    I'm not a snow fan. We love beaches and pools with bars and cocktails. That sort of thing. NZ does look like fun though – especially if you like the extreme things.

  5. Jem Says:

    LOVE the family shot. you crack me up.

  6. LeendaDLL Says:

    I'm with you on the beaches & booze. I keep joking that it's ridiculous for me to go on vacation considering that all I want to do is drink & sleep… I can do that here (and I'm only 2.5 miles from the ocean).I've seen a lot of those NZ extreme sports on local travel shows – they look like fun but I'm too fat to be allowed to do most of them. I wanted to do "land yachting" in Las Vegas but even thought they accept up to 300lbs, they also say "height & weight must be proportional" – which is polite for "no fatties".

  7. cat Says:

    ha – especially Frank – looks like some crazy baboon

  8. cat Says:

    I know – I think that sometimes as well, why pay all this money when I can just go up the road and do it. Although the time of year we want to go is the wet season on the islands here so no good. And you actually pay more to go to one of the whitsunday islands than you do to go overseas, which is why so many people from here go to the pacific islands like fiji.
    I have no idea what land yachting is!! A lot of sports in NZ involve water though and I'm not a fan of water. Gentle, warm clear water yes, but not the rough, rushing, rocky stuff.

  9. Apolline Says:

    [c’est top]

  10. I remember the pink place in Hawaii. I've been there. A few times. But I only like it because my granddad went there way back in the 40's, and it is supposed to look the same, so I get to see it as he did way back when. He loved that place, and he was in the Army so I figure if he's willing to admit love a pink place after that… well then so can I.Altho, L is right… but not all islands are like Oahu. Oahu is like the ghetto of Hawaii, if that's possible. The smaller islands are better. But have a great time in Thailand! I've always wanted to go there too. πŸ™‚

  11. cat Says:

    I would love summer in France!! So many beautiful places in the world to visit. I hope to get over that way one day because my father is from Guernsey and I would love to see where he came from.

  12. cat Says:

    Oh now you're just making me jealous!! Been there a few times. Thats why I want to go there as well – I always look at that photo Papa took back in 1957 and think it'd be pretty cool to go stand in the same spot.
    lol – the ghetto of Hawaii.

  13. PeacefulWmn9 Says:

    I've been to 35 of the states, but not this one yet. Looks heavenly!

  14. cat Says:

    My daughter went a couple of years ago and said she wanted to live there when she came home. I'd like to go to Vegas as well. So many interesting looking places in the world. And here in Australia as well. Lots of beautiful places here.

  15. It's al relative. I'm trying to save up to go where you live as well. πŸ˜‰ And I live in Seattle… Going to the pink place in Hawaii is pretty reasonable these days. I will confess though: The last time I was there in the pink place, I was only running thru because we missed the cutoff point for making the sunset sail boat cruise. (we made it)However…. I do wish I could trade you for Thailand!It's on my list though. Every continent in the world.

  16. cat Says:

    Definitely – we live near one of the main vineyard areas of Australia and people from all areas of the world come here, but we never go there. And its only 15 minutes drive away.
    I'm loving the idea of Thailand tonight. I had some doubts, but now I'm thinking, fuckit, lets go to phuket.

  17. Waterbaby Says:

    Great family pic! And a keeper if ya make your own Christmas cards. Thailand can definitely be done on the cheap.

  18. cat Says:

    yes, and the other thing about Hawaii is once we got there things would be a lot more expensive as well

  19. LeendaDLL Says:

    Land yachting is lightweight "boat" frames that have large windsails attached and you "drive" them like windsurfing.Here's a quick vid

  20. cat Says:

    oh yes, I've seen that on tv

  21. How fun! Where in Thailand are you going?

  22. cat Says:

    Yes we are thinking Phuket. We know people who are staying there at the moment and they had no idea there was any trouble going on at Bangkok at all.

  23. OptamissTIK Says:

    If you end up going to Phuket, I recommend Karon beach – it's about 1/2 hour from Patang Beach (really popular with tourists and old disgusting men with their Thai 'girlfriends'). Karon is a little more chilled, but plenty of drinks/bars/shopping to keep the whole mob happy. I've been there a couple of times, and if you're game, you can get AWESOME accommodation for next to nothing if you bribe a Touk Touk (sorry, spelling sucks when it comes to Thai transport) to take you a few streets off the beaten path… but depends I guess if you're staying in a big group, might be a bit more difficult.Oh, you're going to have fun!!!

  24. cat Says:

    Yes we were thinking Karon. Patong a bit too busy and Kata bit too quiet and too many little kids! Have you been recently? Did you feel safe there?

  25. OptamissTIK Says:

    I went a couple of years ago, so maybe its different right now but Phuket is really touristy, so its hard to imagine it getting political…

  26. cat Says:

    Yes, I figure as long as we don't go to Bangkok and go to any demonstrations we should be right. And no wearing red or yellow shirts.

  27. No wearing of blue shirts either I heard… just blacks and whites… or pink… purple bikinis are fine but not yellow… sigh…
    Thailand is one of my favourite vacation spots. I love the place, love the food and love the beaches… and love the bikini shopping…
    Sadly.. .all this strife. My friends have had to go to Chiangmai instead (you can consider that… not affected by the stuff happening.. .things are still quite unstable probably). Chiangmai is nice.
    If not, there's always Kota Kinabalu and Sabah πŸ™‚

  28. cat Says:

    I did think of Sabah. So do you think Karon and Kata would be affected by what is happening. We don't plan on going to Bangkok at all.

  29. Malaysia is great. I haven't been to East Malaysia (Sabah and Sarawak) for many years but we did take the kids to mainland Malaysia a few years ago and had a brilliant time. The best place we stayed at was a little 3 star resort a bit north of Kuala Terenganu on the north east coast so not too far from Thailand (ie, the food was definitely very Thai-influenced). Most of the other guests at this resort were Malaysians and there were also a few Europeans. It would be a bit of a hassle getting there though, ie, the closest international airport probably Kuala Lumpur but it would be quite a drive from there or you could get a domestic flight to KT. Sometimes Malaysian Airlines offer a deal where you can get a free internal flight if you fly into Malaysia on MAS. Might be worth checking out. There are also a lot of more accessible beach resort places on the west coast of the mainland but these tend to be a bit more crowded. Kind of depends what you want to do though, eg, Penang is (or used to be) great for shopping and eating but the beaches just so so.
    Krabi Beach in Southern Thailand used to be very nice. No idea what it is like now though.

  30. cat Says:

    trouble with Maylasia though is it'd be in its wet season

  31. It depends which part of Malaysia. Penninsula Malaysia actually has pretty similar weather to Thailand. See here: http://www.malaysiatravel.org.uk/climate.html

  32. cat Says:

    thanks – believe me, I've looked at every travel review, weather report, and news report on all areas. Thailand, Vietnam, Maylasia, Pacific Islands, Hawaii, you name it. Keep coming back to Thailand. The thing is I'm trying to keep 11 people happy who range in age from 11 to 70. I said to my son the other day, when it comes down to it you should all just go where I say we go.

  33. Crush-Monkey Says:

    I stayed next to the Pink Palace at the Outrigger when I went to Hawaii in 2006. Check out some of my photos on my Vox.

  34. cat Says:

    Oh I'm jealous. I'm definitely going to get there one day. Was just too hard with eleven people.


Leave a Reply

