another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

Sydney Opera House 1973 March 23, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 8:22 am
Tags: , , ,

When you live near a tourist attraction of some kind, you never go and visit it. Like the Opera House. When we go to Sydney we never say, hey, lets go look at the Opera House, it's pretty cool. It's just there in the background. Oh yeah, there's the Opera House, whatever.

And of course the years during which it was designed and built were full of controversy. It was a very creative design for those years and really pushed the engineers and took forever to complete. Sixteen years I think. They had to run a lottery to raise money to complete it and the poor guy who designed it (Jorn Utzen) was just about destroyed by the whole process. The poor guy copped so much crap from the NSW government that he resigned in the end before it was completed. He wasn't even invited to the opening ceremony.

There's  talk at the moment of a major restoration/renovation that some people are against because of the cost involved. But I'd like to see it go ahead. It's a bit of a masterpiece. We should appreciate it more. Well I should anyway.

These photos were taken by Papa at the opening in 1973. A photographers dream.

 

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

17 Responses to “Sydney Opera House 1973”

  1. cat Says:

    It was pretty cutting edge – he was a man ahead of his time. I think he became ill as well which stopped him coming back. Yes, we made it up to him, a bit too late. I don't know the plans for the restoration but that would be pretty fantastic if his interior plan went ahead. May not go ahead at all though due to people questioning the cost. Myself, I think it would be well worth it.

  2. Waterbaby Says:

    I always ask myself the same question seeing pictures of the opera house: Why is it that Sydney never has gray skies?

  3. Jack Yan Says:

    I agree with you, Cat. One reason I didn’t go inside (and pay the extra dollars) was that I knew I would be let down. If they sorted it, then speaking for myself, I would go in. The Utzen plans were really radical for the interior as well, so there’d be many people wanting to go in to see that. I am glad that he lived long enough though to see Australia realize that he made a huge contribution—it is arguably one of the greatest modernist icons anywhere in the world.

  4. cat Says:

    lol, well I don't know, but I do know that at the moment they are having some glorious autumn days – blue skies all the way

  5. Waterbaby Says:

    It's just not right. — Signed, Sunless in Seattle. (OK, not Seattle (blech! barf) but 40 miles to the south. Sunless in Tacoma just doesn't have that same ring …)

  6. Doug Says:

    It's funny that people won't go see the attractions in their own back yard. I would definitely want to see this, were I anywhere near. It seems to me a sort of modern cathedral, just gorgeous.

  7. bold as love Says:

    because no one wants to see a picture of the opera house with grey skies… trust me, we get them…Cat, this is so cool that your father actually was there at the opening…. I think the Opera House has quite niche performances. I have seen plays and comedy, and also been to lectures in the performance spaces below it. In the acutal hall I have seen Kanye West, Ben Folds, and even ages ago (when I was at high school) I remember performing with our school choir there.. (can't remember the reason why though).

  8. Steve Betz Says:

    It's funny — I grew up right outside Philadelphia PA and had never gone to see the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall or any of the rest of it until I went to college and had friends from "away" that wanted to go see them.

  9. Red Pen Says:

    Great photos, Cat. Thanks for sharing.

  10. cat Says:

    I think you just take them for granted. There is a show on TV here called The Max Sessions and they have bands/singers perform small acoustic shows there and I would have loved to have gone to one of them.

  11. cat Says:

    The schools still go there to perform, must be an anuual "thing". Were they Max Sessions you went to – I would've loved to have gone to a few of those .

  12. cat Says:

    We live not too far from vineyards that I know people travel from a long way and overseas to visit and we never bother either unless we have visitors who want to go.

  13. cat Says:

    Yes, it was my grandfather, he would've loved this place, all those angles and lines

  14. bold as love Says:

    Can't remember – I think it could have been a Christmas thing, or maybe a competition thing… darn I wish my memory wasn't so bad!

  15. Waterbaby Says:

    @bold at love – it happens to all of us. and it gets worse. now what was i saying?


Leave a Reply

