another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

QotD: Annoying Question March 14, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 10:50 pm
Tags: , ,

What question do you hate being asked?

Well, most of these actually.

However, I'd have to say it'd be

So Cat, what do you do?

I'm always stumped with that one. Not sure what to say.

Well I'm a mother. I've spent 21 years raising three fantastic children. That must count as doing something.

And I work. We run our own business so I spend a few hours every day doing accounts, quotes, taxes, superanuation, workers comp, that sort of thing. But I never know what to call that. Does anyone call themselves a book keeper anymore. Whenever I say book keeper I come up with this image of an old lady with a bun, sitting in a small office with a pencil behind her ear and piles of ledgers in front of her. Maybe I can be an Office Manager.

And I design and make the tiles, which I sell and supply to two shops now. In fact I'm making 36 at the moment. That takes a bit of doing.

And I volunteer at the old peoples home every Thursday as well as any extra days they need me, like bus trips and shopping expeditions. And as soon as I get organised I hope to do the Aged Care Certificate. Probably by corespondence.

And don't forget I just painted most of the house.

But I never know how to round that up into one sentence. So I usually just say that I do nothing much!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

13 Responses to “QotD: Annoying Question”

  1. Aubrey Says:

    I hate questions like that! I want to answer honestly – like you (and that's quite an impressive list you have). Yet I am somehow deeply convinced that the person asking gives less than a damn. Therefore I don't do much, I feel fine, my weekend was OK, the program was fine, yeah some weather we're having, etc. etc. ad nauseum.

  2. cat Says:

    ha – thats exactly right.

  3. Jem Says:

    I'd say you do too much.

  4. cat Says:

    lol – and I still never feel like I really do anything. Still plenty of time to sit around reading – the really important thing.

  5. Jem Says:

    Found a nice place for us to read today. Had lunch with Frank at the pub on the beach. Nice, and in winter time, sunny and sheltered.

  6. I avoid asking women with children that question as it is obvious they are doing plenty (whether or not they are in paid employment or not).

  7. Waterbaby Says:

    lol. i gotta second what aubrey said.

  8. cat Says:

    Definitely – and when you fill out forms as well with occupation on it. And now theres a school reunion and I have to faill out a form and part of it is what do you do. I'm tempted to make up something.

  9. cat Says:

    It's like when people ask – How are you? They don't really want to know. Well at least I know I don't. It's just a filler type query.

  10. Just write "too much to write in this small space".

  11. Waterbaby Says:

    sure, though it's tempting to respond with "oh, i just got accepted into the space program" or "i just found out i'm in the running for a pulitzer" just to see whether anyone's listening.

  12. cat Says:

    probably just nod their head and say – really


Leave a Reply

