another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

origami March 24, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 11:11 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

The seventies just wouldn't have been the same without origami.

Saturday afternoons spent folding small coloured squares of paper. You had to get that first fold crisp and neat though, otherwise the whole thing turned to crap. You always ended up with that small strip of white showing somewhere that wasn't meant to be there.

I think the crane was my specialty. Or was it a stork. Not that I could really call it a speciality. Maybe a rabbit as well. And those little tiny baskets you could make that you couldn't actually fit anything into.

I never progressed to this stage. Even though I did have a book.

 

 

This looks like a pre school somewhere. They've called in a special guest.  Don't think any of us kids are in it.

I bet that woman on the left has a nasty hump back by now.

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

12 Responses to “origami”

  1. Waterbaby Says:

    In Japan, if you fold 1,000 cranes, a wish will be granted. Usually they do this is someone is ill or during prayers for world peace. So start foldin'.

  2. cat Says:

    Interesting – what happens to them, do you have to toss them to the wind or what? You shouldn't put ideas in my head. For a second there that seemed like something I could/should do for no particluar reason.

  3. Waterbaby Says:

    I've seen them hanging strung together plenty of times at shrines and shrines; they're also given at occasions like weddings and births for happy wishes, the crane in Japan is an important traditional symbol of longevity. I've not heard what they do with them, which may mean there's no ritual for their disposal. I do know they have bonfires for dolls that are no longer of use but that's another cultural exercise.

  4. The mother of my daughter's best friend is Japanese and she is an origami whiz. i noticed her subconsciously doing origami with her serviette last time she was at our place. Her own daughters not impressed with the origami at all but my daughter thinks it is fantastic and is always coming home from there with little paper animals and things that her friend's mum has made for her.

  5. cat Says:

    Lucky girl, how cool.
    lol, no one ever thinks their own mother is cool

  6. True. My daughter's friend think I am cool because I bake whereas my daughter finds my baking quite ho hom these days.

  7. cat Says:

    ha – see you'd have been my sons vision of a perfect Mum then. He told me once that I wasn't like a proper Mum and I said – well what do they do – and he said, bake things and drive you around.
    Mind you I don't know how much more bloody driving around he wanted me to do!!

  8. My daughter thinks I don't keep the house clean and tidy enough! Never mind that I am trouping off to work in the city 5 days a week. She has also moaned about the fact that 'other mums' do canteen, pick their kids up from school etc etc. At the same time she is embarrassed about our beat up, old 2nd car. I told her that would be our one and only car if I wasn't working.

  9. cat Says:

    lol, aren't they precious, and I bet she doesn't make any of the mess you're left to tidy!

  10. I bet that woman on the left has a nasty hump back by now.
    Glad you took away the important details!

  11. cat Says:

    Well besides those nice orange shirts, her posture was the first thing I noticed. Been squeezing my shoulder blades back ever since.


Leave a Reply

